We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Time traveling with dogs..good experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Hot Deal
Ranked #30 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“1st Time traveling with dogs..good experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first time traveling with our 2 Boston Terriers. We had a pleasant experience. The room was nice with a decent view. The room was not worn out and stained like you think a room that always has dogs staying in it would be. The staff was very friendly. Pet "bathroom" area was clean. Most guests picked up after their pets and the hotel provided bags to do so. The only complaint would be the smell of the room. Not as fresh and clean as "non-pet" hotel rooms smell. I'm sure there is some kind of deodorizer they could use to take care of that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that your room had an odor. We continually strive to exceed our guests expectations; unfortunately, there is the rare occasion when something happens to make a guest's stay less than perfect. In those instances, we encourage our guests to let the front desk know if there is any issue at all so we can take care of it in as timely a manner as possible. I do hope that we will be welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    175
    89
    42
    27
See reviews for
182
113
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, MD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Needed a break and spontaneously decided to take the kids to OC for a night. We live on the Eastern Shore, so we avoid Ocean City after Memorial Day. March and April are when we prefer to visit, especially since rooms are cheaper and dogs are allowed on the beach during these months. Last minute trips aren't easy for pet owners, because it's usually expensive to board them and/or hard to find someone to housesit on a moment's notice. In any case, the Clarion is one of the few remaining hotels in OC that will allow you to bring dogs.

My problem is the exorbitant taxes (which the Clarion can't do anything about), compounded by the $35 pet fee, or $50 for two dogs, which they do have control over. I know there's extra cleaning involved after a pet, but for one night, off season, it cost +$180.00. That's too much...$50 for two dogs? C'mon. It's the same amount of cleaning for two as for one...why the extra $$.

The children enjoyed the indoor pool, and the bar immediately adjacent offered decent happy hour specials. It was nice to relax with a view of the ocean, comfort food (chicken wings), and happy children playing in the pool a few yards away.

The hotel was obviously swanky in its day, but the years are beginning to show. Our base rate was $106 before pets and taxes, which is a fair price. The room was clean, but very basic. Too, keep in mind that "ocean front" hotels aren't necessarily indicative of a great view. This hotel has "standing balconies", which means there's a sliding door that opens to a slab of cement that one person can stand on at a time. When I booked the room and was provided a total cost, I was also told "exceptional view". That helped to sell me, but when we arrived in our room the immediate view was of the hotel next door. Bummer! We had to walk (individually) onto the balcony and look to the left (over the rooftop and a/c units of the bar/indoor pool) to see the Atlantic. Lastly, the beds were just not comfortable.

Also know that for that price, breakfast is not included...not even a danish and coffee. The breakfast bar is $15 per person, which is ok for the honeymooning couple, but probably not so much for the family of 5.

I guess the point of this review is that for an off season price, this hotel is acceptable...but I can not begin to imagine paying summer rates to stay here. $180 per night would've ticked me off had I not known that part of it was for the dogs.

Room Tip: Room 514 has a better view of the building next door than it does of the ocean. Plus, why is the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I'm pleased that overall, it seems as though you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that you chose the Clarion Resort for your night away. There are very few hotels in Ocean City that welcome pets, and our rates are right in line with what other establishments charge. We sincerely believe that our buffets are very reasonably priced for the high quality of food we offer. Please keep in mind that we do offer children's pricing for all buffets. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We returned to the Clarion Fontainebleu for a night at the beach. We got a view of the Atlantic, the ability to let the pup run on the beach, and an excellent meal in the restaurant. While definitely off-season, the staff are great and the rooms clean. Our request for a room closest to the water was graciously accommodated. Altogether another good experience here. Would love to go back during warmer months.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
The warmer months are here, so we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Another business trip for me but I've stayed here before a few years ago. The good things about the Clarion are it is on the beach in north Ocean City, MD. You are away from the boardwalk but can take a bus during the summer. Every room seems to have a view of the ocean since rooms have a small balcony on side of building. The hotel room was good size with 2 double beds, a sofa bed, mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot and safe. The safe is a nice touch. The bed was soooo comfortable! I didn't hear anyone in the hall but there weren't too many there this time of the year anyway (during the weekday). The room was very clean. Dining room has great view of the ocean and meals were tasty. Great conference rooms with good service. The hotel and dining staff were super friendly. Lobby was inviting.

Here are a few downsides... The hotel room was a bit "tired." Tub was discolored. The doorway to bathroom was small and no way a wheelchair would fit. The bathroom itself is quite tight and tiny. Seemed like the number of electrical outlets were limited for the need to recharge electronics. The closet doors are still the same old sliders from years ago...they didn't slide then and they still don't, at least in this room. They fell off the tracks and I couldn't get them back on.

In the end, the hotel is average in today's hotel climate. If you can put aside those few downsides mentioned above, then this is average hotel for a good price. They are not deal breakers at all. If I was traveling with my family, I myself would opt for someplace a bit newer due to my personal tastes. Pictures included. The friendly, courteous, and helpful staff do provide a higher level of service that help mitigate the age of the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for complimenting our staff. We do strive for excellent customer service, and we're happy to see it recognized. Just a note that the Ocean City buses run all year. We do have handicap accessible rooms, with larger, accessible bathrooms. If a guest needs those accommodations, please request them at the time of making the reservation.
Lastly, yes, our closet doors do need replacing in some rooms. We hope to be able to complete that renovation in the next year. Again, thank you for posting, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b more
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I give it a 9+!!!!
great service
internet
clean rooms
I didn't hear any noises but the water
leave feeling good..
banks in area
creamery
good food
whirlpool spa
scented room
lava room
gym with everything
indoor swin pool.........
the choice of any room........
close to everything even burger king delivers.......

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on "TOP FLOORS"...They have different types of rooms so check out more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for posting; so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you make the Clarion Resort a regular stop on your vacation itinerary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend during my daughters cheering competition. The hotel seems clean enough but is starting to look dated. It was about a 5 minute drive to the convention center.

Check in went smooth enough though there was a short wait to get on an elevator. It was even worse on Sunday with everyone checking out at the same time and filling the elevators with those giant luggage carts. If you're hungry and don't want to go far, there is a restaurant on site that has a seafood buffet. I don't remember the exact price but it was just over $30 per person.

The hotel itself is situated vertically along the beach which means that all of the rooms face the parking lot to the left or right of the hotel. No ocean front rooms. There is a small (standing room only) deck off the room and if you stretch your head you can see part of the beach.

There is a nice sized safe in the room as well as a fridge, microwave and flat screen TV.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
No need to stretch your neck! If you look out to one side, you have a view of the Atlantic Ocean; and if you look to the other side, you have a view of the bay. The way the building is situated allows almost every room to have these views. Since we do sit right on the beach, our restaurants and decks offer that great ocean view as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed here before and had a great time. This visit was a nightmare. There was a corvette car show in the city. It looked like they were all staying here. We pulled in to check in and were told by someone we could not because they (the corvette people) had right of way in front of hotel. (Clarion should have had extra help to direct traffic) so I jumped out to check in and told front desk what happened while my husband stayed in car. They just shrugged their shoulders. We could not even get luggage out of car.
We proceeded to find a space and we were again blocked out. We ended up across the street at the over flow parking lot. ( a good 200 yds from hotel.) Lugging our luggage and trying to cross a very wide ocean highway at 10PM on a friday. (Yes we were tired and a little cranky) We were not with the corvette crowd so staff acted like they could care less.
This hotel did not handle all the guests well. Suggestion check and make sure there is no special event going on when booking your weekend. Wish we had!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I’m very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us this time. Please know that we value all of our guests, as we are well aware that guests choose our hotel over many others when they stay with us. I’m not sure who, meaning employee or another guest, told you that those with the Corvette show had right of way in front of the hotel; but that was incorrect information, and I apologize that’s what you were given. The seeming indifference by the front desk personnel who shrugged his/her shoulders was inexcusable, and that is definitely not our customer service philosophy.
Unfortunately, some guests do need to park across the street in our overflow lot, but had you been given the correct information, you would not have had to carry your luggage across the street. We will continue to make strides to ensure that errors like this do not happen, and that guest inconvenience be avoided whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion
Address: 10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#25 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.