We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok hotel but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend during my daughters cheering competition. The hotel seems clean enough but is starting to look dated. It was about a 5 minute drive to the convention center.

Check in went smooth enough though there was a short wait to get on an elevator. It was even worse on Sunday with everyone checking out at the same time and filling the elevators with those giant luggage carts. If you're hungry and don't want to go far, there is a restaurant on site that has a seafood buffet. I don't remember the exact price but it was just over $30 per person.

The hotel itself is situated vertically along the beach which means that all of the rooms face the parking lot to the left or right of the hotel. No ocean front rooms. There is a small (standing room only) deck off the room and if you stretch your head you can see part of the beach.

There is a nice sized safe in the room as well as a fridge, microwave and flat screen TV.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
No need to stretch your neck! If you look out to one side, you have a view of the Atlantic Ocean; and if you look to the other side, you have a view of the bay. The way the building is situated allows almost every room to have these views. Since we do sit right on the beach, our restaurants and decks offer that great ocean view as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    208
    104
    47
    29
See reviews for
222
131
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed here before and had a great time. This visit was a nightmare. There was a corvette car show in the city. It looked like they were all staying here. We pulled in to check in and were told by someone we could not because they (the corvette people) had right of way in front of hotel. (Clarion should have had extra help to direct traffic) so I jumped out to check in and told front desk what happened while my husband stayed in car. They just shrugged their shoulders. We could not even get luggage out of car.
We proceeded to find a space and we were again blocked out. We ended up across the street at the over flow parking lot. ( a good 200 yds from hotel.) Lugging our luggage and trying to cross a very wide ocean highway at 10PM on a friday. (Yes we were tired and a little cranky) We were not with the corvette crowd so staff acted like they could care less.
This hotel did not handle all the guests well. Suggestion check and make sure there is no special event going on when booking your weekend. Wish we had!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I’m very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us this time. Please know that we value all of our guests, as we are well aware that guests choose our hotel over many others when they stay with us. I’m not sure who, meaning employee or another guest, told you that those with the Corvette show had right of way in front of the hotel; but that was incorrect information, and I apologize that’s what you were given. The seeming indifference by the front desk personnel who shrugged his/her shoulders was inexcusable, and that is definitely not our customer service philosophy.
Unfortunately, some guests do need to park across the street in our overflow lot, but had you been given the correct information, you would not have had to carry your luggage across the street. We will continue to make strides to ensure that errors like this do not happen, and that guest inconvenience be avoided whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, which includes a large part of the Marigot Beach Condominiums, is an upscale resort, with all the amenities, located right on the beach overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. You can even watch the dolphins swimming by from your room. The owner, Dr. Berger, is a great guy and is often seen mingling with the guests. The staff is usually wonderful. The hotel operates year round, often offers specials, throws a fabulous New Year's Eve party, and has great food! They are well known for their all you can eat Seafood, Crab Legs & Prime Rib Buffet on Saturday and the all you can eat Breakfast Buffet on Sundays! Oh, and did I mention the live music? Summertime beach bar with live band during the day, and the Horizens Oceanfront Restaurant and Lounge with live bands at night! It's like party central! Two swimming pools, one inside and one outside, oh, and a third at the Marigot Beach Condominiums, plus a complete gym. There is also specialty staff to assist us golfers with all the local courses, and there are some great ones. So whether you're looking for a great family beach resort, a golfer's escape, a wild New Year's Eve or just a good old relaxing vacation, the Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the place for you. Offering poolside cabanas; single rooms; deluxe rooms; and 1, 2 or three bedroom condos. The Fontainebleau just can't be beat for an all-around great experience. My wife and I love it there!

Room Tip: No particular tip for choosing a good room, except If you stay at the Marigot Beach Condominiums thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It sounds like you've experienced the Clarion Resort in all seasons! We appreciate your continued patronage, and are very glad you love the property as much as we do. Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We attended CropFest which was organized by the hotel and was wonderful. Great rate, comfortable beds and a huge well lit cropping room.
We enjoyed the restaurants and the nightly entertainment was so nice. Very pleasant relaxing atmosphere - and the staff is warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: all rooms are ocean view - ours was to the left of the balcony but still very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post. It's great that you enjoyed the CropFest; it was our first year organizing that event. Hopefully there will be many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was out first time at the hotel for New Years. We are summer vacationers. Best time ever. Chuck (B&F Manager) and Donna (reservations) made our stay even more special. When my husband and I were seated for the New Years eve party we had the table by the window (this is a table that is very hard to get in the summer). At the table was a Birthday balloon. These little extras made the evening special. But what really topped it off was when the band Arizona announced my name and sang Happy Birthday to me. This could only have happened with the information that Chuck and Donna knew. The party itself was really nice. The food and the band was great. Earl our waiter was very attentive and our drinks never ran out. Will be booking our summer trip shortly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed New Year's Eve and your birthday! We're glad you decided to celebrate with us this year, and look forward to welcoming you back this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a very nice room with a view of the ocean and the bay. The food was excellent. New Year's Eve was great especially the service and the bands. The hot tub was a little too hot. I could only stay in 5 minutes. The exercise room and sauna were very good. New Year's day buffet breakfast was wonderful. We plan to do it again next year.

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Wow, it's great to hear from guests who spent New Year's Eve celebrating with us. We look forward to you being here as we ring in 2014 and beyond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My new place to bring in the new year, the staff was very friendly and helpful as always
My room was clean comfortable it was great being able to do everything at the Clarion without going out in the cold......
The party with the Powerplay band was awesome...I think I did not sit down ...loved the band

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We're glad you chose to ring in 2013 with us! Hopefully, it will become a tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Address: 10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.