We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay :(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oceanfront at 33rd Street, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just okay :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of August. Booked an oceanfront room and was given room 609 which was an oceanfront corner room that had 2 balconies which did not connect...not a big deal but we mostly stayed on the smaller balcony as the larger balcony was very windy. The room had a sleeping area w/TV and a separate living/dining area with TV.

As most reviewers have noted, the hotel is dated in it's decor. The rugs in the halls were stained/dirty.

I found the staff to be pleasant at check in/out. The main issue I had with check-in is the actual unloading of your car. There is a VERY small loading area in front of the lobby and if there is another car in front of you parked in just a way that you can't get around it, then you must wait until that person moves their car. Luckily, by the time we dropped our bags off in our room, the car in front of us had moved and we were able to park our car in the garage.

The indoor pool is not heated as the hotel claims. For the 5 days we stayed here, not once was the indoor pool or the jacuzzi vacuumed out. The same sand sat at the bottom of both pool and spa for our duration. Also, the indoor pool's water was so very cloudy during our stay that I have to wonder if it was just too much chlorine or the lack of it being cleaned daily. The outdoor shower/faucet to rinse your feet off after leaving the beach had broken handles so the water could only trickle at ALL times and wasn't effective at rinsing sand off your feet. We ended up using the bathrooms in the indoor pool area because those showers had much better water pressure.

We also had an issue with our shower drain not draining. We called maintenance twice, can only assume they came while we were out, but the shower water continued to pool at our feet during our showers.

Overall, just an okay stay. The hotel's cleanliness is a big turnoff and I am not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    97
    72
    44
    36
See reviews for
127
123
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I loved the location. It wasn't bad, but I had some concerns about it. When we first checked in, I got frustrated because I didn't know where I had to go to get to our room. Now visualize this. We got up to the 8th floor, as our room was 803. After we got off the elevator, we followed the signs, but couldn't find room 803. So I had to go back down to the desk and ask about it. Here, it is a seperate door you have to go through, in order to get to the rooms that face the ocean. Gee, thanks for NOT marking that door so people like my wife and I would know. The room was clean. But the wallpaper had that light pastels abstract art design to it, that seemed to have been more popular in the 1980s. It reminded me of Miami Vice, and was expecting Don Johnson and Phillip Michael Thomas to come barging into the room. I loved that our room had a balcony and faced the ocean, and had a kitchen. But, we as avid coffee drinkers were not happy to discover that our coffee maker did not work, and we wasted some good Starbucks ground coffee, when it did not filter, and we had a mess to clean up. Luckily, the Hilton next door sold Starbucks coffee, which took care of that problem. They did replace the coffee maker, though. We cooked breakfast the next morning, which was nice. There is a small grocery store called Anthony's, practically in front of the hotel, on the main road there. But for the stove, one of the four coil burners was not working. The one other concern I had was the door to the room. At the very bottom corner, there was a chunk missing, and you could see sunlight coming through it. This is a door that leads to the outside, and not an indoor hallway. If this was winter time, cold air would have been seeping in. The hot tub downstairs was nice, but the indoor pool was a bit chilly. The outdoor pool was actually a bit warmer. So, this hotel wasn't too bad and it served its purpose. But, it could use some upgrading.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Location is really nice - walking out onto the beach is great, but Quality Inn can't take credit for the nice beaches. At least they put the windows in the right spot overlooking the ocean, otherwise I wouldn't be able to find one good thing about this place to write about!
I will simply back up what other reviewers have said about the state of cleanliness - no point going over that in too much detail. It's simply dirty and filthy. And it's apparent the management doesn't take any complaints seriously as things haven't changed at all. The place is filthy. We had to hunt staff down for our little bottles of shampoo and even for towels one day!
You walk away with the sense that staff really don't care at all, hate their jobs, and feel secure in not doing their jobs. This is no way to run a service business.
And, to top it off, housecleaning stole doughnuts out of our fridge..... does that not speak volumes of the morale of hotel staff when they take to raiding our fridge and eating our doughnuts? We had a good laugh over that one, and left a note for the next foraging cleaner that we're sorry, we're fresh out of doughnuts but to check next week when some other poor unsuspecting client loads up on Entemanns!
We loved OCMd and will be back... but not at this place.
Do yourself a favour - take the negative reviews seriously and pick a hotel rated above this one. There are LOADS of choices!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We chose to ignore earlier reviews about the lack of cleanliness in this hotel, thinking we weren't the types to be put off by a few dirt stains, especially in a beach-focused hotel which tend to suffer more wear and tear... but this place is truly filthy. And the cleaning staff just put no effort at all in keeping the place at a minimal standard of cleanliness. The room was adequately clean when we got there - and it became less and less cleaned as time went by.
This place has seen better days, and hasn't put any effort into raising its minimal standard. The location is outstanding, right on the beach. And OCMD was a great place to vacation with the family - we will definitely return to OC, but never to this hotel. Way over-priced, dirty, bored and lazy staff, room never cleaned well, dirty indoor pool... We will never recommend this place to anyone we know going to OC, but have a HUGE list of other hotels to pick from, and we'll be staying at one of those next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I booked the Quality Inn Beach Front for what was supposed to be a 2 night stay (we left after 1 night - as soon as the sun came up). We arrived around noon knowing that we probably wouldn't be able to get into our room yet but went to the front desk anyway just in case the room was ready early (it wasn't). We asked if they could store our luggage until check-in time, which they refused to do and we also asked if we could leave a phone number so we can be called when our room was ready which was also met with a firm no. The staff seemed to be flat out unhappy to be there and it certainly reflected in their customer service (and based on other reviews, we weren't the only ones who felt this way). We were finally able to check in at 4pm and we were directed to the 8th floor. The musty smell hit us as soon as we stepped off the elevator and we circled the 8th floor looking for our room which seemed to not exist (the front desk person failed to mention that the entrance to our room was actually outside. We figured it out by opening a giant metal door that had an exit sign over it - there was absolutely no indication that the door led to additional rooms. The door to our room had a rusty wide-open hole at the bottom. The room had spectacular views, however it was clear that the room had not been updated since the early 80's. The carpet was sticky and damp, the living room chair was loaded with stains and the comforter was loaded with sand (not the spread on top of the bedding - the actual comforter!). Housekeeping was very prompt to bring us a brand new blanket which was much appreciated. I also have to mention that there were dead bugs on the carpeting near the sliding door and colonies of small no-see-ums living in the corners of the windows (inside of the room). As I said before - the views we had were spectacular which was the absolutely only saving grace for this property.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

2nd year in a row and once again,was a great stay. Hotel staff all very pleasant,rooms clean,plenty of safe garage parking and great location. No complaints here at all. Great place to stay,keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Marsh, MD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My family has stayed at many hotels and have seen the good, bad and ugly. At the last minute, we decided to to to OC but naturally had trouble finding any available hotels. However, we ended up at the Quality Inn Oceanfront. NEVER AGAIN. The staff was not cordial AT ALL and could care less if you were there; the hall carpets had nasty stains on ALL floors; the room carpet was nasty; the bathroom floor looked dirty like it had never been cleaned other than a quick sweep; the sofa was so dirty that we put a hotel sheet on it since it was so disgusting & the bathtub was so dirty that my wife refused to take a preferred bath and resorted to a shower. All in all, had the Hilton had space, I would have spent the extra money to stay there. Unless you do not care where you stay or are looking for a hotel that might be cheap (IN EVERY WAY), don't waste your money. Also, the furniture looks like it is out of the 70's. The outside looks nice BUT is quite deceitful as to the way it looks inside. I think this says it all!

Room Tip: Cleanliness is paramount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City

Address: Oceanfront at 33rd Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Quality Inn And Suites Beachfront Ocean City
Quality Inn Ocean City Md
Ocean City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Beachfront Ocean City Md
Quality Inn Beach Front Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.