We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Years Eve @ the beach
Ranked #7 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Latham, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

After reading the reviews we were like anyone else, unsure what we would find. Don't read the negative reviews. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and well worth the money. It may not be a five star hotel but worth the money spent. We reserved a room overlooking the pool. If you leave the balcony door open of course it will be noisy, after all kids are there to have fun. When the door was closed we could not hear any noise. We were on the third floor which has a washer and dryer available. The room was large with a separate living room, bedroom and small kitchen. The kitchen only has two burners, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. It does not have an oven or toaster, we brought a toaster for convenience. There is a small coffee pot in room also. It was away from the boardwalk, however the drive was only a few minutes to parking area's. Also there are many restaurants, shopping and grocery store with in a few steps from hotel. The beach was clean but the waves were rough. You can rent chairs on the beach, we brought our own. Overall it was a nice vacation. Also, I left a necklace in the room after checkout. I was in a panic so my husband returned to the hotel, went to the room which was already cleaned. He asked the attendant in the hall if a necklace was found and another attendant quickly came around the corner to give it back. I appreciated the honesty!

Room Tip: The rooms over the pool are great if you are traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    497
    152
    73
    116
See reviews for
813
423
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was a last minute weekend getaway for the family and we had a great time! The front desk staff was very friendly when we checked in. The room was comfortable and clean. We loved having the room and balcony over look the pool area. There was lots of stuff for the kids to do. We would highly recommend this hotel to other families!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our recent stay at the Princess Royale Resort was outstanding. We splurged and stayed in the two bedroom condo. Traveling with another couple and two teens the room in this condo was well worth it. The ocean view and sounds lent a relaxing atmosphere to our weekend. The condo was well equipped, clean and well maintained. The uptown location was convenient , the local bus runs back and forth all day to the broadwalk and is very reasonable priced, that is if you can tear yourself away from the beach which is just outside the hotel. It is located in a safe, quiet part of town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York, United States
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

been coming here since 1991, I think it is one of the nicest places in OC. Stayed here every time I come down. Would recommend to anyone. Especially nice for families. Right on the beach and wonderful indoor pool, that doesn't feel like an indoor pool....very spacious and roomy...very high ceiling with fans. All the rooms are suites,parents have their own bedroom!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel is ocean front and very nice. The rooms are spacious with a full kitchen and sitting area. Even though the TV in the sitting area is a CRT, the picture is very clear. The bed is super comfy and the views from the balcony were really good. You are located on 94th street so you are quite a few blocks from the boardwalk but nothing a little bike ride or shuttle bus can't handle. There are plenty of shopping stores, restaurants and entertainment for the entire family.

Overall, this was a really cool place and I look forward to staying here again when I am in OC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I'll start with the negative, since there isn't much. No dvd players in the room, no exhaust fan in the bathroom, and the AC is kind of loud. There's no outdoor pool, and the windows never permitted enough sun light to warm up the indoor pool. It wasn't too cold for our 3 year old, but my wife and I froze the one time we went to the pool.
We booked our vacation during some "super saver" type of package that went from Sunday to Friday for about 60% of what a week in a similar room would've costed. The package also included breakfast vouchers that we used all but one day.
To get ahead of beach traffic, we left early enough to arrive in OCMD at 9:30am Sunday. I had checked with the front desk to make sure we could park and change before check in. After breakfast, we got to the hotel around 10:30a. I got a parking pass, we changed and hit the beach by 11:00a. A few minutes before noon, my phone rang, it was the front desk letting us know we could check in. I had already been impressed with the facilities and it's staff, this call allowing us to check in 3 hours early

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Been visiting OC MD for over 30 yrs. Over those years have stayed in motels and hotels. Can say that The Princess Royal is an absolute joy! It is clean all around and service oriented. I recommend it 110%.

Room Tip: When it says "ocean view" at the Princess Royal- it is a great view, not a sliver of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.