We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We booked a sideview suite in early August. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Very nice having a full size refrigerator/freezer and kitchenette. I was pleasantly surprised that the view from our balcony was actually very nice where we could see the ocean to the left and the bay to the right (5th floor). The balcony was very small, which I knew, but I did spend some time sitting out there. The beds were comfortable although the tempurpedic beds take a little getting used to, but we all slept well. I was very impressed how quiet it was in our room at night. We had a few technical issues, such as the bedroom TV remote did not work, but staff addressed our concerns immediately. Housekeeping promptly brought us extra towels upon request. The outside eating and lounge areas are nice and the live music was a nice touch. Really the only complaints I can think of is the restaurant (we had free breakfast buffet every morning with our package deal). The restaurant was just average. The food and wait staff were mediocre. The pool area is very nice but the pool cleaniness could be better. My children refused to swim in the pool at times because it looked dirty (dirty beyond the sand you expect to see in the bottom). The staff at Princess Royale was always very courteous and pleasant. We also visited the Spa which was very small but enjoyable. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 510 sideview actually has a very nice view of the ocean and also the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    489
    151
    73
    115
See reviews for
806
414
22
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Nice place to stay. Had few small issues. Front desk person Stacy Ann could not put a smile on her face, wi-fi did not work in our room, asked someone to look at it, never got any response back. Bar inside where pool area is charged me $7.50 for pina colada, next day same place, same drink but different bartender price was $8.75??? Rooms are very clean and neat, thank you. Elevators are slow, do not use them!! Nice average hotel but over priced. Big thanks to girl who helped me put high chair together in garage elevator

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our 1st time staying in a Hotel in OC, MD. Everything was clean, comfortable and very convenient! The staff was very friendly, accommodating and helpful. I had never slept on a Tempurpedic bed before. I was a little skeptical until I had laid down on it after a long day at the beach. It was a fantastic night of sleep-every night. The bartender at the Tiki bar, Daniel, an Irish boy (literally, from Ireland) with a great personality, made our stay that much more enjoyable! He was a fine and funny young lad. We would come back just for his "bar-side" manner :-) We will definitely come back (already planning next year's trip) to the Princess!

Room Tip: If you have kids, you might want a room overlooking the inside pool (interior). If you do not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The room we had,...320 was nice. The temperpedic mattress was nice...I actually slept in...which is odd for me. The marble counters and decor were nice. T.he balcony had 2 chairs on it that were oversized....forget sitting there.

Hotel had a nice restaurant, entertainers during the day, a nice outside bar, easy access to the beach, indoor pool, video games, outdoor hot tubs, valet parking, and was adjacent to Laytons....get breakfast there!! Small elevators that were slow...we took the stairs instead.

The beach was dirty...guess I have been spoiled by Carolina Beaches. We got a massage there that was mediocre.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel for more than 15 years and NEVER a had a problem either with the room or the personnel.
Martesha Spencer whom we first met as a desk clerk was the kindness itself, always ready to do so, that we enjoyed our stay there.
We reserve an ocean front room off season and it was always clean and if we needed an extra towel or soap bar, they brought them in immediately.
Then Martesha was promoted , but we always kept in touch with her, stopped by to say Hello or even take a picture.
We will definitely continue reserving a room at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review and very positive feedback! We especially appreciate you taking the time to give our Reservations/Guest Services Manager, Martesha a special shout out as she works very hard each and every day to take exceptional care of our guests.

Thanks again and we very much look foward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City!

Sincerely,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worton, Maryland
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been traveling to Ocean City for the past 7 years and always staying at the Princess Royale Hotel, during the month of July. Miss Martesha is always available with her caring smile and always very courteous to us. We look forward toher greeting at the desk every year that we have been staying there And if she is not at the desk someone goes and finds her. The staff is always available to assist us in any way that they can. We are looking forward to staying there in November 2014. Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall we have always been treated with respect and as valued customers. Martesha and the staff treat us like family.
Joyce Jones and Darlene Stouts

Room Tip: Pool level with 2 queen beds great when traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We enter into this beautiful lobby where we were greeted nicely. I was a bit apprehensive coming striaght from business. Took a tour around the hotel and enjoyed the view and the style of the hotel. As we settled in we enjoyed all the amendities it had to offer. The pool, beach, food, games, and work out room, all the fun was there to be had. As we left I turned around suddenly to watch, the next group of people waiting to be helped. I looked at there faces tired parents excited children ready to start there vacation. I realized the com southern lay back hospitality was intentional there. Thank you Princess Royale you captured the true meaning of vacation. We will continue to send clients there.

Room Tip: All rooms look great call there service for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.