We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another GREAT stay at the Princess Royale with our Grandkids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Save Saved
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Nothing better than FREE!
Ranked #6 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Another GREAT stay at the Princess Royale with our Grandkids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have been staying at the Princess Royale for the Presidents Day weekend since our oldest granddaughter was young -- we now have 2 more grandchildren and we ALL look forward to our stay all year round. After checking out and having breakfast at Laytons (next door), we were heading home and, as we passed the hotel, our two youngest were saying, "Goodbye Princess Royale, we love you"! over and over again.

The rooms are so beautiful, it's a treat just to be there -- but looking out and seeing the Ocean, playing on the beach and finding shells, and playing in the swimming pool make the time fly by way too quickly, every single year.

From the time we check in, the front desk staff and the gentlemen who bring our suitcases up could not be more friendly or efficient -- everyone who works there seems to thoroughly enjoy their job. Whoever does the hiring, really has a gift for finding just the right people to go above and beyond in making guests feel so comfortable and pampered.

It's always SO sad when it's time to leave. The check-out process, however, is so quick and easy - you can even do it by phone from your room. We look forward to many more years of staying at the Princess Royale. It truly is hard to express how wonderful every stay has been.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    793
    454
    137
    67
    110
See reviews for
739
373
20
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I take my grandsons to the beach every February and the Princess Royale is their favorite. We love the pool and the hot tubs. The staff is great and always helpful. The location is great. Layton's family restaurant is right next door and the Princess is in a great location for dining and entertaining the kids. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Pool Level is great for the kids and beach access. However, if there is a convention of some type th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great place. Can't wait to go back in warmer weather. Indoor pool is great. Breakfast overpriced. Room was great. Location on beach is awesome. Service was very good. Employes were all very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland, United States
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I just arrived back home from a great "home away from home" two night stay at the Princess Royale in Ocean City Maryland and as usual another excellent relaxing experience from the entire staff and hotel. I've been staying here since 1991 with my family and have enjoyed there great accomodations and ammenties. As many times that I've visited Ocean City thru the years, theirs no other place that I would rather stay.

Room Tip: We've stayed at both the inside rooms that have two queen size beds and face the indoor pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Raymond,

Thank you for being a loyal repeat guest with us since our opening. It is truly a pleasure to host returning guests and their families.

As we have just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, we look forward to serving you and your family for many years to come.

Sincerely,

Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallops Island, Virginia
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed for a conference this winter. The staff were friendly, helpful and always available. Parking was easy, and the hotel was right on the beach. Even though I selected a "pool view," I could see the ocean because the pool has a wall of glass windows that face the ocean.
The food provided for the conference was great; I don't know if it was a conference directive but the options were healthy and suited a variety of eating needs without compromising taste.
The little pub across the street from the hotel is worth a visit too!

Room Tip: I didn't realize my room would be a suite - don't know if the whole hotel is like that, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Everything was wonderful even though there was a lot of things closed. We got a great deal on the Jacuzzi room by booking direct and they even gave us 14% off because a coupon we saw on their web site was invalid. Just a few complaints the coffee maker didn't work correctly and having to walk all the way out to the sidewalk to smoke. I think they should set up a space as a smoking room. I get the clean air act but they should also respect the people who do smoke also. Highly recommend this hotel- its one if the best we have stayed at

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've been staying at the Princess Royale for several years when I visit my kids, who are 9, 12 and 12. The hotel is, I understand, rated the second best in Ocean City but I think it is the best because of the rates, the great staff, and their liberal off-season upgrades to a better room. They have fantastic amenities like an indoor pool, game arcade, gift shop, convenience store, fitness center and restaurant. You could live here.

The kids love this place and so do I.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.