We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Women's Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off July&August Condo
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Women's Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I do meeting planning, mostly for religious groups. I booked 300+ women at the Princess Royale.
The staff was exceptional. From planning the dietary needs, to set up, to reservations,
patience and understanding for individual needs were met. The Food and Beverage Director
along with the Chef created menus for 6 meals that were not a repeat from day to day. The
Director of Sales kept a handle on the group needs.

Anytime you can make 300+ people smile, you know all is good. Sure, a few minor
mis-steps, but overall, a most positive experience.

KAL Meeting Resources

Room Tip: All rooms have either an ocean view or are oceanfront. Rooms are mini suites. Even condos are ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so very much for your positive feedback and great ratings! It certainly was our pleasure serving your group. The entire staff including, as you mentioned, our Director of Sales, Chef and Food & Beverage Manager strive daily to exceed our guests expections and it is very nice to know that your group of 300+ felt the accomodations as well as all their meals were very much to their liking. It is great to know our guests left "with a smile" as that is the goal.

Again, that you for the praise as well as the patronage. We enjoyed having your group as our guests and very much look forward to doing so again on your next visit to Ocean City.

Sincerely,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    503
    154
    73
    117
See reviews for
818
430
23
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just enjoyed our third visit to the Princess Royal. Parking and check-in were completed in only a few minutes, so we were in the outdoor hot tub within an hour of receiving our room keys.
We had no issues during our stay.

Room Tip: During this stay, we were in room 569. The living room of this suite is slightly smaller than other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenwick Island, DE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A group I belong to set up this past weekend with the wives. There were 120+ of us. Carrie Baker and Lisa Roberts did a fantastic job of taking care of everything. Not one person had a negative comment. All said it was the best party we have thrown. I would highly recommend the Hotel. From the bellmen to the wait staff and chefs it was a great experience. PS. I was in charge of the great weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We very much appreciate the positive feedback as well as great rating and are so very pleased to know that you and your guests had a fantastic time at our hotel.

Thank you very much for the patronage and we look foward to the opportunity to serve you and your guests on your next visit to Ocean City!

Sincerely,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

From booking to check out, everything was first class and friendly. Clean well appointed suites and many activities to enjoy within the hotel, on the beach and in Ocean City. A great weekend stay. I would return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: North condos (suite) have a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
1 review
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The spacious suite was roomy enough for four people and the balcony looking over the ocean was very special. The kitchen had plates, cups and silverware and across the street were shops, restaurants and a grocery store. Very convenient.

Room Tip: Corner suite with view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear DE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a last minute getaway. I tried to book through the website but a two night minimum was required. I called direct and as a courtesy I got the reservation. Check in was smooth and the suite was neat and in order. Temperpedic mattresses are nice. Kids loved the pool, arcade, gift shop and beach. Breakfast buffet is average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having traveled to Ocean City hundreds of times in my life, I have always wanted to try this hotel. Great location on 92nd street. On site parking is a great feature. Valet is available. We were allowed to park our car after 1P on the day of our check-in and use the facilities, but not check in until 4p, which is their regular check-in time. It was so nice to get some beach time and have a place to change and use the facilities as needed. The front desk stay was adequate. They didn't really offer directions or welcome, but were fine. There is a very small gift store in site and a convenience store which we found handy. We did not eat at the restaurant which is located in the basement, Oceanside, but we did get some drinks at the bar. Reasonably priced with a limited selection. The indoor pool was awesome for our son. Warm water and oversized. There are even some arcade games to play too. The hotel offers hot tubs, saunas and an exercise room, but we didn't see this room. The other two we chose not to use, but were definitely there and in working order.

The rooms are spacious and half remodeled. Some of the furniture is beyond old and worn out and needs to be replaced. The decor in the suite and hallways were very 80's and even reminded me of a cruise ship or Las Vegas in the 70's...mirrors and funky carpet. The place was just ok clean. Mildew all over the bathroom. Things slightly falling apart. I know they are making a fortune there being right on the beach so it would really pay to just shut down for a few months and do an overhaul. Everywhere except inside the rooms was pleasant to look at.

If you are looking for a place to stay RIGHT on the beach, need an indoor pool for the kids or just have a large group and need space, this could be the place for you. I am not sure I would spend the money in season for a room here, but we got a great deal off season so well worth it just for the beach access.

As a note, two comment cards were left in the hotel with suggestions, but I received an email days later asking me to take the same surveys. They may want to streamline that process.

Room Tip: Waterfront condos will have the best view for the sunrise. We really enjoyed the second floor becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.