We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence All Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Years Eve @ the beach
Ranked #7 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellence All Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I dont think there is anything I could say bad about my experience at the Princess Royale. Check-in was easy. We arrived at 11am and even though check-in wasnt until 4pm, they were able to accommodate us with a room immediately. We were helped by the bell desk to get our bags to our room. The room was a great size and very clean. While I cant say that the decor was super modern, it was obvious that the hotel does a great job at upkeep and modernization of the rooms. Kitchens were outfitted with granite counter tops that included a small table top that would probably seat 2-3 people. The room has a cooktop and a medium size fridge that was more than large enough for all of our groceries for the week. The fridge also had an ice maker which was really nice. The hotel room has a separate bedroom, which any noise being heard from the hallway outside the suite. The bedroom was equipped with a memory foam mattress that was on the firm side but very comfortable. The A/C was older looking but kept the room cool and comfortable. There was a small balcony off of our room, which wouldn't fit more than two people, but oceanfront rooms and some of the rooms on the lower floors had much larger balconies. We didnt mind, since we spent most of our time on the beach. Maid service was excellent, even doing our dishes for us and never interruptive. Parking at the hotel was included in the price and we never had a problem finding a spot in the garage when we returned late at night. Check out was also very efficient. We didnt use the pool, but it appeared to be very clean. The hotel also has a restaurant and a buffet, neither of which we tried. Neither ever seemed very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    497
    152
    73
    115
See reviews for
813
422
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coral gables
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed over the July 4th holiday weekend with our teenagers. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean in an average sort of way. Everything in the hotel seemed dated except for the new faucet installed in our bathroom after the first night. They responded very quickly to attend to the leaky faucet we reported on the first morning there. The air conditioner was running and keeping the room cool, but the carpet seemed perpetually damp in some areas. Our Ocean View room with a very small balcony was appreciated. We didn't realize until we checked in that these rooms are all on the sides of the hotel so while you see the water, the Condos across the back have the full ocean view. This did not stop us from sitting on the small balcony and enjoying the water view. The mattresses were both Temperpedic and wonderful. The Gazebo bar out back was closed sometime prior to 8:15 on July 4th when we thought we might grab a drink before taking the bus to see the fireworks. I was told they generally close the bar between 6-8pm to eliminate the noise for guests staying in the ground floor condos near the bar. Not a big deal. There are plenty of places to have a beer/cocktail or buy your own nearby. The beach access is tremendous and the number one reason we chose this hotel. We did not realize how far we would be from the Boardwalk. The hotel is between 91st and 92nd streets. The Boardwalk begins at 27th. The very low cost bus does run frequently however you don't always want to invest the possible 30-45 minutes to ride that far. The bus stops approx every other block and the traffic was heavy the whole time we were there. In fact the busses can get very full, standing room only. We also appreciated the free parking in their parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

this hotel i have stayed for few times now, since we went as a college groups to now going as a family. the only reason we stay here is due the the suites which give separate living and sleeping and kitchen area. the beds are awesome but that's about all this hotel has. the service is rude. house keep and room services, i would say does not even exist. they don't have an outdoor pool and that kinda kills the summer mood. OC water is a bit cold majority of the summer till the end so having an outdoor should be a must. They are also missing any kids play area in their hotel. there is one tiny bar outdoors which plays a live guitar and few songs. The hotel does not have special happy hour time or other activities for the guest. This is my review comparing to other hotels in OC .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Loved the hotel room was very nice and the mattress was a memory foam bed loved it. Pool area is very nice however its indoors only and they are only open from 10-10 so no early or late night swimming. Good location plenty of restaurants close by. The beach was clean but very busy and many rude people around also the lifeguards basically closed the beach for swimming when they left at 5:30.

Room Tip: ask for ocean side the pool side room has no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We came back to this hotel again because we enjoyed our stay so much last summer. Last time was a three bedroom condo which was awesome and this time we stayed in a partial ocean view two bed suite which was also nice. The staff is friendly, very clean hotel, beautiful beach, great indoor pool, spa, sauna! We walked to restaurants Bull on the Beach and also Lombardi's. Both were good. Everything else we drove to but was within a reasonable distance. We will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I'd known about this hotel for nearly 20 years but had never stayed there until this past weekend. The staff is all super-friendly, professional, and helpful. We have 2 boys, ages 2 and 9, and the facilities here kept them entertained at all times. Our king suite featured a Tempurpedic mattress, plush linens, and a great view of the indoor pool atrium area. We will definitely be returning here in the near future!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the idea of a poolside room...they are soundproof here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our room was clean and spacious with a full size refrigerator and a separate living room. The staff was helpful. The only thing we made a note of was a white plastic chair on the porch that had a broken back. The ocean view from the porch was relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which was convenient to the inside pool and atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.