We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait times for the elevators” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Years Eve @ the beach
Ranked #7 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Long wait times for the elevators”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is located on the northern end of Ocean City, MD. The weekend we were there the hotel was very busy due to many "Sweet Adeline" choruses in town for a regional competition. My partner was performing with her chorus. The hotel has a rather strange layout and navigating to the rooms in either of the towers can get complicated. We were very surprised when we walked into our room and discovered that instead of two beds, there was one king bed with a heart shaped jacuzzi tub next to it. The rooms all have kitchenettes, which makes it convenient if you want to make any meals. The hotel is on the beach and also has a large indoor pool with saunas and a hot tub. There are also two more hot tubs outside on the patio, overlooking the ocean. One of the best things about this hotel is the beds, they have fantastic memory foam mattresses, that made for great sleeping after a relaxing time in the jacuzzi. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a jacuzzi room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    497
    152
    73
    116
See reviews for
813
423
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southern Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

For the past two years, we have stayed at this hotel as part of a convention held there. It is okay for the purpose used, but I would not book this hotel outside of the convention stay. While the rooms are well laid out (suite style w/efficiency kitchen), the decor of the room and hotel seems to be stuck in the '80s. While the beds are great (Tempurpedic), the linens are a much lower grade that one would expect to find. The same can be said for the towels - on the rack in our bathroom there were at least two towels that I would have retired long ago as being more gray than white - who wants to use that?

The heating/cooling unit is ancient and makes a horrendous noise when it turns on - it woke me up two times the first night, so after that we shut it off, put an extra blanket on the bed and opened one of the sliding doors so that the sound of the ocean would block the noise that the fridge made.

The bathroom is adequate, but the hot water takes a long time to get there (we were in an ocean front room on the 5th floor), and the 'oxygenation' shower head makes it very hard to get all the soap out of longish hair.

The kitchenette is okay - two burner cooktop and microwave only, no oven - but it is definately not stocked for real use. There are enough plates and glasses for 4-6 people, but the utensils were a bit short. In addition, there are no specialty utensils one would expect to find at the beach (pizza cutter etc.). No toaster, one skillet, one medium saucepan and one small saucepan was the extent of the equipment. Only one sharp knife, one spatula and one spoon.

The pool area is okay, but very muggy most of the time (as one would expect an enclosed pool area to be). It does boast two dry heat saunas and a very small hot tub (there are two additional hot tubs on the deck outside, but they were not open for the season at this time). A little concerned about the amount of bubbles in the hot tub....looked like a full on bubble bath! The towels provided at the pool had also seen better days and were almost threadbare in some spots.

I do hope there are plans to renovate this hotel in the future, as the location is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your conference, our tempur-pedic bedding, the room layout, our oceanfront location, and the ocean breeze!

I would like for you to know that we just purchased new linen, terry, and pool towels. I am certain that you will be pleased on your next visit with us. Also, I regret that the heating unit was too loud. I am sure that our Maintenance staff would have been more than glad to make some type of adjustment to eliminate any noise, had they been made aware.

Again, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to servicing your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City, Maryland.

Sincerely,

Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Princess Royale. Friendly staff, nice pool and spa made the weekend that much more fun. The room was very clean and big, it was great to just kick back and relax. Looking forward to our next visit to OCMD and would definitely stay at the Princess Royale again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. Our stay which included 6 people and 4 kids under 9 was great. The room was clean the pool and atrium level was a hit with my family. We were able to play on the beach after just a short walk from our balcony. I would definitely recommend Princess Royale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a great stay at the Princess Royal. Everyone was very friendly. We were in town for a convention which included a banquet. The food was better than most banquets I have attended in the past. Our room was very spacious which included a pull out couch and 2 TV's.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The weekend ended up being cold on the beach but the staff and hotel made a cold weekend fun. Pool, hot tub, ping pong table, pool table, air hockey table and awsome room helped to make the weekend fun.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent 2 nights here for a convention taking place in the hotel. My room wasn't ocean front but perpendicular to the beach, and still with a view of the ocean from the balcony. The suite was well appointed with a sleep sofa, living area, kitchenette and roomy bedroom with king sized bed. I loved the Tempurpedic mattress. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies and also internal rooms that open into the pool area
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.