We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for mini vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Save Saved
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Nothing better than FREE!
Ranked #4 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for mini vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our mini vacation at the Princess Royale was absolutely perfect. The bell boy was friendly and helpful; check-in was flawless and quick; our room opened to the olympic size pool; and the room
was large, clean, and comfortable. It had a fully equipped kitchen, a sofa bed, and matching
chair. We ordered a large pizza to be delivered to the room...great price, extra large, and quite
tasty. The children loved the pool...we did, too...very nice. The front desk was extremely nice,
helpful, and made us feel extremely welcome. I would highly recommend the Princess Royale
because the location is ocean front, the pool is great, and the rooms are nice, but the best part
was the outstanding hotel staff that made every effort make sure we had a great experience.

Room Tip: Ground floor near the pool is great for small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent comments. I am very glad you and your family had a perfect mini-vacation at the Princess Royale. I am especially glad that your children had a great time playing in the pool. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    780
    448
    135
    66
    109
See reviews for
728
370
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

First time visit. Enjoyed 3 nights in very comfortable 2 queen bed, oceanview suite in the middle of the week. Got a great "best available rate" online. The ocean view from balcony was very relaxing; enjoyed breakfast out there each morning. The bed mattresses were very restful. I loved the 4 different pillow types on each bed, so you can choose. Nice working kitchenette and small sofa room with 2nd tv. Very clean and well-appointed. Staff were helpful and free parking in garage was convenient. Three good restaurants, grocery store, and 7-eleven within block (walking distance). We would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Princess Royale at least six times, and it has gotten more "tired" and in need of TLC each year. It is right on the beach, has a good location (you can walk to both Layton's and Bull on the Beach) and has free parking in it's own garage. Ocean front rooms are full on the ocean and have a large refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, pretty much everything you need to cook for a weeks stay. All the bed are Temper-pedic style, which I happen to like. The bad news is the carpets are stained, many rooms and hallways have an odor, Elevators are shaky and slow, in-room coffee, shampoos and soaps are very poor quality. The hotel has an extra daily charge for the safe whether you use it or not. Elevators going to the condos in either tower are particularly bad - you can wait for a full 20+ minutes.

Room Tip: Don' t get a poolside room - you will have a chlorine smell and be up all night from the noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments. I am glad that you enjoyed the oceanfront location, free parking, in-suite kitchen, and tempur-pedic bedding. I would like for you to know that we are scheduled for new carpeting and elevator upgrades later this year. I would like very much, for you and your guests to return and enjoy our improvements. Thank you for your continued patronage!

Sincerely,

Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family had a great time. Its great for a getaway during the offseason. Kids really enjoy playing in the pool and parents can relax in the hot tubs. The room was big and comfortable. We will definetely stay again. We loved the view. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The staff was very helpful and pleasant - room was clean & well appointed. We had a wonderful stay. The view was great we had two fantastic Ocean City sunrises. The staff honored our request for a high floor. We would highly recommend the Princess Royal in Ocean City Maryland! this was our first, but not our last stay here.

Room Tip: Ocean fron is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitol Heights, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our stay at Princess Royale was great. The room was a little outdated but very clean and inviting with a full kitchen. The bed was really nice the first night but by the second me and my husband had sore lower backs, I think it was just too soft. We took advantage of the gym since we both workout daily and enjoyed that the hotel was very private. The hotel also has garage parking which was great. There was one maid that flirted with husband when he answered the door and then she came back the next day and I answered because he was in the shower and she said "Oh sorry wrong room". We do intend to go back in a few weeks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just stayed at this resort for a 2-day getaway. Staff is awesome, friendly and helpful. Rooms are a bit outdated but fully functional, nicely equipped with the necessities and spacious. VERY CLEAN! We were great until we went to dinner at the restaurant (Schooner's), and it was the worst experience in terms of the food. Ordered from what seemed like a great menu, but the salad was old and brown, and had to return the main course twice. My husband ordered a pasta dish and it was all stuck together and not tasty. Rolls served at the table were at least 3 days old. If you eat off property, this is a nice place to stay for a short term visit. Outdoor jacuzzi's were nice, and property was nicely accessible to the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. I’m glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, thought the staff was awesome, and the resort was very clean. However, it was concerning that you and your family did not enjoy your dining experience. Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment. While there is no excuse, I would like to note that our Executive Chef and Sous Chef were preparing a banquet for several hundred guests while you were having dinner and an associate did not send out a meal to you that met your standards, or ours. I deeply apologize for the oversight.

Again, thank you for sharing about your recent stay and I’m glad that you were happy with all other aspects of your visit. Be assured that your comments will be passed along to assist with training and improvement. We look forward to servicing your future hospitality needs.

Sincerely,

Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.