We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've stayed here a few times and always have a great time. The arcade is great for the kids and the pool bar is great for the adults.

The last time we stayed, they were remodeling the pool area, which was was a bit inconvenient, but now that's been completed, it's probably an improvement from before.

We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    518
    157
    74
    121
See reviews for
839
449
24
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband, our 4 children and I stayed at the Princess Royale at the end of March and had a great time. My children range from 5 years- 15 years old and the hotel had enough to do for all ages. The reservation process was seamless and our check-in was prompt. We stayed in a two bedroom condo which was beyond our expectations and was very clean. Even though it was cold, the kids had fun on the beach and playing in the pool. We would definitely vacation there again. FYI..... There is a parking garage at the hotel but if you have a taller SUV/Van/Truck... you will need to park outside on the side streets. During March, public parking was not an issue but I could see in the summer it being a challenge to find parking. The receptionist can tell you the clearance height when you make your reservation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

So we had the pleasure of staying Easter weekend...my husband and two children ages 5 and 13. My parents also came along and got their own suite. The hotel itself is nice and although renovated there are still a few things that let you know it's and older hotel. Like the bubble TV in the sitting room. Only the one in the bedroom is a flat screen. But ok we weren't there to watch tv anyway. The suites are nice size... although the ones not facing the beach where my parents were are much larger than the suites oceanfront where my family were. But still nice and clean. Kitchen was very usable and clean. We had coupons for Schooner's and it was pretty good. Don't know if I woulda went if not for coupons but it was ok. The friendliness of the staff made up for any shortcomings. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband, daughter and I ran away to Ocean City at the end of March to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We chose the Princess Royale because it had a nice big indoor pool, hot tub and sauna, so that even if the weather was not so beachy (and it wasn't!) we could still enjoy some water fun in the sun. We drove through a snowstorm to get there, but were rewarded with a room upgrade as a silver anniversary bonus. The pink marble lobby and palm hallway felt glamorous, the meals in the hotel's restaurant were great (breakfast especially- the eggs were out of this world), the staff was friendly and helpful, and we had a really nice time. The north OC location was wonderful, near lots of good restaurants- especially Liquid Assets, where we had a super meal. We would stay at the Princess Royale again.

Room Tip: Our tower condo facing the beach was private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Princess Royale for 3 days last week. Not our first time there and we will continue to go back .The hotel is lovely, the rooms have comfortable beds , a nice sitting room and it's handy to have a full size fridge in the kitchen area. The pool is huge, with a sauna and hot tub, a few games and a pool table . And it overlooks the ocean so it feels like summer no matter what the weather.Big atrium ,4 story high area . There are also 2 big hot tubs just steps from the door. We chose to use those and it felt wonderful even though it was 30 degrees outside.Easy reservations, and they have great sales and packages in the off months .The staff is very friendly, the place is immaculate , the bar is fun and the buffet breakfast is perfect and affordable in a beautiful setting looking out at the beach . There is a convenience store in the lobby and and a gift shop that sells great stuff ! It has all you ever need !

Room Tip: We love an ocean view, but even the side rooms have a water view and a cute little porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I had a fabulous stay at the Princess Royale. Great hotel, room and service. Loved the view and location. The staff were exceptional! We ate dinner at Schooners on our last night and really enjoyed our dining experience, we even saw a pod of dolphins swimming by, just incredible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed Easter weekend with the kids and had a great time. The hotel is large, clean and the staff very accommodating. Free parking, great room service. Had a Side Ocean View King suite, which was large and had a door to the bedroom, the kids stayed on the pull out. The pull out was worn out and needs to be rethought for anyone to be comfy enough for sleep, as the kids struggled to be. ( should be replaced) Our bed, the king was nice with a foam topper, ahhh. The room was quiet throughout the night for a great nights sleep. The view was ok, from above the street you can see the ocean. The balcony was very tiny and had no screen door to keep it open safely for air in the room. Maid service was perfect and prompt, we left a tip as we were more than happy with the service. The convenience store has a small amount of goods in case you forgot your toothbrush, etc.
The pool area....hot, smelly, not big enough and needs to be better ventilated. Too many people in the pool at ANY given time. Yes, the weather was cool outside but the pool's just too small for the place. Alot of families hanging out everywhere all the time. You will not find any space in the Jacuzzi either,TOO SMALL. There were 3 of them, 2 outside and 1 near the pool, but the water was brown, yuk. We skipped the water altogether. We did play ping pong alot and walked the boards tho. All in all I would stay again hoping to be outside on the beach next stay! Oh, don't eat breakfast at the restaurant, it's overpriced and not good. If you book online watch out for hidden costs upon checkout.

Room Tip: Quiet King suite with ocean view, great nights sleep. But, the sofa pullout isn't good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.