We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Years Eve @ the beach
Ranked #7 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great short get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Princess Royale for 3 days last week. Not our first time there and we will continue to go back .The hotel is lovely, the rooms have comfortable beds , a nice sitting room and it's handy to have a full size fridge in the kitchen area. The pool is huge, with a sauna and hot tub, a few games and a pool table . And it overlooks the ocean so it feels like summer no matter what the weather.Big atrium ,4 story high area . There are also 2 big hot tubs just steps from the door. We chose to use those and it felt wonderful even though it was 30 degrees outside.Easy reservations, and they have great sales and packages in the off months .The staff is very friendly, the place is immaculate , the bar is fun and the buffet breakfast is perfect and affordable in a beautiful setting looking out at the beach . There is a convenience store in the lobby and and a gift shop that sells great stuff ! It has all you ever need !

Room Tip: We love an ocean view, but even the side rooms have a water view and a cute little porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    497
    152
    73
    115
See reviews for
813
422
23
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I had a fabulous stay at the Princess Royale. Great hotel, room and service. Loved the view and location. The staff were exceptional! We ate dinner at Schooners on our last night and really enjoyed our dining experience, we even saw a pod of dolphins swimming by, just incredible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed Easter weekend with the kids and had a great time. The hotel is large, clean and the staff very accommodating. Free parking, great room service. Had a Side Ocean View King suite, which was large and had a door to the bedroom, the kids stayed on the pull out. The pull out was worn out and needs to be rethought for anyone to be comfy enough for sleep, as the kids struggled to be. ( should be replaced) Our bed, the king was nice with a foam topper, ahhh. The room was quiet throughout the night for a great nights sleep. The view was ok, from above the street you can see the ocean. The balcony was very tiny and had no screen door to keep it open safely for air in the room. Maid service was perfect and prompt, we left a tip as we were more than happy with the service. The convenience store has a small amount of goods in case you forgot your toothbrush, etc.
The pool area....hot, smelly, not big enough and needs to be better ventilated. Too many people in the pool at ANY given time. Yes, the weather was cool outside but the pool's just too small for the place. Alot of families hanging out everywhere all the time. You will not find any space in the Jacuzzi either,TOO SMALL. There were 3 of them, 2 outside and 1 near the pool, but the water was brown, yuk. We skipped the water altogether. We did play ping pong alot and walked the boards tho. All in all I would stay again hoping to be outside on the beach next stay! Oh, don't eat breakfast at the restaurant, it's overpriced and not good. If you book online watch out for hidden costs upon checkout.

Room Tip: Quiet King suite with ocean view, great nights sleep. But, the sofa pullout isn't good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Thank you, Charlotte, for your help in booking our room over the phone, right through our quick and easy check-in! The best surprise was upgrading us to an oceanfront room to honor my husband's birthday!! The hotel was wonderful! Our suite was perfect! Bathroom was clean, water pressure was string, towels were fluffy and lighting was bright!Tripadvisor's multiple great reviews steered us to Princess Royale Hotel. The location is excellent- right on the beach and easy to find. Parking was effortless. Check in was swift. Gracious desk staff. Clean and spacious facilities in the public areas. The room/suite we ended up with was on the 3rd floor directly facing the beach. The kitchenette was great spacious and will be handy for summer beach days in upcoming visits. SMOKE-FREE BUILDING!!! YOU ROCK! I had planned to go swimming this weekend but was feeling under the weather from a rotten cold. However, the huge indoor pool/atrium was a very popular spot for other guests Friday night when we took our tour of the facility. Thank you, Princess Royale for a great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent two nights with my girlfriend (3/25-3/27/13) at Princess Royale (PR). Free parking in on-site parking garage. All of the staff were very friendly. At check-in, we were offered an upgrade to an oceanfront suite with balcony, but instead opted for a pool-side room (just our personal preference).

ROOM: Free wi-fi. Our suite was huge and very clean. "Living room" includes sofa bed, TV, coffee table, and small dining area. "Bedroom" had king-size memory foam mattress, dressers, and flat-screen TV. Each room also has a kitchenette with full-size fridge/freezer, microwave, and stove. Bathroom was big and clean, with very good water pressure in the shower.

AMENITIES: PR has more indoor amenities than virtually every other hotel in OC, and they are very well-maintained. Since the weather wasn't great, we enjoyed the indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna. The atrium also has a pool bar, lots of seating, and games for kids. We also visited the gym; the machines were a little dated, but it met our needs.

LOCALE: There is no shortage of restaurants/bars in walking distance (< 5 minutes) of PR (e.g., Layton's for breakfast, Bull on the Beach, Lombardi's pizza, a liquor store, etc.).

To sum up: I first stayed at Princess Royale about 15 years ago, and have returned periodically since. This was my first time back in three years, and I'm happy to say it's just as great as it's always been. It's also a great value considering you can very comfortably fit four people in one room. We're already planning another trip this summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful three night stay at the Princess Royale. We had a suite on the fourth floor with a side view of the ocean. Our room was spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed using the pool and hot tub on a cold, rainy/snowy Sunday afternoon. It was a very good deal, too - three nights for the price of two!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

In 2011, we purchased the Princess Royale's Thanksgiving weekend trip, got a small suite, and enjoyed very much enjoyed our stay. Nice hotel, clean, tolerably spacious, a fairly standard thanksgiving buffet, nice indoor pool, and pleasantly located in Ocean City's retail district.

Enjoyed it enough that we wanted to return in 2012, but this time decided to pay the $30-40 more a night that it cost to upgrade to a condo. OMIGOODNESS. Huge difference in space. Three bedrooms, spacious living area, beautiful view of the beach, plus all the amenities above. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: The ONLY issue I had with out suite was a minor one -- it appears this suite was more of a "par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.