We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend getaway was wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend getaway was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Thank you, Charlotte, for your help in booking our room over the phone, right through our quick and easy check-in! The best surprise was upgrading us to an oceanfront room to honor my husband's birthday!! The hotel was wonderful! Our suite was perfect! Bathroom was clean, water pressure was string, towels were fluffy and lighting was bright!Tripadvisor's multiple great reviews steered us to Princess Royale Hotel. The location is excellent- right on the beach and easy to find. Parking was effortless. Check in was swift. Gracious desk staff. Clean and spacious facilities in the public areas. The room/suite we ended up with was on the 3rd floor directly facing the beach. The kitchenette was great spacious and will be handy for summer beach days in upcoming visits. SMOKE-FREE BUILDING!!! YOU ROCK! I had planned to go swimming this weekend but was feeling under the weather from a rotten cold. However, the huge indoor pool/atrium was a very popular spot for other guests Friday night when we took our tour of the facility. Thank you, Princess Royale for a great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    519
    157
    74
    121
See reviews for
840
449
24
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent two nights with my girlfriend (3/25-3/27/13) at Princess Royale (PR). Free parking in on-site parking garage. All of the staff were very friendly. At check-in, we were offered an upgrade to an oceanfront suite with balcony, but instead opted for a pool-side room (just our personal preference).

ROOM: Free wi-fi. Our suite was huge and very clean. "Living room" includes sofa bed, TV, coffee table, and small dining area. "Bedroom" had king-size memory foam mattress, dressers, and flat-screen TV. Each room also has a kitchenette with full-size fridge/freezer, microwave, and stove. Bathroom was big and clean, with very good water pressure in the shower.

AMENITIES: PR has more indoor amenities than virtually every other hotel in OC, and they are very well-maintained. Since the weather wasn't great, we enjoyed the indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna. The atrium also has a pool bar, lots of seating, and games for kids. We also visited the gym; the machines were a little dated, but it met our needs.

LOCALE: There is no shortage of restaurants/bars in walking distance (< 5 minutes) of PR (e.g., Layton's for breakfast, Bull on the Beach, Lombardi's pizza, a liquor store, etc.).

To sum up: I first stayed at Princess Royale about 15 years ago, and have returned periodically since. This was my first time back in three years, and I'm happy to say it's just as great as it's always been. It's also a great value considering you can very comfortably fit four people in one room. We're already planning another trip this summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful three night stay at the Princess Royale. We had a suite on the fourth floor with a side view of the ocean. Our room was spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. We really enjoyed using the pool and hot tub on a cold, rainy/snowy Sunday afternoon. It was a very good deal, too - three nights for the price of two!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

In 2011, we purchased the Princess Royale's Thanksgiving weekend trip, got a small suite, and enjoyed very much enjoyed our stay. Nice hotel, clean, tolerably spacious, a fairly standard thanksgiving buffet, nice indoor pool, and pleasantly located in Ocean City's retail district.

Enjoyed it enough that we wanted to return in 2012, but this time decided to pay the $30-40 more a night that it cost to upgrade to a condo. OMIGOODNESS. Huge difference in space. Three bedrooms, spacious living area, beautiful view of the beach, plus all the amenities above. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: The ONLY issue I had with out suite was a minor one -- it appears this suite was more of a "par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Meade, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had booked two nights in an oceanfront suite and was very surprised to be upgraded to a top floor condo when I checked in. My parents and son with Autism traveling with me--and he tends to be a bit loud at times. The privacy (and view) were much appreciated. It was great.
We would have liked to dine in the hotel restaurant and were given coupons at check in--it was closed till the AM we checked out. A bit disappointing...
Our room wasn't cleaned until late in the afternoon even though there were staff cleaning another room on our floor all day long.
This is our second visit here (we came last October) and would come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We wanted a winter getaway and had stayed at the Princess Royale many years ago. The hotel was a great place to stay 10 years ago and I'm happy to say that is STILL a great place to stay. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We took advantage of the Olympic sized pool as well as the hot tubs. The person who helped me with my reservation was very pleasant and even offered the Welcome Back coupon which I had not known about. (all I had to do was print it out from home) It was a great deal!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A get away weekend with my son. Nice and comfortable. Thanks to Anita for the upgrade for just a few extra dollars. Beautiful room with a view. Everyone so friendly. Comfy beds and good Wi-fi. Housekeeping top notch. Friendly Staff always greeted you. Love the living room/kitchenette that provided a comfortable relaxing hide-a-way.

My only complaint was the pool bar was open during the afternoon but not at night when we would have loved a drink. Other people at the pool questioned this. The afternoon bartendar could not handle more than one person at a time. (you didn't get a tip because you pretended not to see me).

The pool and hot tub are nice and clean but the many signs that state "Hot Tub under 16 prohibited" was ignored and pool staff did not monitor and enforce. So instead of a relaxing hot tub we had a 104 degree kiddie pool.
Still we Will return next year.

Room Tip: Book directly with hotel. I used a 3rd party OC reservation station and felt ripped off for coupons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Business Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.