We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Save Saved
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Nothing better than FREE!
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Union Bridge, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The place was Beautiful! My husband and I went down for our Anniversary and watched the St. Pattys Day Parade! Had a GREAT time! We had one of the Jacuzzi suites and it was so nice! The room was clean and well taken care of. The view was spectacular! We ordered room service for breakfast and was delivered on time! We would definitely go back! We didnt use the pool, but it seemed like everyone in there was having a great time. If you have children it would be a perfect place to get a room pool side!

Room Tip: Definitely get Ocean Front if you are a couple. The beds are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    481
    149
    73
    115
See reviews for
793
400
22
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not a terrible experience but we expected more for the price. My wife and I stayed at the end of last summer. The location was nice and the room itself was OK, however there was no wireless internet to speak of, a few barely visible hot spots that if we were able to connect to them didn't give any bandwidth at all. Also the maid service didn't seem to understand the meaning of "do not disturb". My son would nap in the afternoon and this didn't seem to fit in the maid's schedule so despite the sign hanging on the door we were interrupted by phone calls and door knocking. Overall the hotel could use some updating, and given a better price I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your last summer’s stay at our hotel. Providing our guest with the best hospitality and service is one of our highest priorities, but I regret that we did not exceed your expectation. I would like to let you know that we have upgraded our WiFi since last summer. Also, I would like to apologize for the disturbance by our housekeeping staff. Our housekeeping staff is trained to follow up with any guest who has a “privacy” sign on the door in the morning, at the end of their afternoon/evening shift. We have found that some guests have put their “privacy” sign out and meant to put their “service please” sign, so we like to make sure that no guest is ever neglected of any service.

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and I hope that you will once again allow us to service your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City, Maryland. It was nice to learn that you would return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been staying with Princess Royale for years. The hotel is well kept, quiet, and clean. As other people mentioned, we are always upgraded and the staff is very friendly. Food is decent, and the drinks are plentiful. Our room is always immaculate and the beds are amazingly comfortable. We will continue our patronage for years to come.

Room Tip: We have never had a "bad room." All of the rooms we have stayed in are quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, comments and 5 star rating! We greatly appreciate the positive feedback as well as the partonage and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City, MD!

See you at the beach!

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and kids stayed at this hotel in February for a cheer conference. It's clean but the decor is very dated to the 80's. The parking lot is always full and the one elevator they have in the parking garage is sooooooo slow. We couldn't find any stairs to take either.

The rooms are a good size, but they're nothing spectacular. It's always nice to have a small kitchen in the room so we appreciated this.

The one thing I'll mention that isn't so great is the food. I do not recommend eating at the hotel. The restaurant next door is good and far cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend and everything was excellent. We had stayed here before a couple of years ago.

Upon arrival we were given an upgrade to a oceanfront condo due to a group there for a soccer tournament. When we went to check in they automatically did this without us mentioning the large group checking in. Views were great,condo very clean, well maintained. Next morning we had room service for breakfast. Ordered full breakfast the night before, it was delivered on time, was hot and food was good. Staff person who delivered it was very nice & pleasant.

Went to Schooners just for happy hour - bartender very friendly. Great view of the beach from the bar.

Checkout was quick and efficient.

Absolutely will go back -- staff here are some of the best!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We greatly appeciate your patronage as well as your postive feedback and ratings and we very much look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City, Maryland.

Regards,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while we were in town watching the Super Bowl last month. The hotel check in was fast and the staff were so nice and welcoming. We were blown away by the beautiful lobby and our amazing room, the whole hotel is just beautiful. Our room was big and extremely clean, we had a living room, small kitchen area, bedroom and very large bathroom. The kitchen area had a small stove top to cook and a full refrigerator with an automatic ice maker in the freezer. They had a coffee maker and packets of coffee on the counter for us which were actually pretty good. We had an ocean front room so the bedroom had a wall and a half of windows facing the beach. There was a porch on the side corner so you could sit out there and look out at the water as well. The bed was the best part, really big, soft and comfortable. The room also had a closet area, safe, 2 televisions and a lot of room. The hotel also has an indoor pool but since we only stayed a night we didn't use it. The parking is easy and the location is great for people who prefer to stay off the boardwalk, theres 2 bus stops going in either direction directly out front and a lot of fun places to eat and shop right there! Definitely worth the money!

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth every penny, you won't regret the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased that you had an "amazing" stay and found our accomodations as well as our staff earned a 5 star rating! We appeciate your time as well as your patronage and very much look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City!

Sincerely,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were given an upgrade to a condo on the beach side. We assumed it was because there was a soccer club staying in the hotel. It was great! Very guiet and great amenities. Even a washer and dryer! Would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side have beautiful sunrises and sunsets from the living room and master bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Princess Royale! We appreciate your comments and your 5 star rating! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the upgrade. We do provide upgrades, when available, to our guests to show our appreciation to our repeat guests or, sometimes, to allow a larger family to have larger accommodations. And, you are correct that as the majority of the hotel was occupied by the soccer groups during your dates, we felt the upgrade to the condo would provide you with more private accommodations as, while the group was well-behaved, any time you have hundreds of kids at one venue, it can be a little busy!

Our condos are average 1,100 square feet with direct oceanfront views. Usually, once a guest has been upgraded they admit to being "spoiled" and return again and again to the condos; which, of course, we love.

Thank you so very much again for your comments and rating. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City.

Striving for excellence,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.