We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best New Year's Eve on Martin Luther King Holiday!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Save Saved
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 1 Get 1 FREE!!
Ranked #4 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Hughesville, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best New Year's Eve on Martin Luther King Holiday!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband & I have been going to the Princess Royale for at least 5 years now for the Martin Luther King weekend; however, we call it our "New Year's Eve"!! W/their "Welcome Back" coupon, you can get Sunday night free when you stay on Friday and Saturday nights!! So it's a lot cheaper to stay for 3 nights than the real New Year's Eve!! We take advantage of the gym during the NFL playoffs and the beautiful Ocean view!! We get to go to all of our favorite restaurants w/no summer waiting lines!!! This is a perfect way to start off every year for us and we look forward to many more years at the Princess Royale!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    737
    431
    127
    65
    106
See reviews for
688
355
20
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I attended a gathering of 600 members of my private club over the last weekend at this hotel and found all aspects of my visit enjoyable. My room was clean and well maintained, the hotel staff was at all times helpful and respectful, and the food service provided by the hotel was very good.
The weekend long occasion, which can best be described as a three day party, included buffet breakfasts and dinner, as well as an excellently prepared and served formal dinner, which was the high light of the weekend(with the exception of the Ravens victory over Denver).
There are many characteristics of the PR that made it such a good site for such a large gathering: the huge atrium to host formal dinners, dancing, and parties, the willingness of the staff to work closely with you to make your event a success, the well appointed guest rooms, and the way that the rooms are laid out around a central 'party core' that enhances the idea of togetherness that the gathering wants to achieve.
We have held this club gathering at the PR for a decade now and the response from our membership has been consistantly positive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

On Saturday I attended a banquet with over 600 guests. The entree was sauteed chicken breast topped with shrimp and a banana curry sauce over rice and the vegetable was string beans. Dinner service was delayed a half hour to allow viewing of the Ravens winning a football game in double overtime. Not the best situation for food service. The delicate flavors of the chicken and shrimp were enhanced (not over powered) by the creamy velvet of the sauce. The string beans were also delicately seasoned so as not to overwhelm the fragility of the entree flavors. The chef achieved a balance in the dish - one flavor did not take the lead eclipsing any other. It was a culinary treat for those with discriminating palates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had our Ball at the Princess Royale and were in awesome of the service and attention we received. The rooms were spectacular, service over the top, and there were no instances where anything could havebeen any better. We feasted on a dinner buffet of Fried chicken and ham, yummy!! Our Ball meal was one that my husband picked of Chicken and shrimp banana curry and we received so many compliments that it was the best ball meal that they had ever had. Breakfast consisted of a variety of everything from eggs to Creamed chipped beef to pancakes with much more. Such a feast!! Everything was great and I don't know how to thank everyone from the Princess Royale. They did a job that was over the top. It is very hard to serve a sit down meal to a crowd of over 625, but they did it easily with hot and delicious food. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am a Senior Review guy.I have under my size 46 belt 40 reviews from all over the USA.I loved the hotel itself.It was very well maintained,great friendly staff and easy to find.The only thing I can tell you is if you stay there eat someplace else.If you want to tick off the fat man then give him cafeteria food.This gruel they served at last nights banquet was shrimp,over rice topped with a slab of boiled chicken and some banana custard.The string beans were tasteless.The roll tasted like cardboard or perhaps old bathroom sponge.Had this fat man served this to my guests I would have hung my head in shame as a certified eatist.
So now why do I give the overall rating as poor.For me who in the Army slept on dirt in snow and in rain always was treated by good old US Army chow.So no matter how bad my digs were the treat was a good hot meal.Most of you time will be spent at the beach not in your room so if you are going to eat here be prepared for a dismal experience.
I ate the breakfast buffet.The sliced ham had the look of floor tiles.The home fries looked like white dice with no flavor.Potatoes are such an easy vegetable to flavor.I will be glad to show the Chef how to do this.The SOS as we call it was served over biscuits not toast,the bacon was greasy,.The sausage was greasy.Had they split the sausage and grilled it what a 1000% difference in flavor.The The coffee had little in the way of coffee taste and the Hotel will charge you $3.00 a cup
We had a chicken dinner.The fried chicken was greasy and flavorless..
While whomever at the hotel reads this will disagree that this fat man knows his food.But the fat man is seldom wrong when it comes to his taste buds and a good square meal.If the food was as good as the hotel end of this place is run Zagat would be trying to make reservations there himself.But the truth is the management needs to get in some new talent into that kitchen.The staff was wonderful helpful and always smiling.The room was clean and well appointed.But if I come back i will not be eating here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience this past Saturday night. The grilled chicken and shrimp entrée, accented with banana curry sauce was indeed an adventurous selection. However, the dish received many rave reviews Saturday night. We served over 600 guests that night! During our post convention meeting with your group’s leadership, we received the same positive reviews. In fact, our Executive Chef received an ovation at the meeting, as well. The consensus feedback was that this year’s convention and banquets were the best ever and plans are currently being made for next year. Perhaps, you could make your culinary opinions known to your club leadership so that they could be factored in to the menu selection process for next year.

I apologize that you were not satisfied with the menu selection, but I was glad to read that you were happy with our staff. We look forward to serving your hospitality needs in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've stayed here three times and we're planning on going back again this summer. Why? Lots of reasons. The suites are plenty spacious (big comfy beds!) and have a full kitchen. The location is ideal, right on the beach but away from the craziness of the boardwalk ... and across the street from Lombardi's Pizza and Blue Fish sushi bar (two of our faves). The friendly staff puts extra effort into maintaining the property. And the indoor pool is large and refreshing. Book in advance thru their website and you can generally find a good discount. Look, anything can go wrong at any hotel at any time and ruin a family's vacation. But we like and trust this place and I can recommend it with confidence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Mu husband and I stayed here and celebrated ringing in 2012 with the Atrium Stars party. The party itself was a lot of fun. The food was average. Hors Duerves were all gone by the time we got to them. The open bar is great and the atmosphere was fun. Our actual room was fait to average. The living room area is really showing it's age and is in need of improvements. I give this hotel a "Very Good" because the party was so great, but if I was writing a review based strictly on the hotel, I would say it's average. We may or may not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Hotel
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland
Princess Royale
Princess Royale Ocean City
Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.