We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luggage carts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Save Saved
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Nothing better than FREE!
Ranked #6 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
central pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luggage carts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We love coming here in the fall, but some things have changed since our last visit. Hate the fact that they didnt have luggage carts for the people who want to get their own things to and from their rooms! Had to pay a bellman if you wanted a cart, ridiculas!! They used to have them around the lobby and elevators, now they keep them behind closed doors i guess! Some people like to do things themselves, like us!! This is a great service for some people but we felt like we were being forced to pay or suffer!! The room was nice and clean but we had pounding on our wall the first two mornings before 8 a.m., unsure what that was all about. All in all things were ok, but not great like our last visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. Guest satisfaction is our utmost concern and I regret that we did not exceed your expectations.

With regard to the luggage carts, you do not have to “pay” anyone to assist you. Our bell service is complimentary. The reason that luggage carts are not utilized without the assistance of one of our staff is that carts are often left throughout hallways causing two issues; the carts are not available for the next guest to utilize and they are left to clutter the hallways creating obstructions and even fire hazards when left at exit doors. Therefore, our cart policy, which has been effect for many years, is the interest of guest service and safety.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for making us aware of your concern and I hope that you will allow us to once again serve your hospitality needs.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    797
    458
    138
    67
    111
See reviews for
744
375
20
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Excellent !!!!! The staff was very nice and accomadating. The view of the Ocean was exquisite. For a peaceful stay I would highly recommend the Princess Royale. Parking was easy, the amenities are plentiful, and the service was outstanding.

Room Tip: Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was one of the nicest places I stayed in a long time. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great service. Beautiful views. Comfortable rooms. Great food, entertainment etc...in the heart of everything. The Christmas season is when we went. Very festive. Go one go all. On the top of my list of places to stay. Price absolutely very fair.

Room Tip: Pick an oceanfront room or a room by the pool if you have small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had another great off season getaway. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We were upgraded to a 8th floor oceanfront condo and it was such a wonderful surprise. The room was spacious and clean. The first night we stayed was kind of noisy, but that was because of a convention being held. Once the convention was over, we pretty much had the 8th floor all to ours selves. The condo had more than enough room for a family of four. We had one issue where there may have been renovations going on at 9:30 at night, but a quick call to the front desk and it was resolved within minutes. It was a pleasant and relaxing stay. Thank you for making our stay pleasurable. See you in the summer!

Room Tip: Ocean front room are beautiful! The higher the better! Floors 6-10 I believe are the condo floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were very impressed from the front desk service to the hotel room. We had a two bedroom condo. It was very clean, and the beds were great. Kathie at the front desk was extremely nice, and very helpful. Overall the entire hotel was very clean, and the employees were all very nice. We are definitley making this our yearly summer and winter vacation hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDDLE RIVER
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very large, clean and comfortable place. The Thanksgiving special prices were really great- we had a beautiful oceanfront, a sitting area and fully equipped kitchenette. I don't know how reasonable summer prices are, but for off season, it was a lot of bang for the buck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Was extremely pleased with the pleasant reception I received during check in and out. Room was clean, absolutely loved having a King Sized bed, loved having coffee in room,definitely will return. Only downfall was restaurant wasn't opened for late night drink or breakfast the next day. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.