We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice fall escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Royale Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Princess Royale Resort to your Saves list
Princess Royale Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off July&August Condo
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice fall escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel has nice amenities. We were upgraded upon our arrival to oceanfront (from oceanside) view. Staff was friendly. My only complaint was the mattress - it was hard and uncomfortable - I was expecting a Sheraton like mattress - this is a pricey place - mattresses should be like heaven - in my option anyway.

I would def recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    506
    154
    73
    117
See reviews for
819
434
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellefonte, PA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I and some family members stayed at the Princess Royale in a 3 bedroom condo from October 10-14th. We had stayed at the Princess Royale several other times and decided that it was the perfect place for our wedding. We wanted something simple but beautiful. Our room was absolutely wonderful. The living room, one bedroom and the master bedroom all had beautiful views of the ocean. The third bedroom had bunkbeds which the kids just loved. The suite had a full kitchen and seperate dining room which made our stay much easier. The beds are absolutely wonderful. The master bedroom was amazing. It had a king size bed, jacuzzi tub and looked like it's own little apartment which made the kids really jealous. It was a little chilly the day of the wedding and with some family members having health issue's that made it hard for them to walk to the beach. We decided to just have the ceremony performed on the balcony. The background of our wedding photos is amazing. After the ceremony we went down to the beach and had several photos taken. The staff was wonderful and very accomodating in any special needs we had. We will definately be returning and look forward to celebrating our first anniversary at the Princess Royale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, MD
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Enjoyed two days at the Princess Royal. Everything was excellent. Room, View, Food, Service.

We stayed in a room facing the indoor pool, fifth floor. You have a view of the ocean from this level.

Ate at the buffet. Prime rib was excellent. Not a lot of choices on the buffet though.

Room Tip: We enjoy staying in the rooms that face the indoor pool. You still have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I go to Ocean City at least once a year. Last year we stayed for a weekend for a get away for our anniversary. We did enjoy our room but we happened to be there the same weekend as a Mason's event we struggled to find parking and it was difficult to navigate the hotel. This year, having learned a lesson, we asked about the conventions going on. We decided to take our two year old daughter and knew that traveling with a toddler can prove to be difficult at times. When I called to verify about the conventions I was told there were 2 one was so small I was told I would barely notice they were there. When we arrived there was plenty of parking and check in was very smooth, we thought we had hit a home run. The next day (friday)we left after lunch and came back to find the hotel extremely busy. We barely found parking and later found out the hotel has holding four different conventions. Sadly our family will be moving on from this hotel. We scoured ocean city for other hotels while we were there and discovered several that had better parking and seemed less chaotic. I just wish they would have been honest so we could have booked for a less busy weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are in receipt of your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel an would like to take this opportunity to respond. First, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you felt that you may have encountered. Guest satisfaction is our utmost concern and I regret we did not exceed your every expectation.

As we are a convention hotel with 30,000 square feet of meeting, banquet and exhibit space, we are fortunate to be busy on weekends in the off-season with groups. In fact, there are three (3) Sales Managers on staff whose main responsibility is to books groups and conventions. Additionally, it has become a very common trend, not just at the Princess Royale but throughout the travel industry, that both group and individual reservations are being made more and more last minute.

While many large groups do book in advance, more groups are tending to book last minute. Accordingly, I am sure no one "lied" to you in telling you at the time of your call that only 2 groups were booked during the dates of your stay and most likely what happened is simply that 2 more groups booked after your reservation was made. Please note that if I was provided with your name and date of your stay, I could easily advise you exactly when the other 2 groups were booked. The staff would have no reason to advise you that only two groups were in house if there were four.

However, and with all due respect, on the weekend of your review our hotel was at 62% occupancy meaning that almost 40% of the parking spaces were available. Accordingly, there was plenty of parking available in both garages.

Should you decide to book with us in the future and desire that the hotel have few other guests during your stay, I would suggest that you book not only later in the season but also plan to arrive on a Sunday and depart on a Thursday; keeping in mind that does not apply to holiday and special event weeks as well as the fact that we still have MANY groups midweek certain times. I encourage you to book directly with me personally and I will be happy to not only ensure that there are no groups in the hotel at the time of your reservation but also flag your reservation so that I am alerted to contact you should we receive another last minute booking for your dates so that you can change your plans if desired.

We greatly appreciate your patronage and trust this response addresses your concerns. Thank you for your comments and we very much hope to see you on your next visit to Ocean City.

Sincerely,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed at the princess royale many times and never been disappointed. Close enough to the boardwalk but not too close. The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable. The pool is nice in case you dont get optimal weather. The suites are spacious and always clean. we recommend this hotel without reservation..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Warm weather for October. Great stay! Rooms were worn but clean. Staff was exceptional. Had an air conditioning problem, called down and it was fixed within 20 minutes. A. Perfect stay for a 3 star hotel & price. Not fond of the Cabana rooms, pool side but didn't warrant a change of rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My sister & I needed a break from recent life stresses. As a returning and frequent visitor to Princess Royale, we stayed at PR - OF hotel. Renovation beautiful, room spacious, quiet and clean. Entire staff respond quickly and efficiently. The pool was clean. Restaurant: staff - very friendly and attentive. Food & prices great. Love location of Princess Royale, because of proximity to Outlets and surrounding conveniences. Back in 2013.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise and ask Front Desk specifying physical limitations i.e. walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Royale Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.