We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Hotel!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Place Hotel
207 North Atlantic Avenue, Between 2nd & 3rd Streets, Ocean City, MD 21843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Hotel!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Conveniently located on the boardwalk, close to shops and restaurants. Newly updated rooms on the Oceanside (we were told that bayside rooms will be updated winter 2013). Highly recommended for families with small children!

Good value for the money...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for recommending us as a Family Friendly Hotel. We strive to accommodate all our families and make their stays as comfortable as possible. We remember what it was like to take family vacations and how those memories last a life time. Thank you again and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    112
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
146
91
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family and at best, this is an average hotel, definitely not what you expect in this price range. We travel all the time and are used to getting wi-fi in most places. This hotel advertises free wi-fi but we were on the fourth floor and could barely access the wi-fi in our room.Actually, we had to leave the room each time we wanted to use wi-fi. Staff appeared indifferent to this concern. We paid extra to get an oceanfront room and the view was nice. However, at night, it was difficult to sleep because of the noise of the AC unit as well as the noise coming from the boardwalk beneath our room.
We would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your input. We will look into your comments concerning the WiFi but I must say that most people don't have your problem, even those business persons who come on vacation with their families and need to keep in touch with work. As far as the noise, we built the Park Place specifically to keep the noise levels down both from the Boardwalk as well as between rooms and I am sure, being a well seasoned traveler you know that some noise is inevitable especially during peak season in a beach resort town. Thanks again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Park Place Hotel. The place was clean and the staff was very helpful. Of particular note was the woman who I assume was the daytime manager at the check-in counter.
We will return to Park Place next year.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean otherwise you will be facing the parking lot--and possibly the garbage d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about Park Place Hotel. We know how valuable your time is and we appreciate your kind review and for choosing Ocean City, Md. and our hotel as your vacation spot. We are very proud of how our employees interact with our guests so thank you mentioning that specifically. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My son and I stayed here for a few days at the end of July....Sun. - Wed. This was our 5th time here. Rooms were clean, perfect location right on the boardwalk, pool and pool area were very clean, on site restaurant was very convenient and we had a great time as usual!! : ) Unfortunately, EVERYONE (hotel staff that is) that we came in contact with was lacking a smile....EVERYONE!!! Even the front desk staff! We even came in contact with housekeeping staff talking negatively in the hallway! Now, don't get me wrong....the front desk staff was very professional......but there were no friendly smiles. So sad..... that was my only downfall to our stay. My son even commented that no one seemed happy at the Park Place!!...I will go on to say that it "all starts at the top" and a happy staff is proof of good management. Well, no one seemed happy. We will be back, though as it really is a great place! Oh, and by the way, the beds were sooooooo comfortable!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We at Park Place strive to make all our guests comfortable and feel welcome and if for any reason you did not then we wholeheartedly apologize. A great majority of our reviews emphasize our friendliness and it saddens me that you did not feel that from us. I hope that when you do stay with us again that you feel our hospitality more acutely, as our other guests have for years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have stayed here for years. Always clean, always quiet (from the inside anyway.) Staff is professional, perfect location on the boardwalk. NO hassles ever. Owner's name is Carol, she will make sure your stay is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words but believe me I could not do this alone. We have a great staff here at Park Place and I am very proud of them all. We try to make all our guests stays as pleasant as possible and we greatly appreciate your thanks. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Park Place. The hotel itself is in a perfect location on the boardwalk. The rooms are clean, the pool is nice and the employees are very helpful. We arrived early and told the front desk, they took our cell phone number and gave us a parking pass and had our room cleaned in less than an hour so we could get right into our room. We also called to the front desk for extra pillows and coffee and had it within 5 minutes. An employee was constantly cleaning the hallways and even helped us get our luggage into our room. I would highly recommend this hotel, very accommodating in every way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review of Park Place. Our location is very central to all the fun of the Boardwalk and I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We try very hard to please our guests and cleanliness and the friendliness of our staff is paramount in accomplishing that goal. I am also glad we could get you into your room as quickly as we did, we try to accommodate early arrivals whenever possible though on busier days it may take a bit longer. Thank you again for writing about Park Place and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is right on the boardwalk in an excellent location, it is just at the beginning of the busy section of cafes, shops and amusements but not so near as to be too noisy. We asked for a room on the 5th floor following previous reviewers advice and yes you could hear some noise from the bar but nothing too bad at all. In fact the bar was quite quiet at night and we went to bed no later than 11 any night. The room had 2 double beds and a sofa bed so we fitted 5 of us (3 kids) comfortably, the balcony allowed the adults somewhere to sit and watch the beach and boardwalk and fireworks one night while the kids slept or chilled out. The staff are very friendly although we didn't see them much as you exit the hotel for the shops and boardwalk on a different level to the reception. we had breakfast in the hotel cafe one morning whichyou can access from the hotel or the boardwalk, Conners. Nice breakfast, similar to the other ones we had further up. A quiet cafe as they stop the breakfast early, at 11, to prepare for lunch service. The staff were really friendly and helpful, food fine. The pool has little shade during the day so go early. Its small but pleasant. Going out the main entrance there is a small supermarket one block away called OC Dollar store which has basic groceries, drinks and beer. 3 mins walk. You can see it from the pool. We would certainly go back to Ocean City adn to the Park Place. We had ocean view and it really made our stay!

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floor ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your great and thorough review. It seems you covered all the bases and had a great time and that is what we hope for all our guests. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the states and thank you again for taking the time to write about Park Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 207 North Atlantic Avenue, Between 2nd & 3rd Streets, Ocean City, MD 21843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel on the Boardwalk. All rooms are efficiencies with a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Oceanfront rooms were redecorated in 2013 and Bay View rooms in 2014. Amenities include private balcony, in-room safe, duvets, hair dryer, flat screen TV, HBO, Disney, heated outdoor pool, free wireless internet access, Conner's Beach Cafe and Sail Loft Deck Bar. Hotel is close to amusements, water sports, boardwalk restaurants and night spots. All parking is on site. Disabled access. Golf Packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Place Ocean City
Hotel Park Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list