We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Place Hotel
Save
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list
207 North Atlantic Avenue, Between 2nd & 3rd Streets, Ocean City, MD 21843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cumberland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I try to visit Ocean City in September every year. We actually booked at another hotel but after reading an article in the Maryland Magazine, I cancelled our reservation and booked Park Place. No regrets for doing this. The entire staff was very friendly, our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Our room had a bay/pool view and I have never stayed at a hotel where they kept the pool area so clean. We love being so close to the Boardwalk Activity (which is much less crowded at this time of the year). Enjoyed that the outside bar was open in the evening and the "bonus outside area" to sit with a cup of coffee and read was much appreciated. This hotel is very close to some very good restaurants and I loved visiting the Park Place Jewelry Store on the lower level. Park Place is our "new" favorite Hotel in Ocean City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    126
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
168
103
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I and our 7 month old recently stayed here. The location was excellent! They let us check in early and the room was older but clean. The carpet and comforter appeared new and the kitchenette was a great benefit when traveling with a small child. The bathroom was clean and featured bath and body works products. Overall, we loved the hotel and would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you want to stay on the boardwalk, this is a great place to stay. We were here in 2004 - loved it then and loved it again this year. It's an older motel, but well maintained. A complimentary breakfast is not included but there is a restaurant on site. The hotel is privately owned and you have a choice of ocean front rooms or bayside rooms (ocean front are more expensive). Our room was clean and smelled good. The rooms are quite large with a small kitchenette (microwave, small fridge, coffeemaker, cupboards, sink). There was a small work table as well as a loveseat and coffeetable in the room. Comfortable beds. Our room had a balcony with 2 chairs. The bathroom was clean and decent sized - easy to move around in and the shower has good water pressure.

Room Tip: Even though the ocean view rooms are more expensive, the view of the ocean and sound of the waves ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My famliy and I came to oc for the day on a saturday on delmarva bike week . We made it to 2st and got in a car accident and our car was undriveable with no place to stay they helped us get a room and they left us stay past the check out time while we was trying to get a rental car. The staff was very nice and helpful the rooms where nice and clean. I will try to book a room there every time i come to oc im now a customer for life thank you to all the staff at the park place hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at park Place this Labor Day weekend when our normal places were sold out. We never stay on this end of town so it was adventure for us...sorry to say we will not be back to Park Place. The area is overcrowded, overrated, and under sanitary!

Pros: If you enjoy being in the heart of the most congested area of the boards - this is a charm. Arrived at 10am on Sat. room was available by 11am. Inside of the room was clean, and was cleaned timely and well daily. Heard compliants from others that the elevator was slow but we really didnt have that expereince. Front desk clerk that checked us in was very nice and professional. Bed was comfortable, pillows seemed new. Always had plenty of towells.

Cons: You're in the heart of the most congested area on the boards. Pool is located on 2nd floor and is filthy. Our room was on the 5th floor directly over it and i never saw a poolman actually clean the pool or ANY of the chairs or tables on the pool deck. (see pix) We spent time waiting there while our room was being prepared Sat and everything was dirty. Bartend on the 2nd floor is rude and there was an incident where the wait staff even told us that she was rude and that they had complained to the manager about her but nothing had been done. Apparently you cannt buy two drinks with one ID - if your black. Because our 'pool nieghbor', who was white, managed to do it just fine. She was more pissed than my husband which is a fete. Really not a problem crossing it off my list of places to eat considering the place was gross - chairs and tables look as if they've never seen a wet, soapy, cloth.

More cons: The balcony was dirty. Its never swept and the plastic chairs are never wiped down. No irons in the rooms. (?!?) Visited the front desk to ask where the iron may be hiding and the clerk told me she could have one 'delivered'. And she sd this straight faced like it was the most reasonable thing. NOT. Especially NOT at $220 a night. The housekeeping staff ride the same elevator as guest and dont feel obligated to speak. Good morning, good night, drop dead, "yea, i'm on here with a huge bin of towells and now as a paying you have to wait" - nothing. Not one housekeeping person spoke to us our entire stay.

A con that i dont think the hotel is solely responsible for - This area of beach in front of the hotel is trashy. I know this probably because its so congested and busy but, they may want to invest some energy in cleaning up the area of beach. Its gross.

Overall, we will not be staying here again. Even if it was the last place in town - which it was this time. Too bad, because i enjoyed the Dough Roller next to the hotel...

Room Tip: Stay some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good location close to everything but poorly cleaned and maintained. The room had a horrible smell and was dirty. The AC barely worked and It was kind of weird to sit on your balcony and watch people eat. When asking the staff for extra blankets it seemed to be a problem and they had an attitude. Will not be returning:(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Ocean City for over 20 years, since he is from the area. Unless you are willing to spend a fortune the hotels on the boardwalk are not even 3 star quality, especially by the end of the summer season. But we love Ocean City anyway - the beach, boardwalk, weather and Thrasher's fries - and my rating of 5 stars is in comparison to other hotels we have stayed at in Ocean City.

On the plus side side, the location is excellent, near many attractions on the boardwalk. We stayed in Oceanfront so we could people watch from our balcony. The parking situation was also excellent, it can be a problem at many of the other hotels. There were plenty of parking spots at the hotel, we did not have to park blocks away. The staff was also very pleasant. There were no noise issues during our stay.

On the minus side, the room appeared to be clean but our socks were filthy and the tiled floor felt sticky. The linen was fine, though they had comforters on the bed which I just removed. There was a problem with our balcony door not locking but they quickly fixed it. The elevators were really slow as others have mentioned.

But overall we had a great stay and would definitely stay here again for the location and parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 207 North Atlantic Avenue, Between 2nd & 3rd Streets, Ocean City, MD 21843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel on the Boardwalk. All rooms are efficiencies with a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Oceanfront rooms were redecorated in 2013 and Bay View rooms in 2014. Amenities include private balcony, in-room safe, duvets, hair dryer, flat screen TV, HBO, Disney, heated outdoor pool, free wi-fi, Conner's Beach Cafe and Deck Bar. Hotel is close to amusements, water sports, boardwalk restaurants and night spots. All parking is on site. Disabled access. Golf Packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Place Ocean City
Hotel Park Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.