We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfied!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Bay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6007 Coastal Highway, 61st Street & Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Havertown
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Every year we spend time in Ocean City, MD to be with our grandchildren while they are on vacation. This year we chose Sea Bay Hotel because it was located close to where they stay with their Mom & Dad. My husband & I both thought the location was ideal for many reasons! The hotel itself was really nice...not top notch, but very clean and comfortable. Staff was more than accommodating! They also have a cafe available for breakfast and lunch! The private balconies are great and so it the parking! We will definitely stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in the east building, but if you want a view of the bay you would prefer the west building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    111
    45
    19
    11
See reviews for
79
80
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nothing stands out about this place but nothing detracting to say. The rooms are nice sized, clean and the staff was friendly. In a good location. Located right off the highway just as you enter Ocean City which was very nice. Just a short ride down to the boardwalk. Easy walk to several nice restaurants. Not a top of the line place but will meet the average families needs for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed for the busiest weekend of the season--White Marlin weekend. Our room was quite comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were attending a wedding in Ocean Pines so the location near the 60th Street bridge was ideal. We used the pool as well as walking one block to the beach. Dead Freddies is within walking distance as is Fager's Island. It's not a grand hotel but I would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I love what you all have done with the coffee! I have stayed here numerous times and was always pleased. This was a getaway with my teenage son, his friend and my spouse and I. I was disappointed in the sleep sofa, my son is 6'1 and it was at a slant, you could see that it was worn before even sitting on it. The staff are the best and the hotel is clean. Time for a new sofa though!!!!

Stephanie J

Room Tip: Good place for couples! First floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I would rate this hotel adequate, friendly and clean. Typical Ocean City type of older low-rise. Our building had 5 floors. Staff was great. Top floor has no shade for the balconies so it can get quite hot. Sliding door and drapes were not easy to slide. Bed was comfortable. Great water pressure in the shower. Not much of a view from either side of the building.

Very convenient because the intersection of Route 90 and the Coastal Highway are within a block. Shuttle Bus (worth the $3 Daily Fee) was right out front. The restaurant had good food and the entire staff was attentive (their home fries leave a lot to be desired, however).

Forego Fager's Island which is a separate long-established restaurant out the back side of the hotel -- they won't seat vacationers wearing tank tops or sleeveless shirts in their Fine Dining area. Head, instead, to Dead Freddie's -- due North about a block from the hotel, on the same side of the street on Coastal Highway -- great décor and service.

Room Tip: Do not choose the top floor because there's no overhang for shade. If you book two rooms and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hands down the worst Wifi I've ever had at a hotel. Hotel staff was not able to provide any help. They said it was working fine for them. Several other co-travellers at the hotel had the same issue, so I know it wasn't just me.

Rooms were fine, location good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and let me explain what was going on with our WIFI. When the demand on our WIFI system did peak during heavy load times, we did experience some WIFI weakness for the additional users. We upgraded our WIFI system recently and we are one of two hotel properties in Ocean City, MD that has a fiber optic connection to our hotel network. That upgrade did have some kinks initially that did cause some problems but they have now been resolved and we now have one of the best WIFI systems in Ocean City. I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced while you were here. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you.
Jim
Sea Bay Hotel
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just ended our third vacation staying here. Will be back again third week in August. After first time, July, 2013, we told our friends and they came and stayed in the room next to us our second stay, August 2013. This stay my wife's sister and fiancée stayed in the next room to us. Each time the help, from Shelly the manager to the maids and security were all wonderful. Pool was always clean; parking lots and building always monitored; anytime we approached a door and an employee was present they opened and held it with a smile and have a good day response. The café was a plus, great service and food. Last July on our first visit my wife mentioned her bad back and Shelly made sure we had a new mattress. Last August for our Anniversary Shelly surprised us with 4 small bottles of Champaign for us and our friends to celebrate. This stay was flawless!! I came back refreshed and had the best first day back to work I've ever had!! Thanks Shelly and all the Staff!! Look forward to August!! PS prices were very reasonable for all we got! Bill and Camille PA

Room Tip: Back building has great Bay views and its own pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Bill & Camille
Thank you again for staying with us and for your kind words. We are so proud of our staff and the excellent service they provide. Shelley is a primary component to that customer service and thank you for mentioning her name. I get to meet a lot of our guests during the course of a summer, but unfortunately miss meeting so many of our repeat guests like yourself. I do look at all of our guest reviews because that at least tells me how we are doing and how we are treating our guests. We do stumble from time to time during the summer season, but thank goodness most of our guests have a great experience like yourselves. I hope to meet you both very soon.
Jim
Sea Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Bay Hotel

Address: 6007 Coastal Highway, 61st Street & Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Bay Hotel is cconveniently located in mid town Ocean City on the bayside. Two buildings make up the Hotel property complex. Some rooms are located directly on the bay. All rooms have balconies, tv, mini refrig, microwave,coffee maker, iron/ironing board, and hair dryer. There is plenty of parking, and additional public parking is permitted on 60th and 61st Streets adjacent to the Hotel. The property has two outdoor pools. The Sea Bay Cafe is located in the Main Building and is open daily from 6AM to 2PM serving breakfast and lunch. The beach is a short walk about 500 ft. Many restuarants and shops located within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Bay Ocean City
Hotel Sea Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.