We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice on the boardwalk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Inn on the Ocean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Inn on the Ocean
1001 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“Best choice on the boardwalk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. The inn is beautiful, right on the beach. The innkeepers are wonderful and friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast was deliciously filling. We will definitely be back as soon as my husbands schedule allows.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonoc, Owner at An Inn on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We agree that the Inn on the Ocean is the "Best Choice On the Boardwalk." As Maryland's only Oceanfront Bed & Breakfast, we try to accommodate all special dietary needs. We do our best to provide Gluten free options, Vegetarian entrees, Lactose free and even those who are just picky about what they eat. Thank you for the 5 star review. Please come and see us again, we enjoyed having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed two nights over Veteran’s Day weekend 2013. The Inn is very attractive, inside and out. It is located directly on the boardwalk just off the beach. Easy walking to everything. Free bicycles. The hosts were especially attentive to our needs with suggestions for dinner and lots of local lore. The meals were wonderful – freshly prepared and very tasty. The room we had, The Veranda, was well appointed with a private bath with Jacuzzi. We are experienced B&Bers and are already planning a return trip to this exceptional property.

Room Tip: The Veranda is on the ground floor with a private entrance to the porch which fronts the boardwalk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is the only one of its kind, situated on the boardwalk of Ocean City. The staff was highly accommodating especially in regards to food allergies. The top floor suite was clean and spacious and the private balcony was a nice touch. The inn itself is stationed far enough away from attractions, so it's pretty quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruchmuehlbach-Miesau, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Inn on the Ocean was quaint and the breakfasts were phenomenal! Tea/coffee/water available all day with cookie/candy treats at night.
The location and view were unparalleled: great location along the boardwalk (near shops, but quiet enough to relax). It was great to have beach equipment at our disposal (towels, umbrellas, chairs). Bicycles were also available, but we enjoyed walks in the sand instead. ;-)
Hunt room had a beautiful side view of the ocean. Bathroom and shower stall were a little small, but adequate. Window-unit air conditioning made room pleasantly cool. Rooms were made up for the day while we had breakfast which was very convenient and much appreciated.
Cable TV and VHS movies were available. Community, full-sized refrigerator was useful for storing adult beverages. Glasses and bottle openers were provided.
Parking was conveniently on-site. Spots were a little tight, but our compact car fit just fine.
Visited during Labor Day weekend…not too crowded and certainly family-friendly. We arrived very late (after midnight), but were welcomed and still shown all common and private accommodations.
Would most definitely stay again…would likely reserve larger room with private balcony and bathtub next time. I’m also looking forward to recreating some of Vickie’s wonderful meals from her cookbook.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here in Early August recently. We were warmly welcomed by Vicki and shown to our room. The room was a little small but Nice. I think they need to do a little renovated to the Canopy room,maybe new wall paper,kind of water stained.but a good size bathroom. The price of the room a night is a little high. Does include Breakfast from 9am -10am. Was a great hot breakfast. they have free bikes and are centrally located and you have a private porch. We loved the cookies set out for everyone in the evening. Vicki also gave us bug spray for Assateague Island. Got Great shots of the horses..I highly recommend renting a canoe and go find the horses and see them privately and get amazing shots.
We had a good stay at the Inn..thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonoc, Owner at An Inn on the Ocean, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide a few extra amenities. We also appreciate your comment regarding the Canopy Room and have just completed painting the bathroom, a great color called "Rainwash". You are right, it really needed to be refreshed. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Charlie and I, hope that you visit again soon so that you may see what you inspired.

Charlie and Vicki
Innkeepers at Inn on the Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I noticed the ranking as #4 best B&B. This is RIDICULOUS. There is no other B&B on the ocean front and none that could compare. This was our 8th year of staying at the Inn and there is no other choice. Vicki & Charlie couldn't be better hosts and we see many of the same people during our trips there each summer. Now that says a lot right there. Rooms are excellent, breakfast outstanding and all the beach equipment and towels you would need. We tend to use the bicycles each morning as well. You will not be disappointed sitting on the porch watching people go by on the heart of the board walk. You are so close to the board walk it's connected right to the inns front patio. The ocean is 300' away.

This B&B has become our summer vacation home for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just spent our 6th visit at thgis B&B. The owners, Charlie and Vickie, were as delightful as ever and the hot breakfasts were scrumptious ! The location is superb and the view from the front porch is over-the-top. Would recommend this very highly to any serious B&B lovers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to An Inn on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn on the Ocean

Address: 1001 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Inn on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added An Inn on the Ocean to your Saves list