We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Seafood Buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phillips Seafood House

Phillips Seafood House
14101 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
800-799-2722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 384 Restaurants in Ocean City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Description: The Phillips family opened their first seafood restaurant in Ocean City, MD in 1956. Phillips Seafood House is located "up the beach" on 141st Street, and features an all-you-can-eat seafood buffet with over 75 items, a traditional a la carte menu, and a carry-out counter for dining on the go.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Seafood Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

On April 19th my husband and I went to Phillips as we enjoy seafood. In case you did not know, Phillips has a EARLY BIRD BUFFET that is cheaper. Regular price is $29.99. Early Bird price 4-5pm is $26.99 per person. They have a large varitey of seafood, Alaskan crab legs, crab cakes, imperial crab, mahi mahi, salmon, flounder, shark, oysters, shrimp, muscles, and other types of fish. The menus also has tukey, ham, meatloaf and more. All kinds of salad pickins and dressing. Soups and a dessert bar with soft ice cream, cakes, strawberries, cookies and toppings. The blackened mahi mahi, parmesian crusted flounder and dill salmon were delicious.Crab cakes were a little dry for me. Strawberrreis were huge and sweet. Service was good and the place is nice. Seafood in Maryland is expensive. Honestly, you are better off with the buffet particularly with the sizes and amount of the food that is served.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    65
    53
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I are huge seafood eaters, and the food here was GROSS! Super dry and overcooked, and barely warm. You definately get a lot of food, but for what we paid I would have rather gone elsewhere and had a good meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food, expensive though...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If everyone in your family loves seafood, then Phillip's buffet is a great choice. At 28 to 30 dollars per person, it can be a pricey evening though. They also have an a la carte restaurant, but the prices there are high as well. Get there around 5:00 in the busy season if you don't want to wait quite a while for a table.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Food was over-cooked and scarce. Service was poor and experience was over-priced. Second consecutive bad experience. It used to be a great place to eat. I'll never go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An Ocean City Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've been enjoying Phillips seafood for 35 years. The fish sandwich during this visit was quite delicious as were the fries. This item was very inexpensive but then I ordered a mudslide. I must say it was one on the best I have ever had but it cost more than my meal!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Phillips Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillips Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.