We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pancakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Layton's Family Restaurant

Layton's Family Restaurant
1601 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
(410) 289-6635
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 386 Restaurants in Ocean City
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were surprised by how fast the food came out. Great pancakes & omelets. Kids breakfast meals are HUGE, five silver dollar pancakes with choice of bacon or sausage. Seriously, my two kids could have just shared one meal. Waitress was friendly and kept our coffee cups filled. We enjoyed our breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    61
    26
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We enjoyed our to-go goodies and the super nice people who work here. We didn't have time to eat in this time, but the variety of doughnuts was soooo tempting...there is a new bacon topped doughnut that looked fun!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I knew I could count on Layton's for delicious breakfast pastries for the kids and friendly, quick service from the staff for me. Thank you for saving the day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Service was Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We very much enjoyed our visit to Layton’s, the service was great and the food was superb. We were in Ocean City pretty early in the season, (last week of March) and usually it would be ok, but this year (2014) it was cold, we had just had snow and then it rained on the weekend. Anyway, not much was available so we would drive around looking for restaurants that were open.

We were promptly seated and it seemed like somewhere in our conversation I understood that our waitress was the owner’s wife or the owner. She was so nice and boxed up what we couldn’t eat and made sure we had clean utensils, butter, and syrup and didn’t charge us for the donuts we wanted to try since that is what they are known for, she said "they didn’t feel fresh". We loved it so much we went back the next day. The waitress was different but the food and the service were just as good, we were glad we stopped in, instead of just heading on home and stopping somewhere along the way.

I think it was reasonable for a tourist sea side city; for two people, first day there, our breakfast was $35.18, ham & cheese omelet, pancakes, sausage, scrapple and cheese omelet, juice, sticky bun and 2 coffees. Second day: breakfast bowl, 2 coffees, French toast, pancakes and eggs with sausage and juice total: $28.90. We only had breakfast there so I can’t tell you about the rest of the menu but breakfast is wonderful, don’t hesitate!...parking on street and in back, we appreciated on street parking so we could keep an eye on the dogs in the car...cool décor as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Since it was the off season there were very few restaurants open for breakfast. The hotel recommended this place and all four of us had very good meals. The service was prompt and the food was very good. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Layton's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Layton's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layton's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.