We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must read!!! this place is horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Lagoon Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Parrot Lagoon Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parrot Lagoon Miami Beach
301 2nd street, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“must read!!! this place is horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

They seem to be really nice but watch out! when you first get there, they give you a paper to fill out with damages, make sure you inspect the house from floor to ceiling! we stayed here (parrot bay on 5th street, 2nd floor) and didnt get the deposit back (300.00) due to a TV CABLE not being pulled in - and we didnt even use the tv! they did follow with what they said about checking wrist bands, but once you made friends with the "guard" it was alright. the room we stayed in was nice, however i suggest you bring your own bedding x2. the sheets in BOTH double beds in our apartment had blood on them....can we say nasty?! and yes, i was a senior week renter, but our neighbors weren't - infact they lived there year round with a 3yr old daughter that they smoked weed in front of! they complained alot about noise too. One night, id say around 6 oour toilet got clogged and over flowed (do to puke) and they told us it wasnt their problem until the 11am the following morning. how nasty?! finally, We were late to return the key by literally 2 minutes, and they threatened to take out deposite money away. 2 minutes, really?! over all i will NEVER rent fro them again. the apartment appers to be nice, but it is FAR from it. never do it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    5
    6
    22
See reviews for
14
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

i was there last year at the margarita ville condo i think u call it, itsnt there anymore in parrot lagooon website anymore, but let me tell u , wasnt wow but worth it, was very cheap, we enjoyed, we cooked, slept, relax, i think was good enough, now im looking to go there again, but im scared after all this comment, i dont want to have bad luck,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I usually read reviews prior to booking. I made a mistake of not doing this before booking with parrot lagoon. We got there at 11am and tried to check-in (most hotels will allow you to do this if the room is ready),but we're told that we need to come back at 3pm. They gave us a room number and a parking permit. So far,so good....until 3pm. From the outside,the place did not look too good. I also did not expect to walk the two blocks and cross two streets to get to the boardwalk. I opened the door to the room....and SURPRISE!!!!!!!!!! There was a family sleeping in the room!!!!!!! It was the correct room and the lady told me that they have the room for the next three weeks. I pity them! Now, this is our blessing in disguise. The mix up with the booking landed us with no room since they only have a very small room which would not fit two adults and two kids. The positive part? I got refunded for my two day payment. I booked this hotel 8 days in advance. What security can you expect if they cannot track of what room is occupied and what is not? Can anybody just have the key in your room? I will never ever book in this hotel ever again!!!!! I cannot say for their cleanliness because I did not get to see the inside the room, but if the couch in the office is any indication of the condition of their rooms...I would say bring your own vaccum and sheets if you still dare to stay here! To end on a positive note, the staff was friendly enough. We got a room at a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I rented the very small room for me my husband and my toddler. it was very small just as described and the bathroom was also very small. but overall a great experience compared to the room we stayed at last year. the beds were comfy and overall pretty clean considering we were two blocks from the beach. although it wasnt quite because of some roudy people on the balcony. the women up front wasn't very helpful she forgot to tell us that our room was at a different motel owned by parrot lagoon on 8 th street but i liked it and would stay again. if you are looking for a cheap place to sleep and shower at this is the place. also there is only parking spot per room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson, md
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Horrible black mold in room number 42, had me pull out my inhaller, had to leave in the morning, lungs full of congestion. 4 days later still sick and heading to doctor for treatment. Mold was not only all thru bathroom shower, but on the walls above the bed where we slept. did not look until morning when I could not breath, room dirty, old q-tips on floor. blood on mattress. gross place. we paid to stay for two nights and could not handle it. Not enough parking, had to park on street each night. advertised on space, but all 3 lots were filled.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParrotLagoonStaff, Manager at Parrot Lagoon Miami Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Did you scrape the mold off and take it with you? Because we couldn't find any in the room after we heard about your complaint here!?(If it was so bad, why didn't you come and speak to someone in management so that something can be done on the spot rather than complaining about it after your stay?) After reading your review, we rushed to search for the infamous "black mold" in the room turning it upside down only to find minor discoloration of ceiling in shower. The guests that are occupying the room right now are just fine and enjoying their stay without any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

a very flithy dump, with office staff that could care less about anything except how they can justify charging more then what was advertised. left there full of bug bites after 2 nites! went up the road found a much better place for less. never again will i give these people a dime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

This hotel was the nastiest hotel ever!!! It smelled like musty urine and left all our clothes damp. When i unpacked my clothes at home it felt/smelled like someone spilt old mildewed water in my suitcase!!!!!!! There were ants and bugs everywhere, crumbs on the floor, stains on the comforter! We left with bite marks from the bugs. When hotel employees were told first day about the ants they said someone would spray they never came. Next day we asked again, they said they would send someone, again no one came!!!!!!! Rusty fishing hooks held a set of our curtains together, lucky for them we didnt get stuck by them but only by a miracle! Thats def a safety hazard esp if their are kids around. No internet unless you pay $10 a day eventhough when you book they tell you it includes internet. Please take your money elsewhere, i wish we wouldve read these reviews before we booked our vacation. Oh and btw....before all this we had a mess up with our reservation with them also and went through a big hassle getting it resolved. NEVER EVER AGAIN, it kind of ruined our whole trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parrot Lagoon Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Lagoon Miami Beach

Address: 301 2nd street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a modest MOTEL downtown Ocean City that you can walk from to the sandy Ocean City beach, Boardwalk and the bay, you've found it!Parrot Lagoon Motel has all exterior entrances with the old key system. There are standard rooms, efficiencies, king size suites and a 2br/1ba cottage with the standard motel amenities such as TV, private bathroom, A/C, mini fridge, microwave and an outdoor swimming pool.New in 2010: new flooring in every room and some additional interior and exterior updates, fresh coffee and healthy snacks served daily in season from 6am till noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parrot Lagoon Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Lagoon Miami Beach Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Lagoon Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.