We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoker's BBQ Pit

Smoker's BBQ Pit
9711 Stephen Decatur Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-9301
410-213-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 386 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Philadelphia, US
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I ate dinner at Smoker's BBQ Pit on Tuesday, September 11th. I enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich with a side of homemade potato salad and a second side of coleslaw. The food was delicious, served quickly and priced fairly.

After you place your order you sit down in an enclosed porch, and you pay when your name is called. It was a wonderful experience, and I highly recommend Smoker's!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    68
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Assortment of homemade pork and chicken. Homemade salads. Good place to eat. Rustic inside porch to sit with your family and enjoy your meal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
“Overwhelming Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My father and I visited this restaurant as a direct result of its high ranking on tripadvisor. We were extremely disappointed. Smoker's is a local joint that only affords window service; there is no wait staff, and very limited indoor space. There are several picnic tables inside a small screened-in porch, along with a few outdoor tables. As we visited in September, it was somewhat chilly, as there was no protection from the elements. Decor was almost nonexistent; it obviously meant to evoke a country style, but felt artificial.

Although this was not what we expected, that wouldn't have been an issue if the food lived up to the billing. The baby back ribs (dry rub) were mediocre at best: dry, bland, almost tasteless. The fried chicken portion size was small, and the taste unexceptional. The side dishes were decent. The prices seemed high for the quality of food and the proportions.

Overall, I simply cannot recommend Smoker's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stop in here for lunch on way back from Assateague Island. Service was friendly and quick. Nice screen enclosed patio kept most of flies away. Pulled pork sandwiches were excellent as were the sides of fries and cole slaw. Would return here anytime. ( P.S. Place closes for season first
week of October )

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food & service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Service was quick, food was delicious & it was a great value. The crab soup was surprisingly some of the best we had in OC. Will be back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoker's BBQ Pit also viewed

 

Been to Smoker's BBQ Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoker's BBQ Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.