We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-1344   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Upon arrival, I immediately regretted our choice to stay at this hotel. There were marks all over the walls, stains on the curtains and bedding....and the place just felt really unclean.
On the second day, before heading to the beach I decided to put a small lipstick marking on each bed sheet (the room had 2 queen beds). Upon returning from the beach I noticed the room had been "serviced"..trash dumped and beds sloppily made up....with the same sheets I left the lipstick marks on. I called the front desk and told them the sheets had not been changed and requested them to be changed.
10 minutes later the manager knocks on the door with 1 PAIR OF SHEETS for a room with 2 queen beds. He stated the sheets had not been changed because they get changed EVERY OTHER DAY, and assured me they were scheduled to be changed tomorrow the third day. In the mean time he offered us the sheets to change ourselves stating "he didn't know how to change sheets" (????????---obviously code for it wasn't his job and he wasn't going to do it).
The next day, THE THIRD DAY we went to the beach and returned to the room being "serviced" and the beds being half made AGAIN with the SAME sheets that i put the small lipstick marks on.
My point is that the maid service is horrible and lazy. The management is also lazy and unhelpful. The room is not properly cleaned and the maids are too lazy to even change the sheets.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    65
    32
    18
    11
See reviews for
63
57
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I've really enjoyed my stay at Best Western. The room was very spacious, equipped with sink, microwave, and refrigerator, scored a ten with me especially traveling with kids. My room was cleaned and stock and the staff were very friendly. I had such a wonderful experience being our first family vacation ever.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechanicsville, maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is the 8th year i have stayed at this hotel for the American Legion Conveniton. I made my first reservation before the hotel was completed. It is a great place to stay and you cannot beat the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We've stayed in this hotel for the last three years and every time we go we find something new for the guests. I think the biggest improvement is the breakfast. They are now serving whole grain breads healthier choices. The rooms are a little pricey but we stayed around the holidays so the price are higher. Overall this hotel is still a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

From the beginning to the end was a pleasurable experience. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The beach was right across the street and everything you need only blocks away. Me and my family already planning to revisit before the summer is over!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is very nice. Not on the beach and no pool but beach is right across the street and they have agreements with two local hotels that allow the pool privledges. Free breakfast is excellent. Cost for a room, given competition is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel seemed perfect for what my friends and I were looking for--a budget friendly hotel near the beach and near some restaurants in OCMD that was not right on the boardwalk. The rooms we rented were much bigger than we thought they would be. The rooms overall were a little run down but I have found that to be very typical for beach towns. The worst part about this hotel was the maid service. The maids barely wiped down our room every day. When we checked in we found a very dirty room. Assuming that it was a one off occurrence, we called the front desk and they immediately sent someone up to wipe down the bathroom again which was great. However, it was clear that the tile floor had not really been wiped down and the rugs in the room had not been vacuumed. The couch and curtains in the room were both full of mystery stains. The bathroom was full of the previous tenant's hair and the hair dryer was extremely sticky. We also found some sand on the coffee bar in the room and dusty headboards. The maids would leave spray bottles and dirty linens on the floor of the hallway each day. Overall, this hotel did not live up to the same quality of any of the other Best Westerns I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Address: 5501 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Best Western Ocean City Hotel And Suites
Ocean City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.