We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst maid service I have ever experienced...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-1344   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #37 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Broomall, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst maid service I have ever experienced...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel seemed perfect for what my friends and I were looking for--a budget friendly hotel near the beach and near some restaurants in OCMD that was not right on the boardwalk. The rooms we rented were much bigger than we thought they would be. The rooms overall were a little run down but I have found that to be very typical for beach towns. The worst part about this hotel was the maid service. The maids barely wiped down our room every day. When we checked in we found a very dirty room. Assuming that it was a one off occurrence, we called the front desk and they immediately sent someone up to wipe down the bathroom again which was great. However, it was clear that the tile floor had not really been wiped down and the rugs in the room had not been vacuumed. The couch and curtains in the room were both full of mystery stains. The bathroom was full of the previous tenant's hair and the hair dryer was extremely sticky. We also found some sand on the coffee bar in the room and dusty headboards. The maids would leave spray bottles and dirty linens on the floor of the hallway each day. Overall, this hotel did not live up to the same quality of any of the other Best Westerns I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    62
    30
    17
    11
See reviews for
61
53
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very friendly staff...we needed extra towels and they were brought up immediately..We had 2 suites and they were large and better than expected! It was a very short walk to the beach and easy walk to the beach..I would def. stay here again..Stayed from June 29, 2014-July 2, 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The lobby was small and uninviting. The elevator was extremely slow. The stairwells were not very presentable for a Best Western. The hotel was very noisy with a party atmosphere. (Smashed beer cans in parking lot.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was awesome! From the time we checked in till the time we checked out we didn't have any problems. We stayed in a king suite on 4th floor and the room was huge, very nice! The hotel is only a short walk to the beach. And there's a bus stop right outside of hotel and the bus is ride all day for $3 a person. Very convient to get down to the boardwalk. I would recommend this hotel! The only thing that could use some improvement is the way the breakfast bar is set up, very crammed and doesn't make a lot of sense. We will be back tho!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your spacious King Suite.

We really are in the perfect spot. We are right across the street from the beach and far enough away from downtown where it is not as busy.

Thank you for your suggestion about our breakfast bar also. We have so little space that it is hard to find the perfect way to set items up in the morning.

I certainly hope you will stay with us again in the future!

Thank you,
Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverspring, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were at the BW for a beach soccer tournament in OC. This hotel was fine for a group of 6...2 adults and 4 chidren. the pullout sofa bed was a little uncomfortable but we managed. Staff were very friendly and we even got to watch the FIFA games in the hospitality room and ordered in dinner. We swam at the sister hotel pool about five blocks away. Breakfast was great and the team working breakfast were very friendly and accomodating. The pancake maker was very neat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about our hotel and we thank you for staying with us!

I am glad you enjoyed yourselves while visiting Ocean City and thank you so much for your compliments about our staff! I do hope you will visit us again.

Thank you,
Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I really liked the hotel. It is so clean and quite. The employees are so professional and caring. The room is not only large but also bright. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and recommend it to every body.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you writing a review about our hotel and for deciding to stay with us! I am so glad that you enjoyed your time in Ocean City and your time with us!

Thank you for your compliments about our staff! We do try very hard to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests so it is nice to hear when we have achieved that.

Next time you are in town don't forget to ask for your "repeat guest" discount!

Thank you,
Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just returned from another visit to the BW in OC, MD. The staff and accomdations were once agaon outstanding. Only had 2 minor things (lightbulb and TV remote) not working and both were taken care of the next morning. Really liked the utilizing of my free night as well while there.Looking forward to staying there again later this year and again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear William,

Thank you again for continuing to stay with us while visiting Ocean City! It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us time and time again!

I apologize again for the issues you experienced during your stay. I am glad we were able to correct them the following morning.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Address: 5501 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Best Western Ocean City Hotel And Suites
Ocean City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.