We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and woman at front desk super” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-1344   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #41 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Pocono Manor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice and woman at front desk super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Very clean room , beds are so comfortable sheet are nice a clean. Bathroom huge and very clean. It is off season I am here for work. Royce at the front desk was wonderful she went above to give me info and help make check in easy and quick.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    79
    43
    19
    14
See reviews for
77
70
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woolrich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSION ( WOW ) We don't know where to start but but I guess it was while we were traveling on valentines weekend and encountered a snow storm while going to Virgina Beach for a little get away. Ocean city was not in the plans. We left our hotel in virgina beach as we decided not to stay because of the snow storm as we had a 9 1/2 hr. trip back to Pa. and along the way we found B.W. in Ocean city. We entered the lobby and waited our turn in line and that's when the lady at the desk assured us our turn was coming , Well ROYCE made us feel like we known each other for ever and the room was nice and clean and relaxing.In the morning we went down for breakfast and the lady be hind the counter was such a joy to talk to.(very sweet )forgot her name.
the only gripe I have with B.W. is PLEASE BRING BACK THE WAFFLES.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to share your comments with everyone. We appreciate your nice words about Royce and Joyce (our Breakfast attendant) and will be sure to make them aware of your comments! We make every effort to have excellent customer service so it is very nice to hear compliments about our staff!

We are also thankful for your honest opinion about the waffles. We did recently switch to pancakes so we will try those out for a while. Most people seem to be very accepting of them but we definitely welcome your comments!

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your opinions and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel looks brand new , room was big and clean , microwave , fridge two double beds . Was in a low season so it was quiet and enough space for the car . Also very reasonable price . Breakfast quite poor , but thats almost tipycal continental in US . Staf was ok , but not so much hurry to take care of your needs . In general hotel is great in a good location .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crittenden,virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel has large rooms with a sofa bed, microwave, and refrigerator in the rooms. I come for business to ocean city so this room is perfect for my use. The hotel sits in a parking lot so don't look for any views, but who sit in their room at ocean city where there is so much to do. The room are clean, the hotel has good lighting outside, its safe, and the ladies in the breakfast area are very nice, a nice place to stay. If you are going to the beach you will have to cross the road, but there are walk signals.

Room Tip: There is a bus stop not far from the hotel, so makes it easy to get around ocean city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Grandma was visiting and we decided to spend a weekend in Ocean City, never been there, and made a mistake to go in high season. Hotels were expensive and no vacancy. But, thank God, we found this awesome and reasonable hotel with it's last room available. The room was so nice and clean and spacious. We had a blast and it was a short walking distance to the ocean. Great crabs and cool highway. Imitates Atlantic City, Seaside, and Myrtle Beach, and it does a great job at it. Very pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: off season, more choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I took a three day weekend shift weekend (Tues-Thurs) for a mini vacation in O.C.

We came from Wilmington and drove Rt. 1 S. the entire way but one can easily get to O.C. using US 50 E. also. The hotel was very easy to spot and is on the bayside of the Coastal Highway. It's best to park on the side opposite the Best Western sign to unload your luggage via the entrance ramp. The hotel lobby was very clean and inviting. The front desk agents throughout our stay were very cordial and helpful. There were maintenance workers painting the exterior during our stay who were very nice and helpful during our stay. All of the employees made us feel welcome. We were lodged on the top/fourth floor. The hallway was warm but that is typical of top floors in hotels. The room itself enters into a tile entryway which would be perfect for beach trips.

Our room featured two queen beds, an old box TV, a sofa bed, jetted-tub, microwave, mini-fridge, and an easy to use one-cup coffee maker. The jetted-tub/shower was very relaxing and the water stayed warm while the jets were on (perhaps it was heated). The room did not feature a balcony but we could see the bay at an angle. The room was very easy to keep at a comfortable temperature. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable for us (firm). The only major flaws were a few tears in the sofa bed.

The breakfast featured waffles, cereals, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, and other breakfast items but no meats. The breakfast area was very clean, well-attended, and comfortable. The breakfast area also featured a computer kiosk and a lounge area.

We also used the fitness room which featured a treadmill, elliptical, bike, weight machine, television, and a water cooler. The equipment all worked well.

The hotel itself is on the bayside of the Coastal Highway but there is a condo complex behind blocking a full view of the bay and another hotel directly beside it. We couldn't find a way to walk to the bay without crossing private property but we could easily access the seaside beach.

We expected Ocean City to be much less busy in October than it is the summer but were surprised by how many attractions were closed already. OC was more "dead" than we've ever seen but we prefer it that way to the crowds of summer.

With so many restaurants closed it was hard to track down good places to eat. The front desk agent recommended Johnny's Pizza and Pub two doors north. The food there was okay, the bar tender was friendly, but the drinks were expensive. The second night we got Dominos on 64th St.

The boardwalk was being repaired and many stores were closed but it was still a nice walk and enough stores were opened to do some shopping. The boardwalk parking was free when we stayed (October 24).

My wife and I always enjoy O.C. for its family atmosphere and beautiful beach. There is a casino outside O.C. but this certainly is a world away from Atlantic City. The Rehoboth Outlets are about a half hour North on Coastal Highway (which becomes Rt. 1 in Delaware). There is also an Orioles-affiliated minor league baseball team about an hour west on U.S. 50 in Salisbury (the Delmarva Shorebirds) that offers enjoyable games.
Altogether, my wife and I loved our stay at Best Western O.C. and would stay again (but only in the off-season because we don't like the crowds).

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor may be hotter in the summer (no AC visible in the hallway) but will have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to share your comments with others. We appreciate your comments about our front desk personnel and our maintenance staff. We strive everyday for excellent customer service so it is is nice to hear when we have accomplished that.

Although it is a not as busy in October as it would be in July, a lot of local businesses are open depending on business. Almost everything is open on the weekends until November but some business do close during the week if it is not beneficial to stay open.

There are also a few nice places close to the hotel to eat lunch or dinner. Johnny's Pizza is the most convenient but there is also Fager's Island (60th st. & the bay), Seacrets Bar & Grill (49th st. & the bay), Dead Freddie's (63rd st. & the bay) and also the Sea Bay Cafe (60th st. & the bay) which is open for breakfast and lunch.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We called on a special advertised on their we site for a suite and they stuck us with a moldy hotel room at the sea bay when we showed up. Called to complain and fell on deaf ears. Will never work with best west ever again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#32 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#12 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#25 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#40 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#30 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Address: 5501 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean City Hotel And Suites
Best Western Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.