We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very reasonable prices for a large room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-1344   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #34 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
crittenden,virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“very reasonable prices for a large room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel has large rooms with a sofa bed, microwave, and refrigerator in the rooms. I come for business to ocean city so this room is perfect for my use. The hotel sits in a parking lot so don't look for any views, but who sit in their room at ocean city where there is so much to do. The room are clean, the hotel has good lighting outside, its safe, and the ladies in the breakfast area are very nice, a nice place to stay. If you are going to the beach you will have to cross the road, but there are walk signals.

Room Tip: There is a bus stop not far from the hotel, so makes it easy to get around ocean city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    58
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
51
49
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Grandma was visiting and we decided to spend a weekend in Ocean City, never been there, and made a mistake to go in high season. Hotels were expensive and no vacancy. But, thank God, we found this awesome and reasonable hotel with it's last room available. The room was so nice and clean and spacious. We had a blast and it was a short walking distance to the ocean. Great crabs and cool highway. Imitates Atlantic City, Seaside, and Myrtle Beach, and it does a great job at it. Very pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: off season, more choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I took a three day weekend shift weekend (Tues-Thurs) for a mini vacation in O.C.

We came from Wilmington and drove Rt. 1 S. the entire way but one can easily get to O.C. using US 50 E. also. The hotel was very easy to spot and is on the bayside of the Coastal Highway. It's best to park on the side opposite the Best Western sign to unload your luggage via the entrance ramp. The hotel lobby was very clean and inviting. The front desk agents throughout our stay were very cordial and helpful. There were maintenance workers painting the exterior during our stay who were very nice and helpful during our stay. All of the employees made us feel welcome. We were lodged on the top/fourth floor. The hallway was warm but that is typical of top floors in hotels. The room itself enters into a tile entryway which would be perfect for beach trips.

Our room featured two queen beds, an old box TV, a sofa bed, jetted-tub, microwave, mini-fridge, and an easy to use one-cup coffee maker. The jetted-tub/shower was very relaxing and the water stayed warm while the jets were on (perhaps it was heated). The room did not feature a balcony but we could see the bay at an angle. The room was very easy to keep at a comfortable temperature. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable for us (firm). The only major flaws were a few tears in the sofa bed.

The breakfast featured waffles, cereals, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, and other breakfast items but no meats. The breakfast area was very clean, well-attended, and comfortable. The breakfast area also featured a computer kiosk and a lounge area.

We also used the fitness room which featured a treadmill, elliptical, bike, weight machine, television, and a water cooler. The equipment all worked well.

The hotel itself is on the bayside of the Coastal Highway but there is a condo complex behind blocking a full view of the bay and another hotel directly beside it. We couldn't find a way to walk to the bay without crossing private property but we could easily access the seaside beach.

We expected Ocean City to be much less busy in October than it is the summer but were surprised by how many attractions were closed already. OC was more "dead" than we've ever seen but we prefer it that way to the crowds of summer.

With so many restaurants closed it was hard to track down good places to eat. The front desk agent recommended Johnny's Pizza and Pub two doors north. The food there was okay, the bar tender was friendly, but the drinks were expensive. The second night we got Dominos on 64th St.

The boardwalk was being repaired and many stores were closed but it was still a nice walk and enough stores were opened to do some shopping. The boardwalk parking was free when we stayed (October 24).

My wife and I always enjoy O.C. for its family atmosphere and beautiful beach. There is a casino outside O.C. but this certainly is a world away from Atlantic City. The Rehoboth Outlets are about a half hour North on Coastal Highway (which becomes Rt. 1 in Delaware). There is also an Orioles-affiliated minor league baseball team about an hour west on U.S. 50 in Salisbury (the Delmarva Shorebirds) that offers enjoyable games.
Altogether, my wife and I loved our stay at Best Western O.C. and would stay again (but only in the off-season because we don't like the crowds).

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor may be hotter in the summer (no AC visible in the hallway) but will have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to share your comments with others. We appreciate your comments about our front desk personnel and our maintenance staff. We strive everyday for excellent customer service so it is is nice to hear when we have accomplished that.

Although it is a not as busy in October as it would be in July, a lot of local businesses are open depending on business. Almost everything is open on the weekends until November but some business do close during the week if it is not beneficial to stay open.

There are also a few nice places close to the hotel to eat lunch or dinner. Johnny's Pizza is the most convenient but there is also Fager's Island (60th st. & the bay), Seacrets Bar & Grill (49th st. & the bay), Dead Freddie's (63rd st. & the bay) and also the Sea Bay Cafe (60th st. & the bay) which is open for breakfast and lunch.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We called on a special advertised on their we site for a suite and they stuck us with a moldy hotel room at the sea bay when we showed up. Called to complain and fell on deaf ears. Will never work with best west ever again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bull Run
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is fantastic for Bike Week. This was our fourth year and they staff are great for bikers. The rooms are nice, and they are clean. The hotel goes out of their way to make you feel at home and it is centrally located. Prices are reasonable! Stay here when you can - it's nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsville,nj
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The people at the front desk were amazing. They were sooo nice! The room was clean, and plenty roomy. Room enough for the 4 of us to spread out. I did ask for more shampoo because we used all of ours and never received it so follow thru could be better. Location was great. We never stayed that far away from the boardwalk before and didn't think we would like it but was wrong. surrounded by stores and eatery's. loved it!! Could use a pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Best Western. Upon Arrival another guest stole my IPAD while I was checking in. I immediately told the front desk staff and the response was "What do you want us to do"?. There was a camera system there and initially they refused to view the film. I called police and again requested we view the film. We were able to determine that there was one couple who must have taken the IPAD due to the fact that they were the only ones in the lobby at the time of the incident. Management refused to even ask them if they had seen my IPAD and did nothing. I am sure if it was them who were robbed they would have viewed the video in a timely fashion and attempted to locate my stolen property. This all happened in plain view while I was checking in. If you stay there remember that WHEN your stuff is stolen management will do NOTHING to help you retrieve. This is an actual quote from the ownwer "I would not want to do anything to make the suspected thiefs of you IPAD uncomfortable during their stay". Wow I bet she would see it differently if it were her IPAD missing.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiminoc, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest. First of all thank you for staying with us. I apologize once again that this unfortunate incident happened to you. As I recall, you left your IPAD next to the elevator in the lobby when you were taking your luggage to your room. After you reached your room, it was then you realized you had left your IPAD behind. Once we were made aware of this, we immediately called the police for you and explained the situation to them. We also explained to you that we needed our General Manager in order to view the tapes from our lobby secuirty camera. We never refused to view them. After review we discovered that the camera angle did not reveal the exact location of the luggage and IPAD, and therefore was no help in the investigation. Again, I am sorry that this happened to you, but we feel that we did everything we could to help you in this situation.
jim@bestwesternocsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Address: 5501 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean City Hotel And Suites
Best Western Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.