We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cean, Friendly and Loves Your Dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Mailman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Barefoot Mailman to your Saves list
Barefoot Mailman
#16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cean, Friendly and Loves Your Dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times before. And we will continue to do so. Understand that this is an older hotel. But the rooms are clean and comfortable. And they welcome your dogs with open arms. Even having free dog treats for them at the front desk. The most important part of any hotel is the warmth that the staff conveys. The BFMM has it for both you and your four legged family members.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    58
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
66
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

What a relief to find a hotel that actually welcomes dogs with open arms. The location, one half block to the beach, with no streets to cross, could not be better. It is a smallish hotel but our corner room was spacious and very clean. And I appreciated that the windows were not all fixed shut, so we could enjoy fresh air. Lovely kitchenette and a full bath plus an extra vanity and sink located inobtrusively in the room. And our rate was incredible - $74 for one night and that included the pet charge of $10 (granted, we were off season on a Sunday night). Great staff at the front desk, made you feel at home. We always stay at chain hotels but this little gem puts the big boys to shame!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coplay, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed here before but the past 2 times we've stayed, the quality has gone down some. We arrived late night on Wednesday, Sept 18, just before midnight. I was so pleased that someone was still manning the front desk. I took my dog out to walk him before heading in and found there to be no poop bags in the complimentary poop bag dispenser. Ok, not a big deal. Headed up to the room, got unloaded, and went to settle in. Pulled back the covers on 1 of 2 beds and found hair or stains on all 4 of my pillows. I was grossed out. Good thing they had 2 extra pillows in the room that looked decent. Also, when we turned the AC on it had a smoke smell even though we asked for a non smoking room. The rest of our stay was uneventful and fine. The maids and front desk were very nice. The rooms were a comfortable size for 3 people and our large dog.

Room Tip: When you have a dog, the first floor is always best in any hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend with our Dog and we were very happy. From the moment we booked the Hotel to Check in, through our stay and Check out, the staff could not have been more friendly. They have treats for your pup at the front counter. When we asked about the Dog Park in Ocean City, the woman behind the front counter was so nice and advised us what we needed to bring our dog their. Because we did not bring paperwork on our Dog, we could not go to that Dog Park. She than suggested a nice park off of 126th where you can walk your dog.

The room was very spacious and very clean. We had a small fridge for drinks and a Microwave. The Bathroom was a bit tight but the room had a second sink outside the Bathroom. By the front door was a small private patio to sit on facing the Bay. Surprisingly, the rooms were quiet as there were a lot of pets in the hotel but they were rarely heard.

The Hotel is located in a nice area, close enough to the Boardwalk, but also close enough to places like Macky's and Seacrets. You can walk right down to the Ocean and it is within walking distance to an outside bar and restaurant called Coconuts which also happens to be Pet Friendly. There is a nice little area on the side of the Hotel that to walk your dog and they provide plastic bags in case you forget. The area is very clean.

Overall, I would recommend this Hotel/Motel to anyone staying in the area, Pet or no Pet. Only downside is that there is no Bar connected with the Hotel, but there are so many close by in Ocean CIty, it really doesn't matter!

Room Tip: Top Floor is the best to be to enjoy the Sunset over the Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was my first visit to Ocean City, but not my last! The Barefoot Mailman desk staff and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful, even going out of their way, and it was nice that to feel that the dog was welcome and not just tolerated. There were a lot of dogs, which also put him at ease and gave him friends to meet. Dog people are the friendliest folks, too. The rooms were very nice and very clean. The bed, I have to say, was more comfortable than my bed at home. I slept like a log! I had a room on a high floor and I loved the sunset view of the bay. It was quiet in the evenings, only a little traffic noise on the main strip below. I took off one star because the online reservation system somehow did not work and I did not get the room with kitchenette that I registered for -- it took my credit card number but when I later, thankfully, called to confirm, there was no record of it and there were no rooms with kitchenettes. Luckily, I got another room, with the smaller fridge and microwave. It turned out to be fine, but it would have been nice to have the cooktop. Also the first woman who answered, I don't know who it was, was not that friendly and put me on hold for 15 minutes, which did not make a great impression on someone who had never been there. Then Gail came on and she was very helpful and nice, a genuinely nice person. She was also helpful when I arrived. I would recommend making your reservations over the phone.

Room Tip: There is an elevator, so don't worry about high floors. You have a great view from up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been going to Barefoot Mailman in Ocean City, MD, for decades, and they seem to be constantly improving. They have upgraded the facilities, making it a nice looking, comfortable place. They treat us like valued friends--and our dogs, too, as it is a pet friendly motel. The dogs start getting excited as we get close, as they know they will be getting dog treats from the staff as well as a lot of attention. There are also nice dog walking areas right by the motel, and they provide plastic bags and trash cans in the area so you can clean up easily. Another feature is being able to save much money by cooking in the room, or simply bringing in carryout. We love to go out to eat, and do it frequently, but not having to wait in lines in high season, or spending a lot of money, actually makes the in-room cooking a pleasure. We really are looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: If you want to do a lot of cooking, ask for a room with the full size refrigerator, stove, etc. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear “travelerplus3”
Thank you for your many years of patronage. It was great to read that you enjoyed the improvements we’ve been making. As our return guests know, we continually strive to make improvements and upgrades after each season. Our staff strives to maintain a friendly atmosphere on all levels from check-in to housekeeping and I’m glad we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Last week was our first trip to Ocean City, and also our first time bringing our young dog on vacation with us. The Barefoot Mailman is a great place to bring your dog. The rooms are clean, and very spacious. Front desk is extremely friendly, and all the staff seem to love dogs. This motel is also very centrally located and is an easy walk/bike ride/bus ride to any location in the city. We plan on going back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear "Liz M"
Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments. It’s always good to read when one of our guests is happy to have been able to bring their pet on vacation. The Barefoot Mailman Motel staff takes a lot of pride in providing friendly service and exceptional housekeeping to all of our guests. I’m glad you enjoyed our convenient location and amenities and look forward to you coming back next summer.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Mailman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman

Address: #16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#18 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barefoot Mailman Motel. Our ideal oceanside location is conveniently located just 5 blocks from the Convention Center and eight blocks from Ocean City's famous boardwalk. Our rooms are clean and inviting, and the staff is warm and friendly. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Barefoot Mailman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Mailman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.