We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot Mailman Continues to Shine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Mailman

Save Saved
You added Barefoot Mailman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barefoot Mailman
#16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Barefoot Mailman Continues to Shine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been going to Barefoot Mailman in Ocean City, MD, for decades, and they seem to be constantly improving. They have upgraded the facilities, making it a nice looking, comfortable place. They treat us like valued friends--and our dogs, too, as it is a pet friendly motel. The dogs start getting excited as we get close, as they know they will be getting dog treats from the staff as well as a lot of attention. There are also nice dog walking areas right by the motel, and they provide plastic bags and trash cans in the area so you can clean up easily. Another feature is being able to save much money by cooking in the room, or simply bringing in carryout. We love to go out to eat, and do it frequently, but not having to wait in lines in high season, or spending a lot of money, actually makes the in-room cooking a pleasure. We really are looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: If you want to do a lot of cooking, ask for a room with the full size refrigerator, stove, etc. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear “travelerplus3”
Thank you for your many years of patronage. It was great to read that you enjoyed the improvements we’ve been making. As our return guests know, we continually strive to make improvements and upgrades after each season. Our staff strives to maintain a friendly atmosphere on all levels from check-in to housekeeping and I’m glad we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    55
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
63
53
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Last week was our first trip to Ocean City, and also our first time bringing our young dog on vacation with us. The Barefoot Mailman is a great place to bring your dog. The rooms are clean, and very spacious. Front desk is extremely friendly, and all the staff seem to love dogs. This motel is also very centrally located and is an easy walk/bike ride/bus ride to any location in the city. We plan on going back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear "Liz M"
Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments. It’s always good to read when one of our guests is happy to have been able to bring their pet on vacation. The Barefoot Mailman Motel staff takes a lot of pride in providing friendly service and exceptional housekeeping to all of our guests. I’m glad you enjoyed our convenient location and amenities and look forward to you coming back next summer.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We chose this hotel because we could bring our dogs. We were very pleased with our room, very clean and very nice! They made it very pet friendly, and had areas to take your dog with doggie bag stations. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear “donandjudyo”
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. I appreciate your excellent/5-star rating. More importantly, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The Barefoot Mailman. I know how much our guests like to bring their pets with them on their vacation and it’s such a pleasure to be able to provide this service. I hope you’ll stay at The Barefoot Mailman again your next trip to Ocean City, Maryland.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great experience - Stayed at the Barefoot Mailman the last week of May (after Memorial) - it was still off-season rates. It also happened to be the same week that the Ravens Fan Club come each year. Although the hotel was filled to the brim - it was great fun to be around all the Ravens fans. Although this is an "outside door" hotel - the small seating are in front of each room was awesome - we were able to keep two bikes in that area - and it offered a wonderful view of the sunset over the bay each night. Room with two double beds was extra large - it was very nice to have not only a bathroom with a sink but also a vanity and sink outside the bathroom. Rooms came with both a microwave and fridge. Boardwalk is only about 4 short blocks away. The staff (front desk and housekeeping) was very, very nice. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the third floor. Great view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear “L K”,
Thank you for taking the time to write. You brought up a good point – we are pet-friendly! Also, off-season rates and hot deals can frequently be found on our website. I’m glad you enjoyed your accommodations, the amenities at the Barefoot Mailman, including the free sunset, and you had a good time with the Ravens Fan Clubs! I hope you’ll stay with us next year.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After a relaxing 7 days here we decided to stay an unplanned 2 additional days till 8/5. The front office ... Gail, Jessica & Kevin could not have been more friendly & efficient. The housekeeping & maintenance crews were also nice & polite. It was a very pleasant experience. Our dog was also spoiled by the office staff. We will be back next year hopefully for an even longer stay. ( Did not use the fitness ctr.)

John & Sharon Sullivan
Timonium, Md.

Room Tip: 3rd & 4th floors were more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear “John S”,
Thank you for taking the time to write. I’m glad that you liked the Barefoot Mailman so much you decided to extend your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed being able to bring your dog on vacation and deeply appreciate your continued patronage.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The motel rooms seemed to have been remodeled since my last stay. It is a basic older motel, but is is very well maintained and pet friendly. Coconuts bar is 2 blocks away and had a pet friendly seating area. The pool is small but the ocean is only 1/2 a block away.

The staff was very friendly and incouraged us to stop by the office often to pick up treats for our dog. They also loaned us a hair drier and wine opener.

Upon check out we left something in our room without knowing it. Before we left the property the maid came and found us and returned the item left behind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear "ee0831"
Thank you for taking your time to share your compliments. You are correct, the motel was recently renovated and that included all new wall coverings, carpet, furniture, luxury Eurotop bedding, as well as new linens, bedspreads and window treatments. I’m glad you enjoyed that we are pet-friendly and were able to enjoy a vacation with your dog. I was most encouraged to read that you were able to retrieve your left item. It reinforces our faith in our loyal staff that has been with us for many years. I hope you’ll return to Ocean City, Maryland and stay again at The Barefoot Mailman Motel.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went for a trip with my daughter for her dance recital at the nearby convention center. The room was dirty, and her wedding ring and my daughter's earrings were stolen out of the room. So for 2 nights, the room cost me just under $500 + a $3,000 wedding ring and a $50 pair of earrings. The ring and earrings were laid out in the room next to the microwave, and when we returned they were gone. She should have locked her stuff up - at the same time, the maid was a thief OR someone somehow got into her room and stole her stuff. There is a $500 reward is someone somehow comes up with it which is more than likely not going to happen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear "Kowalczyk86"
We are sorry that you lost your jewelry. However, it was not taken from your room. You didn't call us to report it missing and ask us to check for these items until TWO days after you checked out. We did a full check. The property was not on the premises. I am sure it was lost at some point. But I don't know how you could not know your wedding ring was missing for two whole days or more.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Mailman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman

Address: #16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barefoot Mailman Motel. Our ideal oceanside location is conveniently located just 5 blocks from the Convention Center and eight blocks from Ocean City's famous boardwalk. Our rooms are clean and inviting, and the staff is warm and friendly. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barefoot Mailman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Mailman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.