We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with pet,excellent front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Mailman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barefoot Mailman to your Saves list
Barefoot Mailman
#16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
baltimore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with pet,excellent front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I with Muffin stayed at the Barefoot Mailman now on two different occasions. This is our first review to include both (4/5-4/7) and (5/10-5/12). There is plenty of parking both out front and under the hotel. Check in was professional and very friendly both times. The rooms, once on the 3rd floor and second visit on the 5th floor were both beautiful and had a flat screen tv. We thought the rooms are very decent in size.The distance to the beach is maybe a block. The location of the hotel is great, making an easy ride down to the boardwalk and outlets. Again, the staff made our dog and us very welcome. We wished we could have stayed longer. The pool looked very clean, but was unable to use it due to the cool weather. We were just so happy there was a clean reasonably priced hotel in Ocean City where we could bring our Muffin. The sunset, seen from our balcony, over the bay was beautiful.We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Barefoot Mailman, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear “Aspen1”,
It was great to read about how much you, your wife, and Muffin enjoyed both of your stays at The Barefoot Mailman Motel. Thank you for letting us know of your satisfaction with our accommodations, amenities, and location. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we hope you are able to return and stay at The Barefoot Mailman again to enjoy a few more of those beautiful sunsets.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I wanted to go to the shore while dogs were still allowed on the beach. I booked a room for the last three days in April, and was thoroughly pleased with the entire stay and accomodationsl. Tremendous value during the off season, with a minimal daily charg for my dog, The room was large, spotless, well appointed, and a half-block from the beach. Loved every minute, and the staff made me and my dog feel very welcome. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claymont, Delaware
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

room was clean. never needed anything, the maids checked every day if we needed anything. the motel is in walking distance to beach and many restaurants and one of few that accepts dogs. the pool looked clean, unable to use it because too cold on our visit. they have an elevator and luggage carts for your convenience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for a clean room, a place with an adequate pool, close to the ocean side, and the option of a dog friendly accommodation, this is easily your best choice to stay in Ocean City, if not your only place to stay. We have stayed here in the off-season and during the peak summer months, and with our dogs and without..and the service and the room quality has been consistently good. The rooms are clean and offer the simple hotel/motel accommodations that you come to expect and want, and it all comes at a fair Ocean City, ocean-side price...and there is above-average customer service from the front desk. What else can you expect. Sure the parking is tight, but this is the expectation from any of these types of hotels. Again, an ideal location . If you have expectations beyond this, look elsewhere....if you want to bring your dog, then this is more or less your only choice unless you want to spend much more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, MD
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Barefoot Mailman Hotel several times. They have pet friendly rooms which are very clean. They also have efficiency rooms with a kitchen which I usually try to reserve..
The office staff is very friendly and accomadating. The location is ideal for beach access. When i travel to O.C. I will always stay there. Yes, there are no private balconies, but with the ocean half block away, who cares!

Room Tip: Rooms on the end are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were looking for oceanfront and pet friendly with a balcony. This place has it all. However, if you are wanting a private balcony..this is not private. The stairs lead up to the walkway to your room and your door opening is connected to the walkway. The bedroom area was quality. The bathroom floor and shower could be updated. We stayed here but drove with our dog to Assateague Island everyday so she could be on the beach with us. The people in the office were very nice. Parking was adequate with no complaints about this place from our party. We will definitely be returning to OC this summer (I hope)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed in May 2012 and again Oct 2012. The rooms are clean, the beds are reasonably comfortable and the front desk staff very friendly. I can't say enough good things about them! We unfortunately booked the end of September/1 October, which was the weekend of the Volkswagon street races but our wonderful hosts went above and beyond to keep the hotel quiet for those seeking some rest and relaxation. The dog loves it here.

We can't wait to go back in the Spring!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Mailman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman

Address: #16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barefoot Mailman Motel. Our ideal oceanside location is conveniently located just 5 blocks from the Convention Center and eight blocks from Ocean City's famous boardwalk. Our rooms are clean and inviting, and the staff is warm and friendly. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barefoot Mailman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Mailman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.