We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pet friendly rental” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Mailman

Save Saved
You added Barefoot Mailman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barefoot Mailman
#16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Marietta, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“pet friendly rental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were looking for oceanfront and pet friendly with a balcony. This place has it all. However, if you are wanting a private balcony..this is not private. The stairs lead up to the walkway to your room and your door opening is connected to the walkway. The bedroom area was quality. The bathroom floor and shower could be updated. We stayed here but drove with our dog to Assateague Island everyday so she could be on the beach with us. The people in the office were very nice. Parking was adequate with no complaints about this place from our party. We will definitely be returning to OC this summer (I hope)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    55
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
63
53
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed in May 2012 and again Oct 2012. The rooms are clean, the beds are reasonably comfortable and the front desk staff very friendly. I can't say enough good things about them! We unfortunately booked the end of September/1 October, which was the weekend of the Volkswagon street races but our wonderful hosts went above and beyond to keep the hotel quiet for those seeking some rest and relaxation. The dog loves it here.

We can't wait to go back in the Spring!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed on two different occasions in May when the rates were cheaper. All dogs receive a goody bag at check-in. We arrived before check-in time, and they let us into our room early. The office staff was very accomodating and friendly! We felt right at home. The rooms have been updated recently and were very clean, with plenty of space for two people, and no pet odors at all. The 35th street ocean side location was perfect...far enough from all the hub-bub and noise of the boardwalk, and a quick walk to the beach. Be sure to check out the Hot Deals and Super Saver Specials on their website! Try and reserve ahead of time, especially during a holiday or special event weekend. The rates are reasonable and since it's one of only a few pet-friendly hotels in Ocean City, they often book up fast. We will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We just got back from the Barefoot Mailman and had a great stay there. The office staff was very friendly and check in was a breeze. The convenience of having an elevator in the garage made it easy to go get our things upstairs. Having a luggage carrier helped a lot too.
We had an efficiency room which was very clean and had no pet odors, The room did need the bathroom updated, but other than that I have no complaints. We plan on going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here because they are pet friendly and dogs are allowed on the beach after October 1st. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My dogs were treated like family...they even let them swim in the pool:) Great location! I just cannot say enough about my experience. Will be going back next year around the same time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here every Sept. for the last couple years( use to stay @ Castle in the Sand, then we got a dog, and they recommend Barefoot)and I have no complaints. Great place, good employees and clean. Love staying there! The front desk lady knew who I was just by my voice, impressive! We arrived a little early and they let us check in early.Clean rooms( and I'm a housekeeper @ Country Inn & Suites) and I know clean and the housekeeper(Clementine) did a great job!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. My husband, cat(s) and I have been staying here 2-3 times a year for over a decade. We first found this place while looking for pet friendly places to stay in OC. If you are a pet owner, then you know how hard it is to find a clean, reasonable place to stay in OC with pets. Other places want to charge you extra for a pet and then put you in their pet friendly rooms that are dumps. That is not the case at The Barefoot Mailman. Every room is very clean and comfortable. The staff (though I consider them family now) are truly caring, friendly, pet loving folks. I only wish that they were open year round (hint, hint to Adam!). :) Thank you Bonnie, Joy, Stevie, and the entire staff! You make this Ohio family's stay very enjoyable. Take care and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Mailman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman

Address: #16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barefoot Mailman Motel. Our ideal oceanside location is conveniently located just 5 blocks from the Convention Center and eight blocks from Ocean City's famous boardwalk. Our rooms are clean and inviting, and the staff is warm and friendly. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barefoot Mailman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Mailman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.