We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Motel Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Motel Boardwalk to your Saves list
Safari Motel Boardwalk
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 13th Street and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
hanover twp
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

I just got back from another wonderful, relaxing, vacation at the best hotel on the boardwalk and in Ocean City. I can not wait to go back in September. The owners and staff are the most friendlist and courteous people , they are so kind to my husband, Al and our two dogs , Eddie and Spirit. The staff are very accomodating and gracious, there is fresh coffee all day long. You have easy acess to the bus and boardwalk just a skip away , along with perfect view and walk to ocean. You have plenty of shops and restaurants you can walk to on boardwalk. My older dog, Spirit, is over 16 years old and has many medical problems , however the staff and owners, are so kind and caring to her. I can not say enough kind words about the hotel with there wonderful cleanliness and accomodating staff. All i can say is if you are taking a trip to Ocean City. Stay at this hotel and see for yourself the wonderful experience you will have.

Thanks again, SAFARI HOTEL FOR THE MOST WONDERFURL VACATION, WILL SEE YOU SOON! From ,
CECELIA,AL &
SPIRIT AND EDDIE , the dogs Your friends from Pa

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    37
    23
    12
    13
See reviews for
68
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NE PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

What I liked: price, location, pet friendly, very clean, friendly staff, large public porch overlooking the boardwalk.
What I did not like: Irresponsible Dog owners that left their dogs alone to bark for hours on end, rooms did not have security locks and the door to the lobby was opened most of the day and the desk was often unattended.
This is a typical older hotel at the shore. It has not been updated but was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

I made reservations for my step-daughter for her homeymoon..five days before they were suppose to go,they didn't have the money,so i cancelled the room.they went and charged me 30.00. for i travel to oc every year and i cam very dissapointed in the outcome. laurie ganoung,new york

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

You cant beat the price for the fantastic location of this motel! While it certainly isnt a 5 star hotel, and it might be a bit outdated, it serves the purpose of a room to sleep in while your vacationing at the beach. The beach is steps away from the hotel and there is a fantastic coffee and bakery shop right next door. The cleaning crew was very polite and would offer you extra towels or anything you needed. The only negative is that there is no pool........my son prefers a pool over the ocean, but no biggie.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburg
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Me and my family came home with FLEA BITES and FLEAS in our bags!!! We was to get a bigger size room but that never happened !! The dog in the room next to us barked all night long !!! The air con, was broke only cooled the room off early in the morning.. Room service was not really bad but when it came to cleaning the bathroom I dont think she wipped anything down.. Trash still left in the can's !!! If you have to take your pet with you than maybe stay here. But if you take no pets, STAY somewhere else !!!! They dont even have phones in the room for you to use or to even call the front desk !!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Reserved a room for family and poodle. Proprietor was taciturn but friendly, offering us umbrellas and boogie boards for the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed at the Safari July 30 - Aug 2nd, 2009. We had the suite, which is one long narrow room with a pull out couch, 2 double beds, and a king bed - the room had 2 AC units, a full fridge, and a microwave. It's not the fanciest hotel - but it was clean, comfortable, the employees were friendly, and the location and price cannot be beat - I would definitely stay there again. You also receive a discount if you shop at the Safari jewelry shop, which we discovered while browsing there.

My only criticism would be against guests, not the hotel - The Safari is pet friendly - Several guests had the YAPPIEST dogs I have ever seen (footnote, I am an animal lover) - Please, if your pet is not well behaved, leave it home!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#52 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#38 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#40 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#56 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#74 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#41 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Motel Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motel Boardwalk

Address: 1 13th Street and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Motel Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari Motel offers a unique lodging experience that includes clean, comfortable, and affordable rooms. Start your day with our complimentary coffee and tea service at the lobby or relax at our common oceanfront balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the Boardwalk. Booking at the Safari Motel, you will enjoy courteous personalized service and a welcoming home away from home atmosphere. We are a pet friendly motel (limited availability & fee.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Safari Motel Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motel Boardwalk Hotel Ocean City
Safari Motel Ocean City
Safari Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Motel Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.