We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we keep coming back year after year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Motel Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Motel Boardwalk to your Saves list
Safari Motel Boardwalk
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 13th Street and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
towson,md
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“we keep coming back year after year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Safari Motel is great for us. It is pet friendly and super clean. Although some vacationers may want for amenities such as a pool, we keep returning because of the location--right on the boards and beach and as aforementioned, the cleanliness of the rooms. We spend a great deal of our time on the upper deck which affords a great view and relaxing experience. The Safari is family owned and operated. Shops and restaurants are within short walking distance. We love it.

Room Tip: Pet rooms are not carpetted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    35
    21
    12
    13
See reviews for
65
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hanover twp
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I just got back with my two dogs and husband from another wonderful stay at the Safari Motel on the Boardwalk in OC MD. Everytime we are there we stay at the same Motel because it is the best in OC MD they owners are very kind and courteous. The staff is very helpful , it is pet friendly and our dogs love it. It is located right on the boardwalk where you can walk right out to the ocean , restaurants, shop , ride bikes or whatever it is that makes your vacation a relaxing experience. The reason we keep going back is simple it is RELAXING AND FRIENDLY. For anyone who is looking to have a wonderful vacation this is the Best place to stay in OC MD. I can't wait to go back, the only thing bad is leaving, however We know that we are always welcome there and can keep going back. I suggest that anyone lookin for a nice relaxin Vacation to give the Safari Motel a try and you will not be Disappointed.
Cecelia and Al Shemanski, Starr and Eddie

Room Tip: Tooms on the first floor have easy acess outside if you have pets. There is also beautiful accomdati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were staying here for about 3nights 4 days and it was a great experience.

Pros
Oceanfront
pet friendly
coffee/tea
clean
quiet
Top floor shared balconies

cons
no food inside the motel
Not updated motel
no private balconies

Room Tip: Our rooms were 201 and 203 very clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Safari is a great value and very clean. However, this hotel isn't for everyone. The Safari is a desired taste that has its share of pros and cons. Pros- one of the cleanest hotel that I have ever seen or stayed in, this includes the bath rooms. Secondly, its location is located directly on the board walk. Third, the staff is friendly and polite. Forth, the Hotel is also pet friendly. Furthermore, the Safari's rooms are reasonably priced. Cons- there isn't a pool. Secondly, most rooms don't have refrigerators or microwaves. Third, the rooms and bathrooms are very clean but out-dated and small. The bottom line is that if locationon on the board walk, clean rooms, and a friendly staff are you priority, than the Safari motel may be your best choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

While not a premier 5 star hotel,My wife and I were so happy that we decided to book this room. The Staff was excellent,the rooms were clean,including the bathrooms,and it's pet friendly as well. The whole family really enjoyed our stay. It was affordable and right on the boardwalk. I would absolutely stay there again and wouldn't have any remorse to advise my closest friends or family to do likewise. Safari On The Boardwalk...You Guys Rock !! ~~~~ Tim and MaryBeth from the Philly suburbs

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robesonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Located directly on the beach. Advertised as ocean view, but the view is out a side window, with a community balcony that is out-dated and safety questionable. Rooms are clean but very small. Highly over priced!!! Staff very friendly and helpful!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Ask for a room on the north side of the motel. Ours was bright, with a good view of the ocean. There's alot of tacky places in Ocean City. This one is kitsch, which I'll take over tacky any day of the week. There's a big plastic Gorilla on the shared deck, there are stuffed animals in the lobby. It's reasonably priced as places here go. We just used OC as a base and explored Assateague island and surrounding towns. Safari was ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#30 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#14 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#32 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#33 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
5.9 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#58 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Motel Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motel Boardwalk

Address: 1 13th Street and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Motel Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari Motel offers a unique lodging experience that includes clean, comfortable, and affordable rooms. Start your day with our complimentary coffee and tea service at the lobby or relax at our common oceanfront balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the Boardwalk. Booking at the Safari Motel, you will enjoy courteous personalized service and a welcoming home away from home atmosphere. We are a pet friendly motel (limited availability & fee.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Safari Motel Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motel Boardwalk Hotel Ocean City
Safari Motel Ocean City
Safari Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Motel Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.