We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Motel Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Motel Boardwalk to your Saves list
Safari Motel Boardwalk
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 13th Street and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
hanover twp
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I would like to tell you about my most recent trip to the Safari Motel boardwalk OC MD, we had the great oppurtunity to visit Ocean City Maryland for a nice relaxing and wonderful vacation. We keep going back to OC MD and of course would stay nowhere else due to the wonderful staff at the Motel and the fact that they are pet friendly, excellent location and the most convient location right on the boardwalk with the beach and ocean right outside your door. Restaurants and shops right on the boardwalk and easy acess if you want to talk the bus anywhere in Ocean City. We stayed there from Sept 25th till Oct 2nd. As usual the staff was very friendly, the rooms were extremely clean. and free ice, coffee, tea and great hospitality. Our dogs Starr and Eddie had a great time on the boardwalk and beach as well and was treated great from the staff as well. I know I have written numerous compliments and have stayed at this motel for about 17 yrs and a couple times a year. But when you find the best place there is in OC to stay there is no need to look for any other place when it could not compare to this place. Al and I , Cecelia and Starr and Eddie would like to take this time to thank Arthur and the entire staff, Yolanda and Marie for an excellent vacation again. We are looking forward to seeing you again shortly. I would recommend that everyone wanting a relaxing and great motel to check out the Safari Motel.

Room Tip: If you have pets you would want to stay on bottom floors to take pets out easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    32
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
60
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

In planning our vacation to ocean city the week after labor day, one of our requirements was to be able to take our two dogs with us. Safari seemed like a good choice, and it absolutely was. The "pet" rooms were on the first 2 floors and of course had tiled floors, not carpet. Nice basic rooms, VERY clean! comes with a small fridge, and coffee in the lobby. The staff was exceptional and very polite. There was the sound of pups missing their owners from the lobby, but we never heard anything in our room. We had the chance to talk with some people on the beach, and when we told them where we were staying, they said that everyone they talked to from there were equally as happy as us! A definately recommendation, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occoquan, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

PRO: Ok to start off with it was very clean. This place is a border line "Hotel" not motel. We felt very comfortable there. The mattress and box spring were both covered with a removable and washable cover to prevent infestations and I could tell that it was brand new. The carpet and bathroom flooring was clean and not sticky or damp ( I hate that). For a motel the room had a fridge that was not tiny and the bathroom was acceptable size. The staff was very helpful and would not accept tips (We tipped anyways :))
CON: There are no beach front views from the rooms although it is on the boardwalk, so be careful when you see beach front listed (They do however have a veranda in front of the building). Also even from the Third floor you can hear the loud music from the store downstairs which starts early in the morning.

Room Tip: Top floor would be best to cope with noise from music and people upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is our second time staying at Safari and there was no question about it when we decided to go on this visit. This place is ideal for us since we take our dog with us and they are super helpful as our last time. The room was clean which is important to us and beds are comfortable. Thank you Art for your wonderful hospitality and making our stay enjoyable. The friend we had with us will also be taking advantage of your facility hopefully in the near future.

Room Tip: This location is ideal because it is right on the boardwalk and convenient to shops and beach. Perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you are looking for a pet-friendly hotel in Ocean CIty, MD, the choices are few and far between. Safari Motel is right on the boardwalk and the parking is free so these are big deals. The room was tiny but clean. I am amazed by the pet fees being charged in Maryland and Virginia. This one was $30 per night and in my current location, they are actually charging $40 per night for a declawed, spayed female cat. Ridiculous!!!
At Safari, the usual amenities that we have all become accustomed to during our travels, are absent. No breakfast, no hairdryer, nowhere to hang clothes, needless to say, no iron but again this is the beach so I guess it's okay to walk around wrinkled.
I found it to be overpriced but I guess when you are on the boardwalk, it's whatever people are willing to pay.

Room Tip: I was placed on the first floor next to the front desk and ice machine. Punished for having a pet I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The main reason my husband and I booked this hotel was because it was the only pet friendly hotel with availability for labor day weekend. The room had everything but a microwave. It was just an old hotel. There aren't any plush amenities. There isn't a pool either. We did like the fact that there was a community balcony, tile floors, and that it was on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Safari Motel is a wonderful place to stay. Family owned and operated. If you needed anything they were right there to accommodate your needs. Very friendly and did everything they could to make your stay a great one. I will be staying at this motel every time we go to Ocean City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Motel Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motel Boardwalk

Address: 1 13th Street and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Motel Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari Motel offers a unique lodging experience that includes clean, comfortable, and affordable rooms. Start your day with our complimentary coffee and tea service at the lobby or relax at our common oceanfront balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the Boardwalk. Booking at the Safari Motel, you will enjoy courteous personalized service and a welcoming home away from home atmosphere. We are a pet friendly motel (limited availability & fee.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Safari Motel Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motel Boardwalk Hotel Ocean City
Safari Motel Ocean City
Safari Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Motel Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.