We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taking a break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Islander Motel to your Saves list
The Islander Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   2001 Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
leesport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“taking a break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

I would just like to say we had a great weekend, just moms away taking a break from kids, work , home . Everything was nice pool, rooms, friendly oweners . The only thing i was not happy about was the people above me keeping me up till 3:00 so i went to the owner about this problem , with in second you took care of it. The next night there was no problem Thank You for taking care of it right away . LISA

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    5
    17
    75
See reviews for
44
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

They need to upgrade their tvs and provide remotes for them. They also need to upgrade their bathroom walls and floor very dirty.The kichen also needs a upgrade.And replace their capet. And fix their damn ice machine.......Do not stay HERE .......THE WEBSITE SOLD ME BE CAREFUL.

  • Liked — Close to the beach
  • Disliked — No remote control for the tv
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a mini-vacation in O.C. and were pleased with the price and convenience the Islander Motel provided. The room was cleanly, the a.c. worked properly and kept the room cool, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was ideal. There wasn't a phone in the room, but who doesn't have a cell on them these days? And there may not have been a microwave, but there are so many restaurants to choose from and close by. The front desk staff was happy to give us more towels when we stopped by the office late one evening. It was quiet at night and many seemed to enjoy the pool during the day. Not to mention the beach and boardwalk are two short blocks away! We greatly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. If you are considering hotels/motels in the O.C. area and are on a budget, consider the Islander. We figured the less we spent on our lodging, the more we could spend on delicious foods at the neighboring restaurants. Our one critique was that the towels were rough and thin. There will always be poor reviews for hotels, but ours does not fall into that category whatsoever.

  • Liked — Location to beach
  • Disliked — Rough towels, but that's hardly a complaint!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Before booking our reservation we called to checkout the amenities after reviewing the Islander's website. We wanted an effeciency. We were assured that the effeciency would come fully equipped with dishes, cookware, towels, etc. We called a few days before checking in to confirm what we could expect and decide what to bring. The person with which we spoke told us that we had a very nice recently remodeled room. When we arrived the room smelled of some chemical, the carpet was stained, the furnishings and decore dated. There were limited items for use in the kitchen (that we were afraid to use), there were a few towels in the bathroom, but no washclothes, no bath mat for the floor, no soap, no towels for the kitchen area, no phone in the room, and no drawer space for clothes. The dead bolt on the door wouldn't work with the key and the door looked like it had recently been broken in to or the like. The ice machine didn't work during our entire trip and people with large vehicles didn't follow the posted parking procedure of parking facing in, which made for issues in the parking lots, because management didn't enforce the posted regulations. We had to ask for towels the first 2 days (finally receiving enought for the remainder of our stay) and take out our own garbage because the housekeeping didn't check the door hanger and note we left. The refrigerator was difficult to regulate. We sprayed the room with disinfectant daily and kept our food and belongs bagged. They have a posted policy of no refunds after checkin, so you are stuck unless you request seeing your accomodations prior to paying/checking in, which I wish we would have done. My family and I having been coming to Ocean City for many years and have never been so disappointed or treated so poorly. We were grossly mislead by the Islander's website and the employees with which we spoke prior to arrival. The Islander is not worth $1100+ for 7 nights.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not worth the money/dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

ok it was a last minute reservationand i was low on funds.
so i searched around and found the islander...it was cheap and avail last minute in august ....however it was a total dump
chipping paint bad pannelling smelly room bad a/c and just run down dirty.
it was a bad place to stay .the doors to the rooms had way old eys ...think gas station bathroom. the place was just what i guess i paid for in ocean city md. a cheap dump
please save more money and stay in a better place or change your dates but do not stay here .
i will enclose a few pick of the nathroom floor,which was cracked,
dirty and by the way lealed to the floor blow us ...oops
the walls in the bathroom were painted plywood no covering at all
gross...there was nomicrowave like my reservations said and the manager was not very fluent in english. he semed friendly but just not helpful
if this is the best 165 a night can get you in o.c. don't go
live and learn but don't stay here unless ya like the distinct experience of living in a housing project ...

  • Liked — the location to the marina
  • Disliked — the fact it was so run down and no phone/alarm clock /microwave ..nasty bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

This hotel web site is very deceiving. The web site makes it look like a palace. It is actually a DUMP. The place is very dated, which is ok if the dated amenities function properly. This is not the case at the Islander.

The rooms were cleaned with some type of industrial strength cleaner that smells worse that the mildew and dampness that it is meant to cover. The room was dirty. We actually purchased cleaner and Lysol and cleaned ourselves.

The desk clerk boasted that the room was recently remodeled. The carpet was stained in several places, the kitchenette was built with wood veneer cabinets circa 1975, the fridge was old and didn't work well. The wood paneled walls are vintage 1965. The room door lock had evidently been tampered with and did not work properly. The door lock would stick and the key did not fit properly. The dead bolt simply did not work. The room key did not fit the lock.

The ice machine did not work. We reported this to the office staff and they responded that they knew, but did nothing t fix it in seven days. We requested towels, bath mats, hand soap, etc. twice. All we got were excuses from the staff. I finally followed one of the staff to the laundry and got towels. The next day, I had to request towels again. They finally responded with a weeks worth of towels. This was the third day of a seven day stay.

All of this only cost us an average of $138 per night. This adds up to one big WARNING. These people are liars. They are rude and do not accomodate their guests. They merely take your cash and ignore your requests. As an OC regular, I will make every effort to send people across the street to one of the numerous other facilities on the block. STAY AWAY FROM THE ISLANDER.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everthing but the location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I've been staying at the islander for 3 years in a row and it's great, clean, fun atmosphere, but most important it's CLEAN! The price you pay for the room is excellent (compared to other motels in the area). The staff is AMAZING and willing to help you at any moment (for NORMAL/NON WACKY requests). I don't understand some of these people and there insane comments.When you go to a motel,you go to stay inside the room 24/7 or do you go to the beach, pool, shop, etc? I mean get real, It's a nice, clean, room with a bed, your not in there for no longer then 6 hours (when ur sleeping) GET A GRIP! If your going to the OC, I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Address: 2001 Philadelphia Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Islander Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a family owned and operated business, we understand how important it is to keep our customers completely satisfied. From our flexibledaily, weekly and monthly rates to our spacious, quiet lodgings, we are the perfect location for a great vacation! UNDER New Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Ocean City
Islander Motel Ocean City
Islander Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.