We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST at sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fager's Island Bar

Fager's Island Bar
201 60th Street on the Bay, Ocean City, MD 21842
1-888-371-5400 / 1-410-524-5500
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Nightlife in Ocean City
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Performances, Bars
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A MUST at sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food is great. Don't miss a spectacular sunset and unique sunset entertainment at Fager's Island!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    34
    5
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“John Fager Rule”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Went to the bar at Fager's Island on Saturday for a drink. When we walked in at around 3:30 pm there was only one other patron at the bar, a local regular.

The other thing that I noticed was that the flat screen television above the bar was not on. Last year we watched NCAA football there.

So we ordered drinks and asked the bar-back to turn on the TV. He said, "I wish I could." I asked if it was broken or the cable was out. He told me that they were not allowed to turn the tv on. It was a John Fager rule. They were only allowed to turn it on for special events. He said, "Like an Orioles game."

I thought he was joking. It's a fall Saturday!!

When the bartender later asked how we were doing, I said I'd be doing better if the TV was on. She acknowledged the same rule, but said that she might be able to talk to the manager about it. I told her not to bother, we would just finish our drinks and be on our way.

Next thing you know, the tv is on. Within an hour there were nine people at the bar watching college football.

Goofiest thing I've ever heard........John Fager rule. SMH!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food great sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Fagers Island will play the 1812 overature at sunset every day of the week. Its just something fun to do while you are sitting an enjoying a drink or dinner. Food has always been consistent. I love their fish tacos

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

You can't go wrong with the fish tacos. Any of their appetizers are good, especially the crab dip and the swordfish bites.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardsley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“didn't even get the chance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked reservations here 3 weeks before my trip to Ocean City. I called the day I got there with my reservation number as I was about to leave to go to the restaurant. Guess what, they lost my resrrvation becuas they said it was no there. Add to the fact I told the lady on the phone and she could not give a rats behind. Even telling her over and over agin the confrimation number, she said oh well we don't have it so sorry in a smart azz type of way. ASlmost ruined my anniversary until I booked at Sunset Grille and that place was awesome. If you want to be treated like garbage, go there I guess.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fager's Island Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fager's Island Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fager's Island Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.