We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boardwalk and economical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 North 1st Street, Ocean City, MD 21842 (Formerly Haven Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Chambersburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Boardwalk and economical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very nice hotel. Nice location within walking to everything. Rooms clean, excellent customer service at the front desk with B.Slack? and our maid was fantastic in Room #408. We were given a business card and received a very nice freebie at Hoopers Crab House on our way out of town. Awesome Ocean City experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmgr130, Front Office Manager at Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and your kind comments. Our guests are very important to us and hope to see you next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
24
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you are looking for a high-end hotel, look somewhere else. If you are looking for a place to sleep and shower then this is the place to be. The location is Prime Real Estate...right at the corner of 1st Street on the Boardwalk. Steps from the ocean and all the activity of the boardwalk and inlet area amusements.

My husband and I spent 4 days/3 nights at the Ocean1 Hotel this past weekend. When I booked the room last month, the girl on the phone was very polite, very friendly and amazingly upfront about EVERYTHING. I wanted an oceanfront room and the only room they had left was the smallest room in the hotel. She advised me straight off the bat that the room was TINY...just a Queen Bed and a TV. I told her no worries, it's just the two of us - as long as there is a bed, a bathroom and working a/c unit then it would be fine.

Parking is tight both at the hotel itself and in the over flow lot a block away. But this tends to be the issue with most hotels along the boardwalk. There are only about 5 parking spots plus 2 handicap spots right at the hotel. We were able to back into the garage at the office doors to unload our luggage when we checked in and then move our car to the over flow lot. We have a pick-up truck and when the over flow lot is full it's really tight to swing a truck into the parking spaces...but with a little patience you'll be fine.
The room was small - but again, I had been told this upfront and made the decision to accept the room for what it is. It was perfectly sufficient for our stay. Basic, non-modern necessities - a bed, an older tv and a small table (which was basically an extra end-table with chairs on either side) and a small refrigerator. The bedspread was your typical old motel bedspread, but the sheets were clean and the bed was relatively comfortable.
The bathroom was VERY CLEAN. Absolutely nothing fancy about the bathroom - but again it was CLEAN!!! If you are looking for marble countertops and a multi-jetted shower - this is not the place for you. If you want a CLEAN bathroom...go for it!!
My biggest issue with the hotel, and the one thing that may keep me from returning is the WIFI signal. It is non-existent in the room - worked great in the hallway outside of our room but as soon as you stepped into the room the signal vanished. I needed to check-in with work several times over the weekend and had to either sit in the hallway outside of our room (which made the other guests look at me funny) or take my laptop to the Dunkin Donuts several blocks away. I mentioned this issue the morning after our first night there to the front desk and was told the manager would have to contact the IT guy to see if it could be fixed. As of Sunday morning when we left there was still no signal to be found.

If you are noise sensitive, you may have a problem with the location of the hotel since the street performers work on the boardwalk until late in the night right at 1st street. Plus the general noise from the boardwalk can get loud until later in the evening. Also, whenever our neighbors either beside us, above us or below us opened or closed their balcony door you would hear the door bang against the wall

All in all, it was a great weekend - and the hotel is not as bad as some people are making it out to be. If you want a convenient location, clean room and beautiful view of the beach and the ocean at affordable rates then this hotel will fit the bill.

Room Tip: Room 301 is VERY small...basically only enough room to walk around the queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmgr130, Front Office Manager at Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your vacation. Would like to welcome you back in 2015, always look forward to seeing our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was a very nice place to stay. Staff was very friendly, the rooms were very clean. The room had 2 double beds with plenty of room. The only thing I thought the room needed was a blow dryer and it didn't. The location of the hotel was a very great place. It was a great price for staying on the boardwalk. The staff there gave you direction of what was around you or ask if you were looking to do anything special that they could help you find. Over all our experience of staying at the hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmgr130, Front Office Manager at Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your vacation destination, and for your very kind comments. We would love to see you in 2015 it is always a pleasure to have our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The room was supposed to have two queen beds in the room. When we got there and checked in we went up to the room and it had one double bed. The room was no larger than a closet. Two adults and two children could not fit in that room. Luckily we had two other rooms and had to split our kids with our other family members. Everything in the room was out of date and just crappy. The only positive thing is that it was ocean city. First and the only time that we will ever stay there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmgr130, Front Office Manager at Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
We were sorry to hear that your vacation did not go as planned. We are never pleased to hear that our guests did not have a good stay. We would hope that you will give us another try next year our guests are important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This place was absolutely incredible for what we needed it to be. We wanted a cheap and clean place to stay on the boardwalk with a view of the ocean. Check, check, check, and check. If we only got our expectations, this would be an average review. There were bonuses along the way, though!

The hotel staff is as friendly as you'll meet anywhere. The general manager and front desk staff were always eager to chat when leaving and coming back in and were always interested in knowing what we had done that day. Also, for out-of-towners, their restaurant and bar suggestions were much appreciated. The cleaning staff was very accommodating and always very nice upon our many requests for towels.

This hotel was everything we needed it to be and more. I have absolutely no desire to stay anywhere else in OCMD when I return and will undoubtedly return to Ocean 1.

Room Tip: Side-view rooms have a very good view of the ocean. If you don't want to spring for an ocean-fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmgr130, Front Office Manager at Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments and for staying with us. We would love to welcome you back next summer, it is always a pleasure to see our guests come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Let me start off by saying I paid $89 per night on April 25-26. The location is 1st street on the boardwalk. I ran in the OC race which ended at the inlet so the location of the hotel was ideal. They have off property parking about 1 1/2 blocks away right next door to the lazy lizard brew pub. The room is very basic. Sofa looks a bit warn and the shower didn't work great. 32 inch flat screen was nice and we had one queen bed. No complaints about the bed. Room, hall ways and the overall hotel was clean. The rooms don't have hair dryers, but I feel every hotel should have this. We called the front desk and they said they do have them at the front desk but guess what? they didn't have any or others already requested them. So no hair dryer for the weekend. My review summary is...for the rate of $89 per night I feel ok about my experience. But the avg nightly rate in mid June goes up to $220 per night. But this is expected for hotels is this area. Would I stay again? I'm not saying it's horrible, but I'm not saying it's great. Just average. For 2 nights at $89 maybe/probably not but I don't think I would stay for more than 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ocean front would be better. But the price may be too high for the room? Location is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmgr130, Front Office Manager at Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your vacation and taking the time to write a review. We would hope that you would come and stay with us again in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by on our way to OBX..
We"d never been to OC.. we booked online..nice price.. great view ..and right on the boardwalk.. our room was clean and the staff was very helpful,giving us suggestions and ideas for supper and breakfast...(see those reviews) we would stay here again ..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmgr130, Front Office Manager at Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We would love to have you come back to see us in 2015. It is always a pleasure to see our guests come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites

Address: 101 North 1st Street, Ocean City, MD 21842 (Formerly Haven Hotel)
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean 1 Hotel & Suites is located at 1st street & the boardwalk. Overlooking the beautiful beach of the Atlantic Ocean, the hotel& Suites are within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, nightlife, fishing and the amusements on the Ocean City's newly renovated boardwalk. The hotel features 16 guest rooms with a direct Oceanfront & Boardwalk view. Some rooms include an in-room two person jacuzzi tub.. We offer side view rooms as well. All rooms have a partial kitchenette and balcony. One parking space per unit. Limited on site parking and off site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.