We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Truth” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riviera Motel
2510 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Truth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was at first I ignored the bad reviews and aimed at the good ones. That was a horrible choice. I was very unsatisfied. Let's start with the room. Most of the drawers fell out when you pull them, the beds had alot of weird stains, and the bathroom had dirty black specks in it. The pool was okay, the first few days had a ton of leaves in the pool. The hallway was really dirty, the carpet was ripped and teared and had smelly stains everywhere. I was wondering why they didn't PUT any room pictures on the website. Obviously when you look at the outside, it seems amazing by the bright colors. Wrong again. The rooms we booked were all different. One with 3 beds, one with 2, one with a couch, one without one; even though we asked for the same rooms. The air conditioning was perfect for a hot day. Close to the beach, no crossing streets. Overall I was disappointed and wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    6
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been going here for years as a family, this year was the worst!!! we are looking into other areas, people where hanging on the balconys all nite with music blasting and people partying till 3am, couldnt sleep and rooms were dirty!!! such a shame use to be a nice family motel,place is poorly manage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I wouldnt have a problem coming back to the Riviera if it wasnt for their rude staff. After coming home at night and realizing we didnt have a remote for the tv, we went to go ask for one. There was one guy at the desk and after asking for a remote i was told " you have a remote" I told him again we didnt have a remote in our room and he replied " you have a remote go find it." It was late at night and neither my friend or i were up for arguing so we left and went back to our room. During checkout time i didnt want to deal with another rude person so i let my friend check out for us. She walked back outside without our $100 deposit. The same man conveniently forgot to give her back the deposit. ( she never stood at a motel before and forgot all about the deposit we put down) Also, after inspecting the room during checkout he had the nerve to ask us where the remote control is! I left the motel disappointed that i ever paid money there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for a week with a few friends. Not the classiest hotel, but it was a cool place to sleep. I will say the rooms are bigger than most hotels. We had an efficiency with 2 full beds and a pull-out couch. The air conditioner keeps the room cold. I wouldn't recommend it to families, but if you need a cold room to lie your head at night close to the beach, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

lets start with the bad...smelly hallway, smelly room, room was not up to date, hole in the shower curtain, no mini-fridge, terrible bed felt like springs were jabbing you in the back all night, parking was not engineered right if you park under the building, dirty windows going out to balcony, mirror in bathroom was made for people 6 foot or taller, AC unit was not proper size for the hole that was in wall you could see to the outside in some spots, and the list goes on....but the best part was the housekeeping they kept the room clean and with fresh sheets and towels(smell of the room went away more once housekeeping was in there the first day but something still lingered around). the location is also nice due to it being so close to the boardwalk.....but the bottom line is ill never stay here again ill pay the extra money to stay somewhere nice n descent

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend and will never come back to stay here again. The AC unit on the wall was off centered and must of leaked on the wall that made the wall crack. The sliding glass door was so dirty that you could not see thru it. The ceiling in the bathroom was drop ceiling and looked like it was gonna fall. When we first walked in the room it smelled of cigars and the floor looked dirty. The only good thing about our stay was a working bathroom (hot water) and the housekeeping daily.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I stayed there the first week of August. We did have a leaky roof problem but once reported to the management they not only moved me to a new room but also offered to help carry our belongings. Yes, this place is not new but they try to keep this clean and affordable. Staff was great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riviera Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Motel

Address: 2510 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Riviera Motel Ocean City
Riviera Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riviera Motel to your Saves list