We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Sea Hawk Motel
12410 Coastal Highway, 124th St Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
artichoke72
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

I didn't know what to expect from the Sea Hawk Motel. For the price, I didn't have high expectations. I am happy to say I was pleasantly suprised. The lady working in the office was really nice and friendly. The motel property was very clean and well maintained. Our room was immaculate! Not even a grain of sand anywhere. Truly the cleanest hotel/motel room we have ever stayed in. The motel is located about 1 1/2 blocks from the beach and you don't have to cross a major street to get to it. The motel is located in the "uptown" section of Ocean City and not near the boardwalk. We didn't mind. We had a good time in Ocean City and would definitely stay at the Sea Hawk again.

  • Liked — Clean and close to the beach.
  • Disliked — Not near the Boardwalk
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    62
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
101
58
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, PA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

We stayed at one of their 4th floor rooms with a very nice view of the main highway that dissects Ocean City. Room is quite decent, very clean and affordable for the price we paid ($150 for 3 adults & a 3 yr. old). Though this is the cheapest room available, it has all the amenities you need like a small refrigerator, AC that sends a of blast of arctic air, TV with ample cable channels, small desk, a table with two chairs, 2 queen beds and a sofa with pull out bed. Pool is clean and open until 8 PM.

Place is very close to the beach through a small alley between condominiums. So close to the beach, you can walk back to your room many times for bathroom breaks. On our last day after handing back our keys, we used the outdoor shower to wash. There is also a small "changing room" which is actually a bathroom but without any hooks/holders for your dry/clean clothes.

Just across the highway you can find numerous food joints like McDonald's, Wawa (gas, coffee, milk, hoagies, etc.), a pizza place, awesome crab cakes at the Crab Outlet (2nd traffic light towards downtown OC), Higgins (2-3 traffic lights on the opposite direction) with its phenomenal AYCE (all-you-can-eat) crabs.

Overall, this is a phenomenal place to stay for budget conscious individuals. Location is family oriented and thus quiet during evening hours. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach.
  • Disliked — Outside changing room or bathroom is too small but acceptable.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Our first trip to Ocean City, MD. Once I got over the shock that there is an 8 lane highway that is unavoidable in Ocean City and got used to the hassle of dealing with it, I started to appreciate the little things. Like what a good value this motel was, and how incredibly clean it is.
In a nutshell, it is an old motel that is very well maintained. Nothing fancy, but the property has made the most of itself. It is freshly painted, the outdoor walkways were scrubbed by housekeeping, and planters with flowers were placed where there was room. There was no beach grunge in the rooms, carpets were clean, and so were the bedspreads!!!! Housekeeping seemed to wash these frequently as we saw them piled up in laundry carts. Our room had comfy beds, a mini kitchen complete with stove, microwave, fridge, cutlery, dishes, pots, pans, flyswatter, 2 queens and a separate sofa area that had a folding door that could be pulled across for a separate "suite" like effect when the kids were asleep, we could stay up. All for around $157 is a night in peak season. It was a block to the beach and you don't have to cross the highway like so many other hotels (watching families with toddlers and infants cross an 8 lane highway to get to the beach was a frequent sight, so if you stay, stay beachside! ) There is a small but clean and refreshing pool. I liked this property. Just beware - Ocean Ctiy is very congested and overbuilt, with lots of high rises. Very different from LBI and Cape May in NJ, and Rehoboth in DE.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — right on the highway
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hughesville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We just returned from a 5 night stay in Ocean City. It was our first visit there and we had no idea what to expect or where anything was located ect. After reading many excellent reviews on the Sea Hawk we decided to give it a try. We were very pleased! When we pulled in the parking lot at 10 PM , we noticed many people sitting out on their balconys and we were concerned it would be a noisy night. We slept like babies! We heard nothing. There were many teens staying at the motel traveling with teams and as parents of teens we know even the best behaved kids are noisy. But every guest and every employee at this motel was so kind and respectful. I do agree that the pool could be open just a bit later and we didnt have a coffee maker in our room which would have been nice. There was fresh coffee right downstairs though.. so we survived! We asked our teen children if they wanted to stay there again or if they would rather stay closer to the boardwalk and they agreed that the Sea Hawk was just what we wanted in a stay.It was only a quick walk to the ocean and there was mini golf right across the street too. We are already talking about going back next year!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — nothing worth complaing about!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

This place is just great! There were 6 of us in one room and we all had enough space. The efficiency unit was so convenient when you don't want restaurants all the time (by the way, I would advise that you stay away from Dough Roller across the street-the food was TERRIBLE! 4 out of 6 of us HATED our meal, the lasagna was a mushy mess, the shrimp was uncooked and springy etc. and very expensive too). Having a pool at the hotel was wonderful (although I agree with the previous review that 8 is a little early to close). The room was very clean and the hotel owner Pam as well as the other lady at reception were very friendly and helpful. You can tell they take pride in their place and their clients are important to them. It is a 10 to 15 minute car ride to the boardwalk but the kitchen, pool, cleanliness and price make the drive worth it. You can't find a better deal for all those extras in OC. The beach is just behind the motel (with a few condos is between). 2 minute walk. The beach is beautiful and clean. We actually swam with dolphins jumping just a few yards away!!!! The waves are big and we had more fun on the beach than on the boardwalk (although that's great too!). On the last day, once you've checked out, you can come back to rinse off and change in the changing room. Nice touch! Also, great to have McDonald's just across the street and grocery store within walking distance. We all will definitely stay here again (and for longer next time) and recommend to friends.

  • Liked — kitchen, proximity to beach, cleanliness
  • Disliked — pool closing at 8
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, WV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed at the Sea Hawk for a weekend basketball tournament in June. I was a little worried because the price was so cheap, and you know. . you get what you paid for. But in this case what a bargain!! The rooms were incredibly clean. Immaculately clean. The rooms were very spacious, and they all had balconies that faced the main street. It was also right across the street from the gym where we played our games. Good restaurants were all within walking distance or a very short drive. I was more than pleased with our stay there. The only two things I would change would be. .. . a laundry room, which was very inconvenient seeing as how we were there for a basketball tournament with 4 sweaty boys that had to have their uniforms washed nightly, AND, that the pool would stay open longer. It was right outside the hotel office so it could be easily policed, but they closed at 8pm. Sometimes the kids wanted to swim at like 8:30 or 9pm and us parents wanted to sit around the pool and watch them and relax and we couldn't. Other than that, it was great! A short walk back to the beach and far enough away from the hustle and bustle on the other end of town. Desk staff was awesome too. Very personable and funny.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, closeness to beach/sporting venue
  • Disliked — No laundry room, pool closed early
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We just returned from a 2 night stay @ the SeaHawk; we stayed July 19th & 20th. This hotel is a good deal. The location is right on Ocean Hwy. so it is a bit of a noisy location (most people would have time relaxing at the pool, although the pool is clean and well kept) I was very surprised that the rooms seem well sound proofed and with the air conditioner on I heard very little noise overnight. This is definitely an older hotel but the owners and the staff have evident pride in the place and the management/staff are nice/friendly. The rooms are very, VERY clean. The bathroom was immaculate. I believe that the litmus test for hotel rooms is the shower curtain. At the bottom, inside edge of the shower curtain is where you can tell how much time the cleaning staff spends cleaning the room. This shower stall appeared NEW and the shower curtain was spotless! There were absolutely NO specks of dirt or cobwebs anywhere in that bathroom. We stayed on the 4th floor (room #450) and it appeared that the bathroom had been renovated (new "bathfitter" shower insert, new convex shower curtain rod and massager type shower head). Anyway, maybe we just lucked out and got a nice room. Another thing to note is that the bedspreads and bedding were quite nice. Pastel peach sheets (not the typical white), VERY clean and everyday when I saw the housekeepers they had a huge pile of clean bedspreads on a cart; they must wash the bedspreads on every check-out which I think is unusual for this "class" of hotel. Other noteworthy considerations: the hotel is only 1 & 1/2 SHORT blocks walk to the beach. They have complimentary coffee in the office. There is a "Doughroller" (pizza, pasta and breakfast) right across the street. There is a Dairy Queen right across the street. There is a 7-Eleven type store about 6 blocks away on the opposite side of the street. The "famous" Green Turtle bar & grill is about 10 blocks away across the street and I guess you could walk to it if you wanted. The bus stops right in front of the hotel.
Overall, a VERY good deal for the money if you keep in mind that TripAdvisor is supposed to be rating the VALUE of what you get for what you pay; it is NOT to be compared to AAA ratings, Michelen awards, etc.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach and very reasonable price!
  • Disliked — Highway noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Hawk Motel

Address: 12410 Coastal Highway, 124th St Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Hawk Hotel Ocean City
The Sea Hawk Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.