We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Sea Hawk Motel
12410 Coastal Highway, 124th St Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Sea Hawk was a pleasant surprise. A small family run motel in Ocean City that looks like it dates back to the ‘50s and even though it may be showing its age a bit, the motel was a nice find at a great price.

The efficiency we stayed in had two queen-sized beds and a pullout couch- perfect for two adults and a child. The room was comfortable and clean with plenty of pantry space for food as well as a decent sized frig.

The staff were friendly and attentive and were knowledgeable about local shops and restaurants.

The beach is just a short walk from the motel, a small block away. The boardwalk is a little further, about 6 miles from the motel. Everything else, supermarket, convenience stores, gift shops and restaurants are close. The pool is tiny and since it sits in the front of the motel by the main drag, a little noisy, but it was also refreshing and well cared for.

We enjoyed our short stay at the Sea Hawk and hope to return. It’s a comfortable, clean, affordable accommodation for a small family.

Room Tip: go for the double queen with pullout
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    60
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
100
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

When I was planning my first trip to OC, I was quite surprised to see a motel ranked #1 on TripAdvisor for hotels in OC, the #1 being this one. Motels usually translate to cheap accomodations in my mind, and from my experience. And given today's economy, I needed to save my money. So going on TripAdvisor experience, I booked a night here. It was well worth it!

This motel is quite inexpensive (paid $75 for a 2 queen bed room WITH an extra sofa bed). It had a good kitchenette included (pots, pans, stove, microwave, fridge, etc.). Room was decent; comforters were a bit dated, but I wasn't expecting Marriott quality at that price point. It was clean, comfortable, safe. Proximity to the beach was awesome. It literally is a block away from the sand. And u don't cross any major streets. One residential block, and you're there. To top it off, the lady who booked us in gave my 2 kids 2 free beach pails & shovels. Excellent , friendly staff.

I compared the price of the #2 hotel on TA, and that was like $300. The Seahawk's location is also very good for families. Since it is a bit north of the big big hotel properties with thousands of rooms, the area of the beach you are near is not as crowded, I believe, as the parts closer south to the Boardwalk. And driving from SeaHawk to the south area (Boardwalk area) was only a pleasant 10 min. drive down Coastal Highway.

Without a doubt, if we go to OC again, we will book again with this well tended beach motel. I'm used to 4-star hotels, and if I need/want that level, and willing to pay for it, I'm sure I would ... but for a quick trip to the beach wit h the kids, this motel fits the bill to a T!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We booked the efficiency room for our stay. The room was spacious, clean and everything we needed was there (big fridge, oven, dishes, toaster, etc.). Staff was friendly and housekeeping did a great job everyday. The beach is 2-min walk from the hotel, which maked the location very convenient. Restaurants, shops and grocery store are located near Sea Hawk Motel. The only negative aspects are that it is a bit far from the boardwalk and the noise insulation from the adjacent boulevard is not good, but this would not prevent us from staying at this hotel again. Highly recommended, excellent value for the price!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This place is an excellent family run motel at a reasonable price.... PERIOD !
We have FINALLY found a great place for us to come back to Ocean City every summer as we have been doing for over 30 years. Some of the old motels need improvements so we don't go back.......not this one!
We loved it....friendly helpful staff...My wife only returns to CLEAN and comfortable hotels.....We WILL BE BACK next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the Sea Hawk for 3 nights in the beginning of August. It was very clean and comfortable. At check-in they even gave our 3 year old a little bucket and shovel for the beach. Parking was great... we never had trouble finding a spot when returning to the motel. It's located right along the highway, but our room was actually very quiet. We didn't even hear the people in neighboring rooms. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

There's nothing fancy about The Sea Hawk Motel, but it is clean and the owners and staff are really nice and accommodating. We had a second floor room -- I think it was quieter than being on the ground floor.

Rooms are big -- no problem for our family of four. New comforters on the beds were cheery. The bathroom was dated but spotless.

It's not close to the boardwalk, so you'll have to drive to for restaurants and attractions, but we didn't find it a big problem, even during the summer season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I found the Sea Hawk Motel online and liked the location, the price, and the good reviews I read. Still, I wasn't expecting much and I was very pleasantly surprised. The motel was exceptionally well maintained for an older motel, with fresh paint, everything clean and no musty beach motel smell. The grounds were well-tended, with flowers and shrubbery everywhere. The efficiency contained two double beds separating by a folding curtain from the living room section with double sofa bed. The kitchen was adequate, although it contained minimal dishes, utensils and pots. The bathroom could have used a fan, but the window could be opened for airing it after showers. The pool was small but pleasant, with plenty of lounges and chairs. The staff was pleasant, and there was always coffee available in the office. The location, 125th on the ocean side of Coastal Hwy was pleasant and very convenient as long as you didn't want to go downtown to the Ocean City boardwalk.

Room Tip: Efficiencies and regular rooms are about the same size and price. Elevator serves the 4 floors. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Hawk Motel

Address: 12410 Coastal Highway, 124th St Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Hawk Hotel Ocean City
The Sea Hawk Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.