We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seabonay Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seabonay Motel to your Saves list
Seabonay Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2711 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our 3rd year staying here during Firemen's week. We also make a 2nd trip in October every year to take advantage of Customer Appreciation. When you stay between Memorial Day and Labor Day you can come back between the end of September (after SunFest) and The 2nd weekend of October for $10 per person per night based on the # of nights you stayed in the peak period.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    21
    11
    41
See reviews for
48
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We arrived at Seabonay earlier than our expected check in and our room was pleasantly already available. The staff was extremely friendlly. We had an oceanfront room with a beautiful view. The rooms are very clean with plenty of room for your clothes and necessities. The mini fridge was so helpful with leftovers and drinks throughout the weekend. The pool was always very blue and inviting. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends. Just a fantastic little getaway!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I will never stay here ever again. To begin with, there is no WiFi as advertised, the ice machine was broken, and the pictures on the site are extremely misleading. The lights outside the door are comforting, since the location seems extremely shady when you arrive, that is, comforting until you try to sleep and your room is lit up by said lights, even when the curtains are closed. The bathroom ceiling is falling apart, the shower has black mold throughout the grout. The room smells like mildew and musty. A good night of sleep is impossible because the walls are paper thin. While staying here we had a room right above us that seemed like they brought half the bar back with them. At 3:30-4am they all came back to their room, yelling, screaming, drunk, slamming doors, and being a general nuisance overall. When we called the front desk, nothing was done. We thought they were going to come through the ceiling with every step they took. I have stayed at my share of dives and dingy motels, and this is by far the worst I've ever been in. We will never stay here again. Sleeping on the street in a city would have been cleaner and quieter than here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Was lured by pics & internet offer; stayed in early August 2011. Pics do not reflect what is..however, I would stay here again, if ....they would update. No elevators. Pool-small. No microwave in room. Noisy AC. Would never stay poolside again. View is of an alley where garbage is picked up. Parking is limited;however, there is an overflow lot across a busy street. Poolside room-4th floor-disgusting, carpets-filthy, old, room furniture-very old, room smelled-had to lysol daily. Bathroom-small but, there was plenty of hot water. Told manager I was deceived by ad and she invited me back in late Sept for an oceanfront room which I thought was very nice--at a reduced rate! My daughter did go and she had a beautiful oceanfront room on 2nd floor--no problems. Maybe they put the internet specials on poolside in worst rooms--thus-you get what you pay for. Best feature-- ocean was beautiful; can pick up tram for boardwalk, bike rentals. Within walking distance on street to most things.

Room Tip: Book an oceanfront room unless you don't care about the room and its features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakloan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Rented out two rooms for beachweek 2011
awesome room service and friendly staff
would recommend to anyone looking for a spot basically on the beach, close to the boardwalk for a good price

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiftwater, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We chose to book a room there based on the reviews, the oceanfront room with balcony, and the proximity to the boardwalk (even though we didn't realize this is on the non-active side) - all of that was fine. We had a shared balcony; which was no big deal for late September, and the beach was just a few steps away.
Our room did have mildew on a wall, which didn't bother us, and the maid cleaned it one of the mornings (the same maid threatened to put our shoes out on the balcony since there was sand on them!).
A major disappointment was that the microwave and free coffee they claim to have is located in their lobby, not in your room. So we didn't even bother - just went out to eat. The biggest disappointment was the lack of internet service. They claim to have it when you book. I even followed up with an e-mail to verify they have it, to which they replied "Yes we do." We got their with our laptop, and could not connect. Then the girl in the lobby told us they don't have it! The work had to get done the night of our return instead.
Would I stay there again? No; once was enough.

Room Tip: Don't book on the pool side. It's a tiny pool surrounded by parking lot. Go for oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We were able to check in early and check out later which was a god send since we had a sick child with us. The woman at the front desk was amazing and very helpful and accomodating. Room was nice and the ocean view was amazing. We are definitely staying there again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the side so that you can see the beach and the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seabonay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabonay Motel

Address: 2711 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabonay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block north of the boardwalk, the Seabonay is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. All rooms are air-conditioned with a refrigerator and two double beds. All rooms share a walkway balcony. Feel free to take a swim in our 8ft. deep outdoor pool or if the beach is what you’re after, the Seabonay is directly oceanfront. From our location, you will be within walking distance from restaurants, amusements, the boardwalk and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Seabonay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabonay Hotel Ocean City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabonay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.