We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunsets and fresh oysters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BJ's on the Water

BJ's on the Water
115 75th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
410-524-7575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 384 Restaurants in Ocean City
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
PA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great sunsets and fresh oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

BJ's is an Ocean City staple and a regular stop on our OC restaurant rotation. Here are my recommendations based on visiting this restaurant many times. Whenever available, try fresh oysters from the raw bar. We had "Seaside Salts" this weekend and they were so sweet and fresh, with a nice, strong cocktail sauce. Try to get a bayfront table and stay for sunset - the views on a clear day are just beautiful. There is a pair of breeding ospreys that you can watch, as well as a daily duck feeding (great for kids to watch) every day at 1 pm. Try the crab imperial pizza (in the appetizer section), it is great to share but could easily fill you up as a meal if you had it by yourself. Very rich! The Maddie's Peanut Btter Pie is also out of this world - so rich and delicious. Save room for that one! They usually give you a $5 off coupon for your next visit, and we always seem to have one in the wallet. They have live music on weekend nights and the bands are pretty loud, so you might want to ask to be seated in the front room if you are eating dinner anywhere near 9 pm. They have a very nice outdoor deck/seating in summer, so if you visit when it's warm, ask to sit outside! The staff is very dedicated and we see the same servers there year after year, so that tells me they love their jobs and are making good money. This place is also jam packed on St. Patty's Day and they had a full bagpipe procession come through the resuaurant last year, which was pretty neat to see/hear. We have also had Thanksgiving here and they offered a traditional meal with all the trimmings for a very reasonable price, as well as the regular menu. Nightlife consists of a late 40's to 60's crowd year round FYI. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    115
    49
    24
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Started off with a bang but fizzled out...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Food was good...seated quickly...and once our meals showed up...our waiter disappeared. We've been done with our dinner for 25 minutes and he still hasn't come back to check on us or give us a check.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere! Great Food~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely view of the water while dining! Superbowl party in session when we arrived. I tried one of their daily specials; flounder with 2 sides. My spouse chose a steak entree. I really liked my fish entree; my spouse thought the steak didn't live up to its price ($24.99) although he thought sides were excellent. Definitely a place for adults only! Service proved to be excellent; noise level extreme until the party ended when the superbowl game began.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Direct bayfront restaurant: consistently a good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Beautiful direct bayfront restaurant: excellent views of the bay with lots of ducks. Indoor seating and plenty of parking. Fried shrimp tasty and had 2 sides with rolls. The shrimp crab imperial was excellent. The service was friendly and had an entertainment coupon that was buy one get one free so the price was good. I would recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“A Local's Point of View...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

In town off-season? Go here.
I can't review their dinners...I've never made it past the appetizers.
In this town, there are a few outstanding items that are served at various restaurants that you should absolutely order. These are dishes that are unique to that particular restaurant and are considered the best in town. Oyster Stew at HarborWatch; Lobster Mac at Nantuckets; French Onion Soup at Fager's; to name a few.
BJ's has one - and that is the Seafood Skins. Order them and you'll understand why I've never made it to the dinner entrees. They're loaded - and they're great.
If you're looking for live music - BJ's is the place, geared particularly to the 30+ crowd (and for younger people that know good music). A couple days a week they'll have local and regional bands, Saturday for sure. Always quality entertainment. It's a small place, so it'll be a little loud. If that bothers you, take a seat or table in the bayfront room. Much quieter but you can still hear the band.
Got kids? Stop by for lunch by 1 o'clock and watch a pretty amazing daily duck feeding. Kids (and me) love it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's on the Water also viewed

 

Been to BJ's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BJ's on the Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.