We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Scott Key Family Resort to your Saves list
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“this place is incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is the perfect place to bring a family. The facility is clean. the people are amazing. There are so many things to do there is no reason to leave and go in town. The indoor pool is amazing. The pirate ship is hours of fun. The shuttle is awesome. the longest i waited was less than 5 minutes. I can't say enough good things about this place. I will continue to take my family there for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2009
Thank you or your comments. Now that we run our two shuttles constantly from 9am to 10pm it has become on of our guests favorite amenities. We thank you for you decision to stay with us as we know you have choices. We will continue to strive to make our property a fun family destination!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    228
    62
    33
    28
See reviews for
557
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

This was our first trip to OC after years at Myrtle Beach. I am very glad we chose to stay at FSK after reading the reviews and agree wholeheartedly with the positives mentioned: great value, quiet and clean resort, super shuttle service, and very nice indoor pool (my 8 yr old and 1 and half year old were there every evening and did not want to leave!) and for us, a super location away from the bustling boardwalk. We had a great time staying here and will definitely be back in the future. Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Thank you for writing. Our extended shuttles hours have been a huge hit! The indoor pool is a center of our amenities and we love to hear stories of our guests enjoying their time there. We are thankful you choose the Francis Scott Key and Ocean City MD. We look forward to your next stay!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We just returned from FSK and thought it was a great deal. We have a 4 year old and a 4 month old and were not sure what to expect as this was the first time staying at FSK. Our 4 year old loved the resort. He could have stayed at the indoor pool the entire time we were there. Unfortunately, the Ohio Building does not seem to have sound proof walls. We could hear our neighbors both upstairs and beside us all the time. It got to the point that our 4 month old would wake up from the neighbor's noise not his 4 year old brother's noise. Also, the breakfast was pretty cheap and we were not offered trays to take back to the room for the coffee and tea we so desparately needed to wake up from the noisy neighbors. BUT we thought overall the resort was PERFECT for our family and we would stay again but in a cabin.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We are very excited as next year we will offer a full breakfast lunch and dinner - diner style. This will allow our guests the sit down breakfast that we have been hearing they want. We are also adding convention / lounge space for groups and for our guests to enjoy. As far as noise is concerned I apologize. We do at times have issues with noise and we are strict with our "quiet hours" but it is an issue we will discuss this winter with our co-workers to see how we can improve. We hope to see you again soon!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small Town, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We booked rooms at the Francis Scott Key Family Resort after reading the impressive reviews on TripAdvisor, and we are so glad we did! The resort sits right on Ocean Gateway, just a mile from the hustle-and-bustle of the Boardwalk, but it feels like a campground in the middle of the woods! It's cozy and quiet and spans more than 13 acres! We stayed in the lodge with a room facing Ocean Gateway. Amazingly, we heard absolutely no street noise at all. We were never bothered by the noise of guests in nearby rooms -- we couldn't even hear other showers running, which is usually a real annoyance. The activities for kids (and adults) are fabulous -- we took advantage of just about everything. Perhaps the best feature of this hotel is the shuttle. We went from hotel to Boardwalk in just minutes and could come and go as we pleased all day long! No traffic, no driving, just a relaxing jaunt with friendly, helpful bus drivers. The housekeeping staff filled our room with towels folded into animal shapes. The entire staff was exceptional. We will stay here on our next trip to OC, and we highly recommend FSK to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our property has that family campground kind of feeling. What a compliment as my children love that atmosphere as well. Our goal is to make our guest experience the best it can be! Thanks for taking the time to write!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

fsk is the best motel to stay, shuttle bus is so conveint. the staff is all so very nice ! rooms are clean ... & affordable ... close to the beach , but not in the rutt of everything !! high recomenened

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
We are looking forward to your next stay. It makes our day when we make our guests vacation a memorable one! Thanks for taking the time to write!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

traveled with softball team. the shuttle bus was great for girls to go to beach. Bad weather they played in indoor pool. the girls played volley ball at the court. I think they had to much fun, didn't do to well at softball.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2009
We hope that we see your team again soon! Our shuttle service has become one of guests favorite amenities. What started out years ago with one shuttle going every four hours is now two shuttles running none stop from 9am to 10pm. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We chose the FSK motel based on other reviews and we were not disappointed! The beds are very comfortable, the staff is friendly and available, the shuttle is great, the indoor pool was perfect for not so sunny days, and the mini golf, our night fun! Our room was a bit dark but it did not bother us so much. The location is great for people who want quiet time after a day at the beach and/or the buzzing of the boardwalk... After 7 days, our children didn't want to leave! We will be back this summer!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Scott Key Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.