We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why can't children use the hot tubs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Francis Scott Key Family Resort to your Saves list
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book online and save 10%
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
“Why can't children use the hot tubs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have been staying twice each year once in the summer and winter. We love the place especially the indoor pool but as our kids get older they get really upset that they can't use the hot tub and we don't go in either because it upsets them even more. They have been to Florida and on cruises and have always been able to use the hot tub even in Disneyworld. Since our kids spend so much time in pools we sorry to say we will have to start looking at other resorts in oc that allow children to use their hot tubs.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
The hot tub question we have heard other families question and I will give you our take plus some exciting news for 2015. It can be a safety issue when kids go from the swimming pool to the hotter temperatures of a hot tub. The places you listed have a lower spa temp which we considered since we are family oriented. The reason we have declined it two fold: first kids do have accidents and in such a small enclosure the down time to fix the issue is problematic. Second many adults have expressed that they like having the adult atmosphere and conversation in the hot tub area.

That being said we will be replacing the outdoor pool and putt putt area in 2015 with a new pool, snack shack bar and mini golf. It will be called Ship Wreck Cove and it will feature a pirate themed golf and pool decking with a family hot tub at a lower temp along with an adult only hot tub. We are very excited about this new upgrade and renderings will be on display this summer!

Hope we can keep you part of the FSK Family

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    217
    56
    33
    27
See reviews for
531
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My grandchildren loved the indoor pool in January. What a great treat at that time of year. They had a blast. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was very relaxing to have an adult beverage at poolside while the lifeguards patrolled and kept an eye on the kids too. It's only a few blocks from the beach and we went there for a little look see too even though it was January. They have mini golf and a restaurant and game room and features we did not use in our short stay but we'll return in the summer. Rooms are nice with a big fridge and microwave and safe and nice comfy beds with lots of pillows.

Room Tip: we were all the way in the back - seemed a good spot to be with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We think we have something for everyone here and so glad you agree. Making memories is what we hope to give our families the opportunity to do!

See you again soon
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

OMG....I cannot say how much we enjoyed our stay in JANUARY!! The INDOOR WATER PARK is heated!!! I do not know who enjoyed the break from the winter blahhhs more...the adults or the children!! The room was nice and clean!! The indoor water park was so nice for everyone! The food was right there ...convenient and affordable!! The adult beverages...again...right there and affordable!! I am really NOT a winter person and I am so glad I found this!!! Maybe if I can get up there once a month....Spring/Summer will not seem so very far off! THANK YOU FSK ...WE HAD AN AWESOME TIME!! CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
During this polar vortex it is nice to escape to the FSK and the Caribbean Key! Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The indoor pool is, of course, wonderful! Tons of kids having a blast with the slide, volleyball net, splashdown things. The golf course was okay, something fun to occupy time, even though it was the middle of winter lol. I think the indoor pool is the key highlight to this hotel. A lot of the other aspects are just mediocre. This is an older hotel/motel/whatever you want to call it so it's not expected to be brand new but to my adult eye, (these are things that I noticed, and my child didnt seem to mention) the golf course was somewhat dingy, and there was a tile in the kitchen area of our room, that was missing, leaving a black hole where the tile would have been, there was a beer cap from a previous guest left next to the night stand, and the bathroom...the light fixture didnt have a cover(not sure if it was supposed to) and the tub drain was pretty dirty with scum (greenish blue stains on the metal). We love that they have dvd players in the room, that's a nice feature. Upon arrival, there was an Orkin man parked out front and when we walked in, he was walking out with a vacuum, Eek! I get that bugs are a problem industry wide, and I guess it's good that they are "taking care of" the problem but that was a little discerning to see. We didnt have bugs, that I know of, so that's good. The employees are friendly enough. They are doing some renovations on some buildings But it just feels like something similar to having a really old car and throwing some new paint on it but the inside is still dingy and the motor is starting to run like h***.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I have to agree in the off season our indoor pool is the highlight of what we offer at the Francis Scott Key. We offer low off season rates and along with the indoor pool, arcade and fitness area at the Caribbean Key we also offer movie nights in the family lounge on weekends . We also have complimentary DVD rentals and board games guests can check out. We are in the process of replacing railings and steps on 9 buildings, updating our wifi and we are going through every guest rooms making any needed repairs and replacing all shower curtains. In the past four years we replaced the carpet and furniture in all 232 guest rooms and replaced every television with flat screens and DVD players. All guest rooms have tempurpedic mattresses. It is true our mini golf is dated and we will be making adjustments in the spring but the entire area is due to be replaced in 2015 with a new outdoor swimming pool, mini golf, bar, family and adult hot tubs that we are calling Shipwreck Cove. We have amazing loyal guests that we are dedicated to and we try to give a great experience at a reasonable price. As for Orkin they are contracted with us and do inspections and preventive treatments monthly . I hope your family enjoyed the indoor pool and made some memories !!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We reserved two rooms with kitchenettes for our children and grandchildren for a winter holiday visit. We live nearby but wanted them to experience all the fun at the Francis Scott Key Family Resort. Everyone enjoyed the clean, updated rooms, but the real favorite for the grand kids was the indoor Caribbean pool and arcade. 9which by the way is warm and cozy) With all that Ocean City MD has to offer off season, it was a perfect weekend for our family. The entire staff is friendly and eager to assist in any way possible. We hope to repeat this fun winter event next year!

Room Tip: We requested rooms near the pool for our winter visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review . Though the off season is different from summer it is still a great time to make memories with family . We are happy your family enjoyed their stay. See you again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have stayed here a few times the past years. Always love the pool for our winter getaways. I was disappointed this last visit. We had cockroaches crawling out of our mini kitchen cabinets. We did not see this until we woke up. We did a check out shortly after. I was taken aback by the front desks response. So I didn't think to get a name. When my husband commented on the cockroaches her response was "we have not cleaned for the winter." Besides for this incident we have always enjoyed our November stays for our sons birthday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
I had the opportunity to speak to the grandmother who booked the stay for her grandson today. We try to always be proactive for pest control issues and we take immediate action when we are guest notified. We clean our rooms daily of course but in the off season we do deep cleaning in our guest rooms in both fall and spring. We sent an email the day after the guest checked out and it would have been sent to the person who made the reservation and was not received by the actual guests who stayed. I have re-sent the email and offered the family to oversee every aspect of their next stay from reservation to check out. We are blessed to be part of many family traditions and hope to continue with this family!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We show horses in this area alot and also come to Ocean City for other events, Everyone in the family prefers to stay here. Great indoor pool with a bar, spacious rooms and easy access to your room. Even the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you...our Tempurpedic mattresses are a big hit! They are allowing horseback riding on our beaches now in the off season...hopefully you can enjoy that next time!

Merry Christmas!
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Scott Key Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.