We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“P&PnOC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Save Saved
You added Francis Scott Key Family Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book online and save 10%
Ranked #7 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Waynesboro, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“P&PnOC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

FSK is a great place to stay. Very much a family resort. Staff is friendly. My family & I have stayed here many times. It's close enough to the beach without being right down in all the crowd. The shuttle is wonderful, since parking at the beach can be difficult.

Room Tip: If you traveling with older teens (young adults) would recommend two rooms, a corner suite, or the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Our shuttle service is a great money saver as parking can cost a bit and finding a spot challenging. Our end units do provide extra space...great tip!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    215
    54
    33
    27
See reviews for
521
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've vacationed here for years, but have always stayed in the vacation homes. This year we were going only for a few days and stayed in the "Florida" building in an efficiency. We were traveling with an 11 month old and called ahead for a port-a-crib. Upon arrival it was already in the room with everything we needed. The room was great to include an apartment size refrigerator, a stove, and the vanity was separate from the bathroom. The staff was friendly as always, the accommodations great, and the indoor pool was just perfect! Looks like our family will always chose the FSK whether it be for a weekend or a week!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Florida building which is in the same areas as the indoor pool. Perfect, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are so blessed to have to many families that think of us as home away from from...Thank You. We have already begun the process of prepping for 2014...We hope to see you then!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have stayed here many times and continue to come back! It is not fancy but it is clean and comfortable. The indoor water park makes the stay worthwhile. The staff are always very friendly and the location of the hotel is a quick drive to the beach and the boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you...our indoor theme pool is a great memory maker! See you all again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I've seen your resort photos during several Ocean City Internet searches and always continued to look for something else because it wasn't located directly on the beach.

We chose FSK for our family weekend at the beach this time around for the 1) value and 2) indoor pool for my kiddos. I was so pleasantly surprised to find we almost didn't miss our usual ocean front room.

The staff was so very pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean...even in the corners and crevisis of the bathroom!!! The temurpedic mattress was very comfortable and I actually slept better then I do on my own mattress!

The diner was great and we ate breakfast here both mornings! The food was good, service was quick and very friendly.

The indoor pool was so much fun and had great food and drinks too! This is what sold us ! Not only was it a lot of fun.. It was clean!

I wish we had been here during the season to take advantage of the beach shuttle ! That would of been even more awesome!!

We accidentally chose bike week for our weekend getaway . I was nervous that we wouldn't be able to have a quiet nights sleep when we pulled in and saw all the bikers. But we were pleasantly surprised that everyone adhered to your 11:00 "settling down" time.

We truly enjoyed our weekend at FSK and the beach! You really gave an excellent impression and have a really wonderful family resort. I can tell you take pride in your property and the families you serve!

Thank you for a great weekend! And we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! September is my favorite month here in Ocean City but it is true our shuttle service is suspended (except for Sunfest) and the hours of our indoor pool are shortened. We hope that your family will come back and join us soon!\

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Late planning for OCMD. We stayed 1 night booking 3 rooms. Location was great and convenient. Nice little setup and tons of activities for the kids. Our biggest complaint was the rooms. The rooms are out dated and need a remake. The rooms weren't completely clean either; stains on the roll away bed and tears on the mattress. Rooms were smaller than expected. The fishing pond was full of weeds, impossible to fish. The plus was the indoor water park, nice and clean. Prices for hotels in OCMD are over price for the quality hotels. Same is true for this resort $240 a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I would like to begin by saying we do noy have any rooms that are $240 per night. I believe that this family most likely booked through an outside reservation system (such as booking.com) and the rate would have been $180 plus a $10 extra person rollaway fee. That would be a weekend/ holiday rate which is our highest. Our average daily rate this past summer in June were $152, July $164 and August $160 per night. I have mentioned in other responses that our rooms all have new furniture, flat screens and DVD player, tempurpedic mattresses, carpet and rooms with kitchens new cabinets. The wallboards and bedding I believe may give an older appearance and we are working on updating.

Though we understand the room style is very important we also feel the amenities we provide at no fee to our guests is a large part of why people enjoy their stay with us. We are happy that your family enjoyed those aspects.

We are in the process of going through all our cots and mattresses and will be updating them for 2014. We are proud of the cleanliness of our rooms and property and apologize if we missed the mark in any aspect.

I would invite this poster to contact me directly in regard to the rate they paid and to personally discuss their stay.

Sincerely,
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The activities for kids are the only thing that makes this place good. The rooms are ugly and so old that they look unsalvagably dirty. Service was average. If you can't afford anything better, this place is ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am always challenged when we receive reviews such as this one. Yes it is true our property was built in 1952. We have spent every off season since 2002 upgrading all aspects of our property and we have forward plans that will continue as well. The amenities that were mentioned in this review I believe are one of a kind in this area. That being said our rooms do have new furniture, artwork, carpet, flat screens and DVD players. In rooms with kitchens we replaced the cabinets and appliances as well. We gutted and renovated 14 vacation homes this past year and all guest rooms have Tempurpedic mattresses. Our website I believe clearly depicts the style of our rooms. That being said we in no way claim to be a five star resort or franchiese property. Ocean City has many beautiful properties to choose from anywhere from budget to luxury and I realize we are not a perfect fit for all we are, I believe, a value based property with upgraded amenties. What we are, in my opinion, is a clean family resort that offers several free amenities and at the end of the day a comfortable place to sleep.

I am pleased that this family enjoyed our amenties...hopefully they were able to make some beautiful Ocean City memories!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our 5 year old son, and we had a great time! We had to play mini golf at least once, sometimes more, every day. He loved the indoor pool and the spray ground, we loved that we could just spend some time relaxing around the motel and have things to do if we wanted to. It was nice to have the BBQ/picnic area and a grocery store nearby. Outlet shopping and free shuttle was a plus as well. Staff was very friendly, the people staying at the motel were also friendly. The rooms were a good size and clean. Wifi connection could be improved, I was able to send and receive emails but not consistently, and I was unable to share photos. Otherwise, this is a great place for families!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments. The WIFI has been our biggest challenge of the last several years. Though we have made upgrades each year the demand continues to grow in overwhelming percentages. We are doing an upgrade in October that we are told will handle our current and forecasted needs for the next season.

We love that you has so much fun!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Scott Key Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.