We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandma's & Grand-daughters 4th of July Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Save Saved
You added Francis Scott Key Family Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book online and save 10%
Ranked #6 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grandma's & Grand-daughters 4th of July Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Francis Scott Key Family Resort. There was plenty to do & everyone was very nice and helpful. Our cleaning lady even shared her skill of making animals out of our bath towels. My grand-daughters loved that. Each day the resort had activities planned at different areas of the resort. We fished, made bracelets, had relay races & laughed alot. The pools were fantastic and we even played alittle put-put. This was a very fun-filled
holiday weekend.

Room Tip: We were able to see the fire works from our balcony. Ask for the Delaware building - Room 1025. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so pleased that you and your grand daughter made some OC memories... The towel animals are a great feature that our guests enjoy! See you soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    206
    52
    33
    26
See reviews for
506
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Renovo, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The recent changes to the cabins may have improved the cosmetics but they are not practical. Trundle beds in place of single beds and the lack of adequate kitchen supplies are the biggest disappointments . Used to be a wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am disappointed that this guest felt the changes we made to the cabins were not good. We gutted everything but the bathroom and each cabin has new drywall and painting, kitchen cabinets, carpet, furniture, two flat screens TVS and dvd players. We upgraded the one bedroom from a standard double to a queen size bed and the other from two twins to a double with a twin trundle. The purpose of this was many of our familes have three children and we wanted to give sleeping options. The living room sofa still has a sleeper as well. As far as the the kitchen supplies as this guest is still in house it is my understanding that we have given them everything they requested with exception of a crab pot. When we replaced the cabins with all new kitchenware we did not keep the old supplies that other guests left behind (such as the crab pot) and this cabin was missing the cutting board which I believe we rectified right away. I have left a message for this guest and will do whatever I can to make them happy!

Sincerely
Annemarie DIckerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

our familyrecently stayed at the Francis Scott Key after having a bad experience the month priorwe were a bit nervous staying there again. However this time around was a completely different experience we stayed in the Delaware building on the first floor. The room was very cleanand well kept the only problem that we had was that the bathroom drain in a bathtub didn't drain correctly however when I told the staff about it when I was checking out they had somebody in the room fixing it before we even pulled out the parking lot. the girl who runs the front desk at nightis wonderful and go above and beyond for any of the guestsI have to say that after the experience we had this past weekend my husband and I are already looking forward to booking a trip in Sept

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We may not be perfect but we will always try to give our guests the best experience we can offer. I am proud of my co-wokers and love to hear when they shine!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Francis Scott Key was a wonderful place to visit with our daughter. The staff was friendly, there was an outdoor pool with a bar, a pirate ship water park area, and a wonderful indoor pool (water park). My daughter loved it here and we had fun. The rooms were decent but could use some updating and it was loud. Walls are pretty thin. Overall it was what we expected!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We thank you for taking time to write. We are always trying to improve and keep a good value at the same time. We know your family has choices and we appreciate your staying here at the FSK!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We love coming to Francis Scott Key, we have been coming for many, many years. It is a family oriented resort with many things for the children to do. My grandchildren love the pools. The people working at FSK take the time to talk with you and remember you when you come again. We love Casey on the front desk, always friendly and helpful. The kids love that they can walk up to the front lobby, get a game or movie and bring it back to the room. Not to mention movie night in the front lounge, they love it. We come to Ocean City multiple times over the summer and always stay at FSK, close enough to the boardwalk without all that congestion and they always make us feel like part of their family.

Room Tip: We like the rooms by the outdoor pool, so in Maryland, PA or Virginia. Also the rooms with the 2 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We love that your family chooses to stay with us...

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had the best time on our stay. We took our two boys to the beach for the first time. They had a blast swimming in the pool and playing on the pirate ship. We will be going back next year. Francis Scott Key is very family oriented.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you...we are centered around families. We hope that the first beach experience was not the last!! See you soon!

Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I did not start reading the reviews until I got back from vacation. Some of the reviews are over the top. I have stayed in many hotels and this is by far not as bad as everyone is speculating.
My boys loved it and they are 3 and 1. The room was cleaned every morning. The beds were very comfy. Pretty awesome to have DVD players in the room. Glad we bought movies, since there is not much on for toddlers during the evening hours. The only minor complaint I had, was the sulpur smelling water ( egg ordor). I have been in the plumbing business for over 10 years, so I basically knew what the problem was. I addressed it with the front desk and they were helpful and corrected it right away.
The pool bar and snack bar were great with great service. The Route 50 diner was excellent also. Now we only ate breakfast there, but both of my boys loved it. My oldest loved playing minature golf. This was his first time every playing. He loved it so much we played 3-4 times a day.
We spent most of our time at the indoor pool, which was perfect for my boys. We never took the shuttle to the beach, we just drove ourself, so I really can't comment on the shuttle service.
All in all, this is great place for families. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am so pleased that you were able to take advantage of several of our amenities. We love seeing our families out and about during their stay either playing golf, fishing ect. The indoor pool is wonderful especially when the weather is not cooperating. We hope to see you all again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Scott Key Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.