We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Save Saved
You added Francis Scott Key Family Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 1 more site!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 106 hotels in Ocean City
Eastern Shore Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I really enjoyed the hotel! The customer service was really great, and for me that sometimes makes or breaks my stay at resorts or hotels. My girls had a blast in the pool! The lifeguards were very attentive. Our room was perfect for the four of us, not crowded at all( well the bathroom was a little tight) even with a crib (which was provided for free). The only thing about our room that I didn't care for was the back door. It didn't lock well and it made me uncomfortable, my 2 year old could open it, even when it was locked. The beds were awesome! I didn't want to get up in the morning. Slept great! There were so many free things to do with the kids like miniature golf, movie rental and books and board games. My daughter loved watching Wreck It Ralph in the Lounge and eating the popcorn which was also free. All in all it was a great family getaway, can't wait to come back again. The only thing I would say would be to check the pool times, I did not realize the pool didn't open the next morning til 12, that was a little disappointed, because we couldn't stay, but my own fault for not checking ahead of time. I really enjoyed this place and cannot wait to take my kids back again so we can try out everything your hotel has to offer!

Room Tip: if you are there for the indoor pool, you will want to request a room closer to the indoor pool, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am assuming the building was the Delaware as it is the only one with back doors and I will have them check for safety. We are so glad that your daughters loved their stay. Francis Scott Key...where kids rule!

See you soon
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    176
    49
    32
    26
See reviews for
440
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Website showed a lovely facility. Outside of the pool, there is very little to like about this hotel. Our room had a terrible musty odor. My girlfriends soon had two asthma attacks during our stay of three nights. There is a lake/swamp? On the property. We attempted to fish in it only to in counter large rats! I honestly couldn't believe it! My son was ok, but my GF son was very upset. I was told by the front desk that they are not rats but some other type of rodent. what's most upsetting is that we could have stayed at the Holiday Inn on the boardwalk for a few bucks more. There was also a steady flow of unsavory individuals on the property itself. I'm a large well built man, but being in this type of environment with my family still made uncomfortable. My thirteen year old son who is a black belt in Muay Thai Karate and a serious wrestler was asking me to "Get the hell out of this dump" by the second night. This is not a place for decent families. I have NO IDEA how this place ended up ranked number nine on trip advisor. Maybe on Hillbilly. com! Never again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I had the opportunity to speak with this guest today and I appreciate that he took the time to give me his perspective. We realize that we can not be a good fit for all guests and when we are not it is important to me that we address guest issues. When speaking with the guest he did inform me that other then our fishing pond he did not make any complaints to our staff. I did personally inspect the guest room and I did not notice a musty smell but we did days prior to this guests arrival have new carpets installed and I did mention that perhaps that was the odor. If we are notified of an issue we will do whatever possible to fix it, move the guest or if we can't resolve the issue help them find other accomodations. I have offered to assist this guest when they return to Ocean City in any way possible.

To address the other comments we do not have large rats in our pond. It is a small pond that is stocked with fish and we offer fishing rods for our guests. We have had possoms and other natural water animals from time to time. Also, we do have families in all shapes, colors and sizes and we love the diversity of our guests. That being said if a guest is loud or making others uncomfortable we will do our best to handle the situation quickly when notified.

If the guest room was not cleaned properly I have no excuse or explanation for that. It is not acceptable and would have been addressed ASAP. We are not a luxury hotel but we are clean and that is a top priority.

As I have stated before, we have in the last 10 years begun the transformation of the 1950's roadside motel of 60 units to a 232 family resort. We are dedicated to make our guests happy at an affordable rate and to hopefully give them Ocean City memories to last a lifetime.

I promise that the constructive criticism we received is not lost. We will take this guests concerns and work to make sure it is a lesson learned.

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our second trip to Visit the Francis Scott Key Resort in Ocean City.. It is such a wonderful place for families.. The staff is so friendly and helpful, the customer service is always top rate weather it be on the phone or in person. I would recommend to hotel to everyone.. The first time we went we stayed in a standard room, which was very nice comfy bed and very clean... Our most recent trip we upgraded to a room with a kitchen, it was wonderful.. They had everything we could have needed available to us.. They offer free video rental, free mini golf, and a wonderful indoor and out pool adventure.. I just can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel and it's staff. We just got back yesterday and are already getting rates to return in the next few weeks.. I forgot to mention they are right across the street from the outlets... The grounds of the hotel are very well kept as is the pool area, you always see staff members in site and they are always willing to help.. We will only use this resort in Ocean City....

Room Tip: rooms away from the pools are quieter.. No elevator so might want 1st floor.. Great place to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much! We are blessed with an incredible staff. It makes our job so enjoyable watching families making memories together! We will see you again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrington, Delaware, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our third time visiting FSK, and as usual it was a great time. The customer service you receive is excellent. We stayed in one of the kitchen rooms, which has everything that you need to make a small or large meal. Had a great time at the pool and love the concession stand. Usually we are to busy at the pool to take advantage of the other things they offer, but this time we were able to play a great game of free mini golf. The family movie times are great. For a family looking for a great time on a budget I highly recommend FSK. I will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Our family movies nights are a great way for our younger guests to wind down after a fun day of swimming. We hope that we get to see your family again soon!

SIncerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I was staying at FSK a zero cost due to being there for the wedding of a friend so im not Bothered due to cost issues. Thatbeing said, The first thing I noticed was an unbelievably overwhelming mustiness and mildewy smell in the room I was staying which was in the Maryland building, Rm 118. There was also an open package of used soap on the sink. The first thing I did was turn the heat down and turn the ceiling fan to high to try to demustify the room but that didn't work...so I was resigned to having my clothes smell musty.

On my second night, I went over to the concession stand to buy some food. I left 15 minutes later and I felt I had received a chlorine bath...my eyes burned from the chlorine fumes in the air and I felt like my lungs and nose were slightly scorched from those fumes.

My only other complaint is the remarkably slow wifi. I'll concede that this is a small complaint but if a business is going to advertise Wifi, it should have Wifi that handle the load of so many devices...and this was winter so imagine how it will be in the summer. It was so slow I just went ahead and used the 3G on my phone.

Overall, my stay was okay although the horrid mustiness of the room was a deal breaker for me. Unless this room is just a rare occurrence, I don't think I'll come back should I return OC.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. We do not have a room 118 but I did try and go back and see if we had and housekeeping issues from the Maryland building recently but I don't know when this stay occured. I apologize that the room was not in order upon arrival but I can guarantee that when notified we would try and rectify any issues or change rooms if possible. We are very detailed about our chlorine readings and empty the pool every two hours to do checks. It is very important as our bathing loads can be extremely high on the weekends and we take it very seriously. Ocean City has many wonderful choices in where to stay and if the Francis Scott Key is not a perfect fit I would be happy to help find a more suitable property. If you do decide to come back please contact me directly and I will oversee your stay!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We LOVED our vacation to Francis Scott Key last year, We stayed in the section by the fishing pond and Pavilion. Our kids never had so much fun!! It is a vacation in itself with the indoor kids pool with all the waterfalls the slide and awesome Pirate theme decorations. The Huge splash pirate ship was a favorite of my 3 year old! it has slides, dumping buckets water spraying everywhere! The put put golf is nice to take a break from the water, there is also a basketball and vollyball court, an outdoor swimming pool beside the putput with a refreshment bar, alongside the pool is an adult hot tub where you can grab a drink and relax while your oler kids swim or play a round of put put. Although the rooms may not be huge, we didn't find them to be a big downfall as we didn't spend that much time there anyway. The beds were a little small and I would like to see them upgrade to Queen size. They had craft time at the Pavillion by the fishing lake that my boy's really loved! We didn't eat in the Diner since it was always closed when we tried to go, it closes too early in my opinion. The most important thing is our children LOVED it there, they still talk about how much fun it was and my 3 year old asks if we can go back to play on the Pirate Ship so as a mother, that is MORE important than if the room is a little "outdated" or not a huge suite, if it is updated, it's just a added plus to our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We love to hear that our younger guests want to return! That is a success in our book. As we have stated we have been bringing a 1950's roadside 60 room motel to a 2013 fun affordable resort. In the last 10 years we have added the indoor pool, fitness room, guest laundry, arcade, putt putt, pirate ship, playground, basketball and volleyball area and contineous bus shuttles. We have just completed all 232 rooms with new guest room furniture, flat screens, carpet, art work, bedding and light fixtures. All cabins have been gutted and are looking amazing. We still have to address the wall boards and bathrooms and that is up for the next couple of winters along with other projects. We are dedicated to continue to upgrade and hopefully entertain our families for years to come. We appreciate your business as we know you have choices!

Thank you!
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellendale, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at FSK several times over the past several years. We have only stayed in the winter, so can't tell you what it is like in the warmer months. The rooms are dated. They have tried to modernize them some with a beachy theme. Newer bedspreads (super comfy beds) and beach art work, but all in all the gray paneled walls and dingy bathrooms tell it's age (which I really don't know to be honest). Don't let that discourage you from coming though. You're there for the pool most likely. If you have kids 12 or under they will love it. In the winter it is never too crowded and the perfect size for smaller kids. It has one small slide, a volleyball net, water dropping buckets and a small baby section. The hot tub is nice for the adults. They now have a snack bar which serves everything from whole pizzas, to ice cream, to mixed drinks and beer. Not overly expensive either. 10.50 for a large pizza. We had a nice weekend and were even able to enjoy a game of mini golf. Free of course. If you're looking for something to do in the winter time with the kids this is a great weekend trip. Just try and ask for a room in the same building as the pool. The buildings are all spread fairly far apart and it's a cold walk in March when you're soaking wet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your reivew. We are just now finishing the final 122 rooms with new furniture, carpet. flat screens and the rooms with kitchens new cabinets. We gutted our cabins and they are looking great with new drywall, carpet, new furniture ect! Our next project next winter will address the walls and bathrooms. It is a constant work in progress and we are deciated to make as many upgrades each each as possible while maintaining an affordable rate.

We look forward to seeing your family again in the future!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel
Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Scott Key Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.