We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Save Saved
You added Francis Scott Key Family Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book online and save 10%
Ranked #7 of 107 hotels in Ocean City
Crosswicks, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“We love this place!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It took a long time to write this review mainly because I forgot to. Wasnt until recently when we booked our next vacation with FSK that I remembered to write my 1st review. What can I say...this place is wonderful! We previously stayed here last summer for a 3day 2 night retreat getaway. Over the past years and including last year we always stayed at another resort that is right on the boardwalk. But that resort was getting a little pricey for the convience of the boardwalk attractions. We came across this resort after searching for a place to eat, we checked it out online and couldnt belive the price of the stay and all the wonderful things that was included in the price. So we gave it a try and boy did we love it!!! The staff is very friendly, the indoor pool was amazing!! The shuttle was perfect. Saved us from paying to park to go to the boardwalk. There were so many activities at FSK that we didnt even get a chance to do the majority of them, but will be exploring those options when we come back Memorial Day Weekend!! May cant get here soon enough! This is our new favorite spot in OC Maryland!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We have many families that find us by accident and then are loyal returns for years to come! We are always trying to improve and give our guests a good value for their money.

Sincerely
Annemaire Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    198
    52
    32
    26
See reviews for
488
24
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Princess anne
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took our family of 5 to FSK, this past Saturday, for one night to celebrate our daughter's 8th birthday. She loves to swim and thought the indoor pool would thrill her, as well as her two brothers. We only live about 1/2 hr from OC so it was a nice surprise that we could afford this time a year because of the rebated price.

Our room was extremely musty, had almost no water pressure, & gnats were everywhere in the bathroom. The indoor pool was nice and the kids really enjoyed it, but when we took them back after dinner there were several overly-intoxicated people there. They were loud, some cursing at their kids in the pool, and it was not the most kid-friendly atmosphere at that point. We left after maybe an hour, so all-in-all the kids enjoyed the pool for maybe 2-hrs of the stay, since we went early that afternoon, as well.

My daughter had terribly swollen, irritated & burning eyes that evening due to the chlorine levels. We woke up the next morning with all five of us being completely congested with coughs. Needless to say, we checked out as soon as possible, I believe it was around 8:30 am. Within just a short time all of our coughs and congestion dissipated.... We don't plan on returning :(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I believe that I personally responded to your concerns. I checked our logs and we did not have any reported complaints regarding the chlorine and we do take readings every two hours. That is not to say that sometimes guests have a reaction to the indoor pool environment. As far as inappropriate guests we at times do have to intervene when we have guests good time that is impacting others. Thankfully that does not happen often and is unfortunate when it does. I apologize.

The ranch style rooms did reopen for the season but that is not a reason for a room not to be at 100%.

As I stated in the personal email if you would like to come back I would oversee all aspects of your stay. In the future please do not hesitate to let us know while you are with us and we will do whatever possible to make your stay great!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Pretty far from the beach. You have to take a shuttle bus and walk a few blocks. They do have regular shuttle services every 15 minutes or so. It can just be incovenient to get to the beach if you have small kids or stuff to carry or it's raining.

The room was old and smelled funny. It was reasonably clean though. We ordered a room with a kitchenette and were given a room that only had a small fridge which was disappointing so make sure you save all your reservation documentation! We forgot to bring ours so we had no proof of the type of room we had ordered.

The indoor pool is very nice. Also we really liked the 50's style restaurant on the property.

Room Tip: If you order the room with the kitchenette, be sure you have that in writing. We ordered that one an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We may not be a perfect fit for all families but we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. If you decide to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will make sure your reservations are in order. We have been busy this winter with updating 122 rooms with new carpet, furniture and flat screen TV's.

If you decide to stay in town Ocean City has many wonderful choices!

Sincerely
Annemarie DIckerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We made an impromptu overnight trip to the little treasure. We live within a few hours and we were on a mission to find an indoor pool for our daughter to play in. Well, we definitely got what we were looking for. For starters, we booked our reservation the day of on their website and got 10% off...When we arrived, check-in was pretty simple. The front desk clerk was very hospitable and explained everything...pool hours, how to get to our building, the restaurant being closed due to off season, etc. My husband was impressed that even though we just made our reservation three hours prior to showing up, they had everything printed out and ready to go for us by the time we got there. As we drove to our room, we saw the outdoor pool area, the playground and the putt-putt golf course. The motel is comprised of several building named after the original states. We were in the New Jersey building on the second floor. We had two double beds with a kitchenette. The beds were nice Tempurpedic branded beds. The kitchen was fully stocked with a setting for four. There was a little table with four chairs. Since it was cold outside (even flurrying) we drove over to the indoor pool. The building housed a gym with a few machines, an arcade and bathroom facilities with full showers, changing rooms and lockers. The arcade had an air hockey table and several arcade games. In the pool area, there was a snack bar that serves ice cream, drinks, pizza, chicken fingers, hot dogs and fries. The pool was great. There was a slide and a volleyball net. Although we didn't need them, the hotel provided life vests and beach balls. The pool area was lined with tables, chair and lounge chairs. They also had thick pool towels.

This was definitely a quaint motel that appears to be run by a family that knows how to take care of their guests and knows how to take care of their property. It was truly a fun experience and we'll definitely be back to visit in the future.

Our only cons because there always has to be cons...the paving needs to be updated and the walls a a little thin...we could hear the kids in the room next door...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review! The winter can be a different vacation here in Ocean City but we try to keep a little summer all year at the indoor pool! We will hopefully be able to do additional paving this spring as some of our storms impacted some areas.

Hope to see your family again soon.

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My daughter and I had to make a trip to Ocean City for the Reach the Beach Cheer competition. We stayed at the FSK and it was awesome! My daughter loved the pool! Everyone was so friendly! We loved this place so much we might just make a visit to Maryland just to stay here!

Room Tip: If you are going in the pool bring googles due to high chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We love our cheerl leaders! Thank you so much for choosing the Francis Scott Key and we hope to see your family again soon!

Sincerely
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice family place. Good indoor pool.
Not far from the beach and wild horses.
Outlets right across the street.
The pizza at the pool could be better.
But overall great value:-P will be going back soon..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Assateague is a wonderful destination only 9 miles from here...I wish all our guests would discover it! Lots of shopping and restaurant choices are all around us. I have made a note about our pizza...will follow up!

Hope to see you again
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

So let me start off by saying people who write bad reviews for fsk must be use to staying at the Ritz this hotel was a great place for my 2 kids the indoor pool was great other then the pool was kinda cold my 3 yr old daughter couldn't stop shaking but all in all a good pool the rooms were excellent yes the rooms did smell like a grandparents house but that goes away beds were super comfy and I'm 6 ft 1 the walls were thin but no big deal for the money it was the best place I've stayed at in ocean city and how could a hotel be bad if there sold out for the weekend service was awesome granted we did need anything they called us withing 15 minutes if arrival to see if we needed anything and if everything was OK I have stayed here before and would continue to stay here parking was hard bcus they were booked up o and the shower water was super hot and great pressure so all in all an awesome place to stay in oc so if you really write bad reviews then your probably high maintenance and you should stay somewhere else

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest comments in your review. We strive to give a great experience, memory making without wallet busting vacation for our families. We have been blessed with wonderful families coming year after year and we try to make our kids feel like this place was made for them!

Looking forward to your next stay!
Annemarie Dickerson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Francis Scott Key Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Scott Key Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.